ROM Hack RELEASE Xenoblade: Definitive Edition config files

masagrator

The patches guy
Member
Joined
Oct 14, 2018
Messages
4,646
Trophies
2
XP
7,692
Country
Poland
If video recording was disabled, would performance be better without OC'ing as high? My switch's fan is crying out for help
No. Recording is done by separate chip.
Only advantage of having recording disabled is more RAM available (which would not help, because games have in most cases hardcoded heap sizes).
 
Last edited by masagrator,
  • Like
Reactions: iacErPUL

Solotato

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 25, 2017
Messages
17
Trophies
0
Age
18
XP
82
Country
United States
No. Recording is done by separate chip.
Only advantage of having recording disabled is more RAM available (which would not help, because games have in most cases hardcoded heap sizes).
Ah alright, thanks for the explaination. I'd end this on "60fps when?" but I'm sure you've had enough impossible requests already lol
 
  • Like
Reactions: Duppex

Rahkeesh

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 3, 2018
Messages
2,050
Trophies
1
Age
40
XP
2,450
Country
United States
Not super far in yet (Satorl Forest) but I've been OK with just a GPU overclock on Dunard's 1.5. Maybe some pauses/hitches here and there but no sustained drops.
 

iacErPUL

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
May 30, 2020
Messages
31
Trophies
0
XP
111
Country
Belgium
Not super far in yet (Satorl Forest) but I've been OK with just a GPU overclock on Dunard's 1.5. Maybe some pauses/hitches here and there but no sustained drops.
Which one is it now, Satorl Marsh or Makna Forest? XD
I have been using native 720p with no TMAA, rarely drops frames with overclocking of course.
 

SkullHex2

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2017
Messages
173
Trophies
0
XP
962
Country
Italy
I'm probably gonna read every page in here, but it wouldn't hurt to gather relevant configs in the first post. Or at least add a threadmark for each one (provided they come with some sort of documentation)
 

iacErPUL

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
May 30, 2020
Messages
31
Trophies
0
XP
111
Country
Belgium
Hi,
in DunArd's preset, shadows are to dark, how to reduce them?
thanks
Change this line:
Code:
shadowStr=1.8
The default is 1.0; I have mine set to 1.2. Even at 1.4, there were some areas that would be too dark but it's up to you how strong you want the shadows to be.
 
  • Like
Reactions: torekiki

iacErPUL

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
May 30, 2020
Messages
31
Trophies
0
XP
111
Country
Belgium
I've tried, but nothing changes!
That's weird. These are definitely the settings to adjust the shadow strength. Make sure you've placed the lib_nx.ini file in the correct place and that the settings are saved. You could also try to set the value to 0 if you have done everything correctly, to see if there is a change or not. Of course (if you're playing docked), displays differ from each other so the same values can show different results on your display compared to my display for example.
 

iacErPUL

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
May 30, 2020
Messages
31
Trophies
0
XP
111
Country
Belgium
Any way to decrease outlines on characters? For some reason it’s very apparent on Otharon
I think it's this line, it was mentioned either in an earlier post or the XC2 graphics thread:
Code:
toonOutlineWidth = 2.3
I'm not sure what the other settings do though. I have a few samples, don't mind the weird artifacts around the characters because I have FXAA instead of TMAA on. Of course, this setting is global.

Set to 7.0
2020062019352800-8625352D7931559E8BE3042D46DE9738.jpg
2020062019290700-8625352D7931559E8BE3042D46DE9738.jpg
Set to 0
2020062019381300-8625352D7931559E8BE3042D46DE9738.jpg
On another note, the Otharon screenshots look like they could be used if a meme format. :ha:
 
  • Like
Reactions: cucholix

cucholix

Banners guy
Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2017
Messages
2,876
Trophies
1
Age
41
XP
3,809
Country
Chile
I think it's this line, it was mentioned either in an earlier post or the XC2 graphics thread:
Code:
toonOutlineWidth = 2.3
I'm not sure what the other settings do though. I have a few samples, don't mind the weird artifacts around the characters because I have FXAA instead of TMAA on. Of course, this setting is global.

Set to 7.0
View attachment 214194
View attachment 214192
Set to 0
View attachment 214195
On another note, the Otharon screenshots look like they could be used if a meme format. :ha:
Even setting
Code:
toonOutlineWidth = 0.0
nvm, I was applying the .ini to Xeno 2 :face_palm:
 
Last edited by cucholix,

Master21

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Jun 19, 2019
Messages
3
Trophies
0
Age
19
XP
53
Country
Italy
In sxos works?
I tried to put files in the directory sxos/titles/0100FF500E34A000/romfs but when I open the game there are not any image improvements.
 

SkullHex2

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2017
Messages
173
Trophies
0
XP
962
Country
Italy
In sxos works?
I tried to put files in the directory sxos/titles/0100FF500E34A000/romfs but when I open the game there are not any image improvements.
Which files are you talking about? The ones in the first post are unedited, you would need these to actually see some changes (or you could tinker with the unmodified files yourself, though I wouldn't recommend it if you don't know what you're doing)
https://gbatemp.net/threads/xenoblade-definitive-edition-config-files.565917/page-12#post-9077053
 

sorabora

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 8, 2016
Messages
350
Trophies
0
XP
1,027
Country
United States
I put in the folder the files in the first post and I replaced lib_nx text with that in DunArd post.

It should have worked, then. Edit a visual setting with very obvious features (i.e., TMAA). You should be able to very quickly tell whether it's off or on once you've tried it both ways.
 
Last edited by sorabora,
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    SG854 @ SG854: Amazon Basics TV