XBOX 360 SATA Cable Usable?

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Games & Content' started by 67birdman, Jun 27, 2010.

Jun 27, 2010

XBOX 360 SATA Cable Usable? by 67birdman at 2:15 AM (1,708 Views / 0 Likes) 13 replies

  1. 67birdman
    OP

    Member 67birdman GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    441
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Country:
    Canada
    Hi
    I want to flash my Xbox.
    I have seen many tutorials, they say that you need a seperate sata cable to connect the drive to the PC.
    Is it possible to use the SATA cable within the XBox to flash?
    Sorry, as I have never opened my XBox before..
    Thanks
     
  2. TwinRetro

    Global Moderator TwinRetro Don't start nothin', Won't be nothin'

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Messages:
    6,181
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    Country:
    United States
    yes but it is a very short cable.
     
  3. 67birdman
    OP

    Member 67birdman GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    441
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Country:
    Canada
    How big is it?
     
  4. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,731
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I just measured the one I have kicking around here
    95mm or just under 4 inches if you prefer such measurements at the very most- end to end fully stretched.
    Useful length is going to be less than that.
     
  5. 67birdman
    OP

    Member 67birdman GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    441
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Country:
    Canada
    OK, it is pretty short.
    So, if I take out my PC's hard-drive's cable and use that, will it mess something up??
     
  6. dsrules

    Member dsrules GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    3,291
    Country:
    any sata cable will work
     
  7. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,731
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    As dsrules said any cable will work although if you pull the hdd cable out you will have no HDD and so no operating system (While I have shifted to jungleflasher in the last year or so I am all for dosflash though if you want to go that route).

    You can buy a new cable for next to nothing though: http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applications/Sea...&CatId=5411 and do check your motherboard box and the like if you built your own PC or someone else built it from parts.
     
  8. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,668
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    Are you sure that you've got an "easily" flashable 360?

    Most new ones ship with LiteOns, which require hardware modifications on the PCB, before flashing.

    Also, using the motherboard SATA ports might lead you to incompatibilities and/or bad flashing. That's why usually they advice using a PCI SATA card with a VIA 6421a chipset (it has been found to be the most compatible chipset out there).

    People also have had some degree of luck with Intel chipsets (ICH7 and the similiar).
     
  9. 67birdman
    OP

    Member 67birdman GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    441
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Country:
    Canada
    Yea, I have a Samsung.
    I think its easy.. Its just that they aren't releasing the firmware.
    I prefer JungleFlasher, DOS seems harder.
    Do you think I can interchange the cables.
    Like use my drives on the xbox and the xbox's on my drive?
    That wont do anything will it?
    I can't wait for LT to come out.. its gonna take long tho, probably another month or two [​IMG]
     
  10. dsrules

    Member dsrules GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    3,291
    Country:
    Any sata cable will work on any sata device, the problem here is the length of the sata cable. If you are able to connect the hdd to your pc's mb using the super short xbox360 sata cable, then it's all good.
     
  11. Julian Sidewind

    Member Julian Sidewind GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Messages:
    125
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    I would just like to point out that 950mm is >3ft. I think you mean 95mm.
     
  12. 67birdman
    OP

    Member 67birdman GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    441
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Country:
    Canada
    Alright thanks dawg..
     
  13. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,731
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Damn 3am typos. Sorted, thanks Julian Sidewind.

    @67birdman I assume as you are waiting you want to use the 360 with live, if you do not want that track down a copy of 1.6NS and have a go with that.
     
  14. 67birdman
    OP

    Member 67birdman GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    441
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Country:
    Canada
    Yea, thats y i am waiting.
    Nobody got banned, I don't wanna get banned-- Lives awesome [​IMG]
    But you feel so neglected, your HDD doesnt save, can't update gamerscore, etc.
     

Share This Page