xbox won't turn on cuz my monitor isn't on...

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Games & Content' started by vjgbatemp, Jan 14, 2010.

Jan 14, 2010
  1. vjgbatemp
    OP

    Newcomer vjgbatemp Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Country:
    United States
    my 360 won't turn on cuz my monitor isn't on and monitor won't turn on cuz the xbox isn't on.

    i turn on the monitor first. it says no input detected and goes to standby. the xbox start screen doesn't load untill it detects that it's connected to a display [​IMG]

    what do i do?


    setup:
    the monitor i have is an acer p235h. with vga and dvi input. i've got the xbox hooked up to the dvi through an hdmi adapter.
    i'm also using the proprietry xbox cable slashed in half so i can use an optical cable to get surround sound.
     
  2. Raki

    Member Raki GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Messages:
    554
    Country:
    Germany
    has this setup worked before? maybe your XBox tries to use the normal cable
     
  3. Thoob

    Member Thoob LOLmonade.

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,126
    Location:
    Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Have you tried turning them both on at exactly the same time?
     
  4. vjgbatemp
    OP

    Newcomer vjgbatemp Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Country:
    United States
    i've tried everything. here it is in detail:

    i turn on the xbox first. then i push the monitor power button to take the monitor out of standby. the monitor searches for a dvi input (the xbox doesn't detect this fast enough) so the monitor moves on to search for a vga input, which obviously isn't connected to anything. by now the xbox has turned on... i can see the single green light and hear the load screen. but by now the monitor is back on standby so the xbox goes back to stand by.

    if i tun the monitor on again the above process just repeats itself. [​IMG] [​IMG]

    i tried unplugging the proprietry xbox cable and using only the dvi. no difference.
     
  5. R2DJ

    Member R2DJ GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,900
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    This is how mine works. The Xbox works fine if the monitor is off. If I turn the monitor on while on "Auto" mode, Xbox will power on but no picture. It will only show something when I select HDMI mode. Sounds simple but it can be annoying at times. Like, I have to set the monitor manually to HDMI mode, and it will always restart the 360 when I do it. Also if I download something, turn the 360 off (going to Background Downlading mode), turn my monitor off and turn it on again, the 360 will turn on as well!

    My monitor's a Dell SX2210. But setting things manually might help...
     
  6. vjgbatemp
    OP

    Newcomer vjgbatemp Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Country:
    United States
    i tried changing the monitor input manually. still no diff. the dvi detection flashed for a sec moves on to vga and turns off.

    the xbox light is on at this time but it seems the monitor isn't picking it up anymore.

    is there anyway to 'reset' my xbox display settings?

    EIDT:

    finally some progress. i used the hold down y and rt to reset the xbox. would reset with my monitor for some reason. had to connect it to another tv, reset it then bring it back to my monitor.
    now when i am using only the dvi cable it works fine. but if i plug in the propietry cable too (to get audio) the dvi goes off and the proprietry takes over. is there a fix for this now?
     
  7. vjgbatemp
    OP

    Newcomer vjgbatemp Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Country:
    United States
    aaah FINALLY got it working. i have to first turn on the xbox, then the monitor. then turn on the monitor a second time and it works.
     

Share This Page