Xbox 360 Modding Questions

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Games & Content' started by Saphiresurf, Jan 9, 2010.

Jan 9, 2010
  1. Saphiresurf
    OP

Banned Saphiresurf Banned

United States
    Hello i just have a couple questions before flashing the firmware on my xbox 360.

1. Will i only get banned if i get caught playing a burned game?

2. Will i be able to play xbox 360 homebrew?

3. Can i downgrade my firmware?

4.Can I install Linux or any other OS?

5.Can I use external hard drives as my main hard drive?

6. Can i use an actual hard drive instead of the 360 drive?

7. Can i transfer files between my computer and my Xbox 360?

8. Is there an alternative Xbox 360 Dashboard?

Sorry if this is to many questions im just new to the Xbox 360 hacking community and im trying to get questions answered ive wanted to know for a while.

Thank your for your time.

2. Armadillo

Member Armadillo GBAtemp Psycho!

United Kingdom
    1) If you flash it with the current firmwares, you're pretty much guaranteed to get banned.

2)Not with just a flashed drive. If you want homebrew you need to have an exploitable box(made before june 09 and not upgraded to the 8XXX kernel) and use the jtag hack.

3)You can flash any compatible firmware to the drive, 360 itself can't be downgraded.

4)If you have an exploitable box you can.

5)If you have a homebrew enabled box running xbreboot or freeboot you can use an external drive for running games, but for saves and dlc you still need to use the normal 360 hdd.

6)Exploited box running xbreboot you can use any drive you want instead of the official drive, normal box you can mod a western digital scorpio to use and that's it (limited to 20GB,60GB,120GB and 250GB using this method).

7)Nope.

8)Not yet, closest thing is xexloader, but only for homebrew enabled boxes.

3. Saphiresurf
    OP

United States
    Ok, and how do you mod the Western Digital Drive? (luckily i have a 250 GB WD (WD2500))

4. FAST6191

Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

pip