Xbox One Internal Hard Drive Upgrade or Repair: Build any size drive that works on any console

Discussion in 'Xbox One - Tutorials' started by tai1976, Jun 21, 2017.

  1. totalz

    totalz Newbie

    Newcomer
    2
    Oct 6, 2007
    I went through the readme twice, once a week ago, once yesterday before the operation, I probably missed something. Am wondering how to get "(f) Autosize Non-Standard w/ 2TB Disk GUID (1947GB MAX) - create an autosized 'User Content' resetting to 2TB".

    Is choosing "(b) Replace/Upgrade keeping original drive data (Standard and Non)" the only way to get the autosize function? But I don't have the original hdd yet and I'm not sure if it's functional, so I chose "(a) Replace/Upgrade w/o a working original drive (Standard Only)" instead.

    And if it's possible to know more about the issue by the full error code? I screencaped a few...

    Thanks : )
     
  2. djinc91

    djinc91 Advanced Member

    Newcomer
    3
    May 19, 2019
    Canada
    Personally I would avoid the non standard sizing as it could give you trouble down the road if you need to change something.

    However, the only files you need to get an operating drive are in the osu zip. You could perform a standard format and boot the drive, then you have a working drive and can use those files to upgrade the drive to the non standard size.

    But again, 100gb is only 1 games worth of data usually.
     
  3. totalz

    totalz Newbie

    Newcomer
    2
    Oct 6, 2007
    So, after I replace the hdd and OSU it, I can back up the files from those xbox partitions and emulate those partitions later with any hdd?

    I bought a 3TB ext hdd the next day I bought my xbox, but it happened after one of the update, xbox couldn't recognize my ext hdd anymore until after 3 more updates, very annoying. So 100GB is still sweet when u run out of space and when M$ makes a mistake ;)
     
    Last edited by totalz, Nov 15, 2019
  4. djinc91

    djinc91 Advanced Member

    Newcomer
    3
    May 19, 2019
    Canada
    So long as you're on the same software level, yes.
     
    totalz likes this.
  5. Fnk68

    Fnk68 Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Nov 11, 2019
    France
    hello, could you have me the last alpha version of the partition x .... my one x is blocked. I will pay you what you need.
     
  6. totalz

    totalz Newbie

    Newcomer
    2
    Oct 6, 2007
    Apologize if this is off topic a bit.

    Is there any possible config to make my xbox to stay in pure ram/cpu only mode while "off"?
    ie. Instant-boot mode, but never turn on hdd while "off".

    Already turn off auto system/app update, but wonder if it will turn everything on while checking web/app install instruction!?
     
  7. intromission

    intromission Member

    Newcomer
    1
    May 17, 2016
    United States
    Oh man, I've wasted so much time trying to get this work. Seemed like it would but I can never get it to run the batch file. If I'm logged in as an administrator it says The System Cannot Find The Path Specified.

    If I'm not logged in as admin I can get further in the process but then at a certain point it tells me to run CMD as administrator.

    Problem is, I'm using an XP laptop, I just saw that OS is not listed in the readme. Does anyone have a suggestion?

    Just tried using the tool a different way based on a newer video.

    Create XBOX One Drive script only gets as far as:

    Does selected disk contain C: Checking
    Does not contain C: can continue

    Then it says 'choice.exe' is not recognized as an internal or external command, operable program or batch file.

    Xbox One Drive Selection Cancelled.
    Script Execution complete.
     
    Last edited by intromission, Nov 17, 2019
  8. djinc91

    djinc91 Advanced Member

    Newcomer
    3
    May 19, 2019
    Canada
    XP is older than the original Xbox. I think you have answered your own question.
     
    intromission likes this.
  9. looz

    looz Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Nov 18, 2019
    Finland
    I must say I am not too happy about what the script did.

    Script version 8 detected no drives (tried first internal SATA, then with an external USB adapter). I guess it assumes multiple partitions or drives by default? My computer only has a single drive with single partition. Next I also plugged in the internal drive of my Xbox.

    Anyhow, thought I'd run the version 7 than and it did indeed pick up my plugged in drives. Chose drive number 1 as 0 was system drive and 2 was the original One X drive. The script added correctly sized partitions, but then it formatted the Xbox One X's drive's partitions in NTFS one by one. Running it again leaves it to that state, regardless of starting off with an empty drive or one with the unformatted partitions. Removing the One X's original drive made no difference either.

    So what I've managed so far with the script's assistance is wipe my previous perfectly good drive and have empty partitions on the new SSD. I guess next step is to set GUIDs and move over recovery files manually, but this is pretty catastrophic. Logging didn't seem to work either.

    I run the latest November update of W10, I wonder if it changed diskpart's output to something unexpected.

    Edit: Script 8.1 from GDrive worked ok, copied the select offline files over and it's all good now. Phew.
     
    Last edited by looz, Nov 18, 2019
  10. intromission

    intromission Member

    Newcomer
    1
    May 17, 2016
    United States
    Touche!

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Anyone know what the deal is with downloaded games from CD Keys or another vendor besides Microsoft?
    My plan is just to start from scratch with the new drive and re-download everything to avoid issues.
     
  11. Fnk68

    Fnk68 Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Nov 11, 2019
    France
    Hello, I think I buy an Xbox one s to put it on the omega version and recover the A / B folder in order to solve my problem E101 ... good idea? Otherwise no one would be willing to send me these files for payment of course?
     

    Attached Files:

  12. djinc91

    djinc91 Advanced Member

    Newcomer
    3
    May 19, 2019
    Canada
    Yes, or just wait for newer OSU1
     
    Fnk68 likes this.
  13. Fnk68

    Fnk68 Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Nov 11, 2019
    France
    you think that the firmware is identical between the S and X? Can I install a newer version of the A / B files or do you need the same build? Thank you
     
  14. djinc91

    djinc91 Advanced Member

    Newcomer
    3
    May 19, 2019
    Canada
    You would need the same version if you are not updating with OSU1.zip

    I cannot say for sure whether the S and X are the same but I do know the OSU is. OSU is only different for fat models.

    You could just purchase a console locally, update it, take the files and see if it works then return it to the store within 30 days or however long they accept returns for.
     
Quick Reply
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...