XBOX HDD UPGRADE HELP!!

Discussion in 'Microsoft Xbox' started by cardyology, Jul 30, 2007.

Jul 30, 2007

XBOX HDD UPGRADE HELP!! by cardyology at 3:07 PM (1,076 Views / 0 Likes) 5 replies

  1. cardyology
    OP

    Member cardyology GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    566
    Location:
    Chorley Uk
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hey guys, I know there are scenes for the xbox everywhere online & have searched them to no avail...

    so maybe someone here has experienced this & can help me.

    I've replaced the HDD in my softmodded xbox 1 console. It all worked well & I successfully replaced the 6gig stock one with a Western Digital 20Gig one I had lying around (i know its not a massive size increase, just waned to see if I could do it)

    I used the Xbox HDM .iso creator thingy and it all worked fine, up to & including locking my drive when done.

    Slapped it in the xbox & its working, I managed to copy HL2 to it & play it from the drive....


    ...so, heres where Im going with this..... [​IMG] ....


    I opted to create an "F" drive/partition during the new drive creation & now I have all the folders when I FTP to the box (C,D,E,F,X,Y & Z) including the new "F:\ folder.

    but I expected the majority of my new drive to be assigned to "E:" but instead, 5gig went to "E" and the remaining 12 gig went to "F:" which is a blank folder! I wanna FTP some extracted game .iso's to this space, I already extracted & FTP'ed HL2 to the "E:" space into the E:\Games\ folder so avalaunch can see them, but the "F:" has no "Games" folder.


    So basically, if I create a folder in F:\ called "Games", then FTP games into it, will avalaunch see those games along with the "E:\Games" folder??

    or do I need to specify in the AValunch XBMC settings, that "games" on my dash refers to thje locations "E:\games" AND "F:\Games"


    Does this make sense? Sorry if it dosnt. I've searched all over, inc. google but cant find an answer!

    I know GBA temp is a friendly place full of knowledgeable guys who may be able to help! [​IMG]
     
  2. adgloride

    Member adgloride Its A Wii Wario

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,261
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You should be able to set Avalaunch up to see the F:\games folder. I'm not sure as I always use unleashx. The dash is a lot better. XBMC is even better than unleashx once you get you head around all the options.
     
  3. gratefulbuddy

    Member gratefulbuddy amateur lunatic

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    802
    Location:
    on the wheel
    Country:
    United States
    The newest XBMC as an option to add multiple sources under each category: ie-Music,Videos, and more specific to you, Programs. So you could do it. AFAIK you can only link Avalaunch to one location to find games. Whenever I have done HDD upgrades F: always gets the biggest amount of space so that what I use for all my games and media. I use e: for apps and such.
     
  4. XT Mercenary

    Newcomer XT Mercenary Newbie

    Joined:
    May 20, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You should use xbmc center as your dash tbh it does everything you need! and you can setup multiple locations for you games, emulators etc. last time i used evox this had to be done by editing the ini. assume its the same for avalaunch been a while since i used either though.

    XBMC FTW!
     
  5. cardyology
    OP

    Member cardyology GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    566
    Location:
    Chorley Uk
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    XBMC FTW indeed!

    I had my last box set up with XBMC as the dash, I just like using XBMC as an app and avalaunch as the dash.

    I just discovered avalaunch which is why I like using it, used UnleashX or EvoX for years.

    Thanks everyone for you help,,,,

    I think I'll google around to see if Avalaunch supports two media locations & I'll try editing the .ini file, but if not then I'll just have to go to XBMC as my dash. No biggie, just would prefer Avalaunch dash.

    XBMC supports booting games from multiple sources (BOTH E:\Games and F:\Games), correct?

    I'll try to configure this when I get home in 30 mins.

    Glad today's work is over. [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
  6. adgloride

    Member adgloride Its A Wii Wario

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,261
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    XBMC does support booting from multiple sources. Just go to programs on XBMC then select games. Press your white button and add the directorys. My XBMC is quite a new version, not sure if the older ones have the same function.
     

Share This Page