XCI-Cutter tool (Windows)

main.png


XCI-Cutter


Features:

- cuts off (trims) unused sectors
- optionally cuts in pieces (splits)
- batch processing


This tool reads the XCI-Header to determine the full cartridge-size and the actually used space.

By default, the tool checks if the sectors after the used space/gamedata are really unused (filled with FF).
It refuses to cut, if it finds any data in that area (this check can be bypassed by using "Fast Mode").

The tool can be used to restore these FF-sectors and expand XCI-files back to the full cartridge size.


@ChronoX_ compiled a list with actual datasizes over at:
https://wiki.gbatemp.net/wiki/XCI-Cutter


UPDATE 20.06.2018:
Trimmed and split games are now fully compatible with SX OS!

!!! Important Note: !!!
Dumps that were split with a version before v2.4.2,
have to be joined/uncut using that OLDER version.
And afterwards split again using the NEW version.
!!!


Download:
https://github.com/Destiny1984/XCI-Cutter/releases


Changelog:

v2.4.2:
- changed partsize to make split-dumps compatible with SX OS

v2.4.1:
- Bugfix release
fixed splitting which was broken in v2.4

v2.4:
- added "fast mode" to batch processing
(Direct trim of inputfiles / no safety checks)

v2.2:
Changes to batchprocessing:
- added recursive folder scanning (thanks to @RapidRaid aka getraid)
- add files and folders by Drag&Drop

v2.0:
- added batch processing with optional inputfile deletion

v1.5:
- fixed some exceptions
- implemented optional splitting

v1.0:
Initial Release
 
Last edited by MHDestination,

Trappie

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 20, 2018
Messages
156
Trophies
0
XP
435
Country
Netherlands
Thanks, downloaded and processing 123 files... How big is the chance for a cut xci to not work with the SX pro? I see that they support it, but scared of deleting the original files after trimming them.

Thanks for your hard work!
 

fenomeno0chris

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 6, 2015
Messages
153
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
1,242
Country
Germany
@MHDestination
Hi Ive noticed today that on the release notes of XCI Cutter 2.4.1 you fixed splitting.
Does that mean all my splitted games which I have done with 2.4.0 are corrupted?

Just for info: I had no problem to transfer them to my Fat32 formatted microSD card.
So should I leave it like that, or should I split every game again?
 

MHDestination

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2009
Messages
392
Trophies
0
Location
Under your bed
XP
868
Country
Germany
@MHDestination
Hi Ive noticed today that on the release notes of XCI Cutter 2.4.1 you fixed splitting.
Does that mean all my splitted games which I have done with 2.4.0 are corrupted?

Just for info: I had no problem to transfer them to my Fat32 formatted microSD card.
So should I leave it like that, or should I split every game again?

They are not corrupted.
v2.4.0 just didn't split at all. It just produced one big .xc0 file (identical to trimmed .xci files / just renamed).

But since you were able to move them to your SD card, you should be fine.

Did you really use that version to split your games? It was only up for ~5 hours on monday.
I've removed it as soon as we noticed the bug.
 
Last edited by MHDestination,

fenomeno0chris

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 6, 2015
Messages
153
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
1,242
Country
Germany
Well there is no version number to see, but I've "created / downloaded" the tool on 31.05.2018, so I assume the version Im using should be 2.0, since it came out on 27.05.2018
 

don_luca

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 19, 2015
Messages
45
Trophies
0
Age
35
XP
85
Country
Italy
Any chance to see this on other platforms such as Mac/Linux?

I see you've programmed it in Visual Basic, I might try to compile it through Mono, but I'm afraid there would be some work involved...
 

MHDestination

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2009
Messages
392
Trophies
0
Location
Under your bed
XP
868
Country
Germany
Any chance to see this on other platforms such as Mac/Linux?

I see you've programmed it in Visual Basic, I might try to compile it through Mono, but I'm afraid there would be some work involved...

Yes, you can try to compile with mono.

I'm not gonna port it to Mac/Linux, since i haven't got a machine with these systems.
But you can use the Python script by @AnalogMan on these systems.
 
  • Like
Reactions: don_luca

don_luca

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 19, 2015
Messages
45
Trophies
0
Age
35
XP
85
Country
Italy
Thank you! A quick google search pointed me to that thread, I'll definitely use that rather than getting my hands dirt with Mono (been there, done that, never again).
 

Zonark

Zonark - Noun - A God
Member
Joined
Jul 11, 2010
Messages
366
Trophies
0
XP
1,671
Country
United States
Does anyone know if this removes the header? I don't want it removed and want it as genuine as possible I will be attempting online play with as clean of roms as I can. I dump all my own games in order to make them digital and take with me on the go since the area around me can sometimes get rough. don't wanna get robbed basically and be screwed out of all my games. I have already invested in 400gb micro sd card so its not really a huge deal but I have over 60 games all together
 

MHDestination

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2009
Messages
392
Trophies
0
Location
Under your bed
XP
868
Country
Germany
Does anyone know if this removes the header? I don't want it removed and want it as genuine as possible I will be attempting online play with as clean of roms as I can. I dump all my own games in order to make them digital and take with me on the go since the area around me can sometimes get rough. don't wanna get robbed basically and be screwed out of all my games. I have already invested in 400gb micro sd card so its not really a huge deal but I have over 60 games all together

No, it doesn't remove the header.

This tool only removes unused sectors at the end of the dumps.
 

leonmagnus99

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2013
Messages
3,685
Trophies
1
Age
31
Location
Seinegald
XP
2,694
Country
Iraq
with the amount of new things that pop up and support the tx all of that really makes me want to update my 3.0 switch..

cause there's also a demo i want to check out, octopath!
and some other stuff, but I'll hold out abit more.

this is such a nice tool for those that will use the 64-256gb sd cards.
 

MHDestination

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2009
Messages
392
Trophies
0
Location
Under your bed
XP
868
Country
Germany
i thought they confirmed it working

Yes, team xecuter confirmed. And multiple user here confirmed the same.

@Rbugs is currently the only one reporting problems.
Might be just problems with his SD card. I'll wait for more reports.

Unfortunately i'm unable to test it myself. I haven't got a SX OS license.
 

Rbugs

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 27, 2011
Messages
31
Trophies
0
XP
634
Country
Netherlands
I had them split to 4gb files+cut them, any they weren't working on fat32. I will try again with just cutting them using exfat and report back here once done testing
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: But if my mom yelled at me, it was all over I would cry like a baby lol