1. DinohScene

    DinohScene Feed Dino to the Sharks
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    20,562
    Country:
    Antarctica
    This and no, we can't send you firmware files.
    They're copyrighted by MS.

    I believe you can use the Xkey without a drive but I'm not 100% certain on that anymore.
    I wouldn't spoof drives, it's an old and outdated method.
     
  2. magico29

    magico29 GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2017
    Messages:
    1,433
    Country:
    United States
    Your dvd drive doesnt need to be installed in order to x360key work, as soon as you get x360key programmed.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    yes he can., since the x360key ir programmed, he just need the dvd drive installed if he wants to play iso from dvd insted of iso on external hdd.
     
  3. DinohScene

    DinohScene Feed Dino to the Sharks
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    20,562
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Passthrough mode you mean.
     
  4. magico29

    magico29 GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2017
    Messages:
    1,433
    Country:
    United States
    Yes.
     
  5. 360sly

    OP 360sly Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2020
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    Canada
    Do you still believe that the drives firmware matters even if it’s not connected to the 360?
     
  6. magico29

    magico29 GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2017
    Messages:
    1,433
    Country:
    United States
    Dvd drive or not, as soon as you get online, you will ask to update in the case you are not running latest xbox360 dashboard.
     
  7. 360sly

    OP 360sly Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2020
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    Canada
    I meant wether the drive has lt or not if it’s not even in the console.
     
  8. magico29

    magico29 GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2017
    Messages:
    1,433
    Country:
    United States
    Yes it is, you dvd drive pcb holds the firmware. keep on mind x360key depends from your xbox360. After x360key been configured
    you are free to either keep the dvd drive running or no.
     
    Last edited by magico29, Jul 14, 2020
  9. 360sly

    OP 360sly Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2020
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    Canada
    Hey guys, I’m getting ready to flash my drive back to stock, however I’ve hit another problem.

    The external hdd that i had my extracted key has crashed. I’m only left with the firmware.bin that I had from putting on the Sd card.

    Is it possible to create a dummy.bin from the firmware.bin? I also have a dummy.bin that is 2,048 KB.

    Once that is done and I connect my drive to JungleFlasher, is their a way to verify that these keys match?

    I would extract the key again but I don’t have the cables anymore that connect the probe to my blaster ck3.
     
    Last edited by 360sly, Jul 2, 2020
  10. lisreal2401

    lisreal2401 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2013
    Messages:
    790
    Country:
    United States
    This is too complicated

    All you want to do is get the DVD key, use that and spoof to target - that being stock, you can leave your drive flashed.

    The only file you want on the card is firmware.bin - that will be your file you get from JF. You'll still get Menuiso even with a key mismatch, so don't bother flashing or dumping
     
    Last edited by lisreal2401, Jul 2, 2020
  11. SAXJONZ

    SAXJONZ Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2018
    Messages:
    67
    Country:
    United States
    You don’t need anything special to get into your drive. You can do it without the probe. There are videos of this on YouTube, it involves pulling two wires from harness and when you are done you can put them back in place.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  12. SAXJONZ

    SAXJONZ Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2018
    Messages:
    67
    Country:
    United States
    Get a good drive that plugs in. Go to Costco and buy their 8TB like I mentioned or borrow someone’s but it has to be a plug in as the USB port doesn’t put out enough juice to power it right (from what I’ve heard and read) load up an iso or two, eject it and walk away. Come back in 20 minutes or so to see if it says mixed media. If it does you’re good to go, if not...
    The other issue you may have ( I had it with mine) is that the cables are sensitive. I am assuming you plugged it in correctly as well. Make sure those are making a good connection. If it isn’t in correctly then it won’t load up.
    I’m thinking if your key wasn’t right, it probably wouldn’t boot up. I had to try a few different drives before it worked.
     
  13. 360sly

    OP 360sly Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2020
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    Canada
    Hi, I got a Seagate back up plus 4TB external harddrive. When I plug it in my pc and it makes a connection their is a blue light on the front of it. When I plug the external hard drive into the xbox when it is off, the blue light on the front lights up like it's making a connection. When I power on the xbox the light turns off. I've also tried turning on the xbox then plugging the external hard drive in.

    Reading over the xkey instructions again, it says that I need a full drive dump. Looking at my dummy.bin on jungle flasher it says it's a dvdkey32 extract. Is that fine?
     
  14. godreborn

    godreborn GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    11,121
    Country:
    United States
    I don't know if you can use a 4TB drive. I'm not all that familiar with the xkey, but mbr could be a problem. mbr has a size limit of 2TBs, which is why the ps3 and 360 can't read beyond that.
     
  15. SAXJONZ

    SAXJONZ Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2018
    Messages:
    67
    Country:
    United States
    I have an 8TB seagate that works like a charm.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  16. godreborn

    godreborn GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    11,121
    Country:
    United States
    SAXJONZ likes this.
  17. DinohScene

    DinohScene Feed Dino to the Sharks
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    20,562
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Iirc, you can format the drives to EXT4, supposed to be faster then NTFS.
     
    godreborn likes this.
  18. 360sly

    OP 360sly Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2020
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    Canada
    I converted it to mbr and it now has one 2TB partition and the rest of the drive is unallocated space now. Still no dice. I noticed the same thing. When I first power on the console the light on the external hard drive lights up for a couple seconds but then goes out and never lights up again. Once the xbox was on the main menu I unplugged the usb from the back then plugged it back in. It still does not read it.


    UPDATE: I am getting a bit closer! I pulled the xkey usb dongle out a bit and now the light on the front of the external hard drive stays lit! I open the tray and it now auto cycles: opening, close tray, closing reading.

    However it still does not read my drive!! It just goes back to open tray. I have a usb stick and I updated the xkey firmware to 2.01.4 with it. I saw the red light flashing on it for 40 seconds or so.. I rebooted the console and with the same usb stick with an iso on it and .cfg file it does not read the usb stick.
     
    Last edited by 360sly, Jul 26, 2020
  19. SAXJONZ

    SAXJONZ Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2018
    Messages:
    67
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, I dunno. I had a little over 2TB of games but probably just a little less than 2TB in game folder. It works. It may not read more than 2TB but I have other stuff on it that I saved from laptop.

    Thanks for sharing that piece of information. I didn’t know that. Xbox updated and stated that each usb can handle 2TB up to 4TB total.
    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
    Last edited by SAXJONZ, Jul 26, 2020
    godreborn likes this.
  20. 360sly

    OP 360sly Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2020
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    Canada
    My drive key is a lite on 16d2s 73850c dvdkey32 extract.

    Would updating to the newest dash and to the 0251 firmware have changed my drive key? Could this by why it’s not reading my external hard drives?

    weird that xkey would still update over a USB though right?
     
Draft saved Draft deleted