1. DirtyDobb

    OP DirtyDobb Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2020
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    So my xbox had been offline for more then 2 years, i recently update the dashboard to 2.0.17559.0. My Key seams to be working fine for a while.

    I currently own a Phat LiteOn that has CFW installed on the DVD drive (Don't know what version). I have reformatted my SD card using USB Image Tool with FW 1.30.img (which I think is the issue). Once the FW is flashed to the SD card I dump my Original Firmware.bin that I created the 1st time I flashed my DVD drive. I hook everything up including the remote V1.1. and a HD that I know works. Plug in the SD card and power on the xbox. Xbox powers up normal, but NO BLUE light on the XK3y. Remote will not pick up the hard drive or get past the main menu. If I remove the SD card the light shows BLUE on the XK3y, but i get an E64 error. Which makes me think it's the SD card with the wrong FW version on it. I've tried the original 128mb and a new 2gb card. I'm out of idea's and need help.

    The only other thing I can think of is if the .bin file was upgraded to a different security, but I have no idea. Can anyone help me getting this working again?

    P.S. I can't get JungleFlasher to work, I get a libusb0.dll error.
     
  2. DinohScene

    DinohScene Feed Dino to the Sharks
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    20,743
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Reinstall jungleflasher + drivers, use a 32 bit Win XP VM if needed and flash the drive back to stock.

    Iirc, you need to rename the drive dump or save it in jungle flasher as a certain name, I got a roadmap on hacking the 360 on here, I'd suggest reading through it.
     
  3. DirtyDobb

    OP DirtyDobb Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2020
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for the help so far.

    I've been out of the game for so long it might take me a while to get things back up to speed. I do have a X360USB Pro V2 as well. Would that help a little. I'll try to find your road map to help me out. Finding all the files is hard now since half the site I used to use are no longer around.
     
  4. DinohScene

    DinohScene Feed Dino to the Sharks
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    20,743
    Country:
    Antarctica
    The installing the xkey part is pretty much up to date.

    The V2 is a amazing device, I'm still using the v1 haha.
     
  5. DirtyDobb

    OP DirtyDobb Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2020
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    I have to remember how to do everything with the Pro, I used to have a desktop, but got rid of it about 3 years ago due to not having a set up for it. Now everything is done on a laptop.

    Is there a reason the XK3y would be blue without the SD card, but when I insert it, it won't light up anymore?

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Im going to try to do VirtualBox and set up a windows 7 VM, hopefully once that is completed I can get the X360USB Pro2 up and running. The problem I'm going to run into is I have JungleFlasher.0.1.94.Beta(320) not the (323) software. I can't seem to find it. I also don't know what files I'm looking for the LightOn drive I have.
     
  6. DinohScene

    DinohScene Feed Dino to the Sharks
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    20,743
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Get Jungleflasher 0.1.96.

    Xkey wise... I believe it's the missing or corrupt SD debug light.
    Not entirely sure anymore.
     
  7. DirtyDobb

    OP DirtyDobb Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2020
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    Ok, I'm so lost. I've install VirtualBox and set up Windows 7 but can't get to the USB connection for the X360USB Pro. When it comes to VM, I'm clueless. I dohave an older machine that may work.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    I found JF .0.1.96, now and I've disabled the Driver Signature enforcement. I'm stuck on getting windows to recognize the x360USB. I think it's because I don't have a molex adapter to power the X360USB. Once I get that I think the drivers will be able to work. But I can't remember what they are called. I need a power supply to a 4 pin to a Power SATA loking plug. Then I think the device will have enough power for windows to recognize it.

    Just ordered this one, it will do what I need it to do.

    Warmstor SATA/PATA/IDE Hard Drive to USB 2.0 Adapter Cable Support All Computer System, 2.5'' / 3.5'' Hard Disk HDD Connector Converter Set with [Updated Version] Stable AC Power Supply
     
    Last edited by DirtyDobb, Oct 12, 2020
  8. DirtyDobb

    OP DirtyDobb Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2020
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    So I'm looking into re flashing the stock firmware back to the drive. Is this what it should look like? Also I have no issue playing backed up games, again just the XK3y, so why would I want to reinstall stock FW?
     

    Attached Files:

  9. DinohScene

    DinohScene Feed Dino to the Sharks
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    20,743
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Yep that's correct.

    For some reason I never gotten the flashed drive FW and Xkey to work at the same time.
    I don't think it's even possible but eh, a Xkey already defeats the purpose of having a flashed drive.
     
  10. DirtyDobb

    OP DirtyDobb Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2020
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    Thats weird, I've had my drive flashed for years. Before AP25 and the turnacit days. Once I got the key I just converted my dummy.bin to firmware.bin and was out the gate. Never had to worry about the DVD running CFW.

    Now I'm just waiting on my power supply for the X360USB then hopefully ill be able to flash back to stock and get the key working again.

    As for the SD card when formating it i was using FW 1.30, not sure what is the latest or what will work with the xk3y. I believe I have the 1st gen motherboard. At the end of the day, I think its something with the SD card and how its formatted and I'm sure it has to do with the update.
     
  11. DinohScene

    DinohScene Feed Dino to the Sharks
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    20,743
    Country:
    Antarctica
    From what I can remember, 2.0.1-4 is the latest update.

    If you accidentally formatted the MicroSD and made the Linux partition unreadable, you'll have to flash it back to the microSD before inserting it and updating it.
     
  12. DirtyDobb

    OP DirtyDobb Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2020
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    Yea 2.0.1-4 is the latest. But I don't know if I have the right file to reformat the SD card. I have the right program just not sure what I need to flash to it. And that might be where the problem lies. I might be formating it with the wrong version.
     
  13. DirtyDobb

    OP DirtyDobb Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2020
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    Ok, I got my Molex a day early, I do have one problem, my DVD key was not found after flashing and was not verified. I've included a screen shot. Is this a bad thing. Also my info did not look like the youtube video. I'm hoping it still works, but what would you suggest I do?
     

    Attached Files:

  14. DirtyDobb

    OP DirtyDobb Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2020
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    Ok, I was able to revert the LiteOn back to stock, it no longer reads backed up disks (displays as "Play DVD") and the original games boot up without any issue.

    Now when I boot to the XK3y it just opens the tray and I have to manually close it. Nothing else happens. Which brings me back to the SD card.

    Update 1: I tried to flash V 1.27 to the SD card and ended up getting an error 64. So I flashed the SD card to V 1.30 and was able to boot to the dash board without error 64.

    So now...
    The key remote works with power, the hard drive gets power, which would seam the USB dongle is working. I guess the only thing else to check is the ribbon cable, I know I've had to replace that in the past. So maybe that is the issue. But I have no idea what that does for the chip and the dongle. Maybe reads the information from the HD?

    But off to order a ribbon cable, hopefully that's the last step I'll run into.
     
    Last edited by DirtyDobb, Oct 15, 2020
  15. DirtyDobb

    OP DirtyDobb Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2020
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    Here's the cable on one end which might be the issue as the HD not loading and reading the information
     

    Attached Files:

  16. DirtyDobb

    OP DirtyDobb Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2020
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    So come to find out it was the ribbon all along. Everything else seemed to work and there was no need to really re flash stock FW back to the drive, but I'll just leave it the way it is. I ended up ordering an extra ribbon cable just in case something happens to this one. But I'm back in business and everything is working again.

    Thanks for all the help.
     
  17. DinohScene

    DinohScene Feed Dino to the Sharks
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    20,743
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Another alternative was to scrape away a bit of the plastic coating so you'd expose fresh traces, stick the blue tab on the newly exposed part back side and trim the excess.

    It's not the best solution but it works.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Light,