Xbox 360 memory card corrupt?

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Games & Content' started by jimmy j, Jun 12, 2007.

Jun 12, 2007
  1. jimmy j
    OP

    Member jimmy j Awesome for hire.

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    894
    Location:
    the congo
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I just bought a 64mb xbox 360 memory card on ebay. Everything saves/loads fine but the card only has a 53mb capacity. I formatted, but still the same problem.

    Is the card damaged or is the lost 11mb being used to store settings etc?
     
  2. iza

    Member iza gbatemp, the new crack

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Messages:
    700
    Location:
    Texas
    Country:
    United States
    yea, i bet it's setting and firmware on the card
     
  3. mcp2

    Member mcp2 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    578
    Location:
    UK blud dun kno
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    64MB is just the "factory" memory if you will. Same with 4.7GB DVDs, they can only hold 4.5GB same thing goes with MicrSD cards and other types of storage media.

    So to answer your question, No it isn't corrupt.
     
  4. jimmy j
    OP

    Member jimmy j Awesome for hire.

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    894
    Location:
    the congo
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I know about that and I very much doubt that is the answer. We're talking about 17% of the card's memory capacity.

    That's the equivalent of a 4.7gb DVD only holding 3.9gb of data.
     
  5. iza

    Member iza gbatemp, the new crack

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Messages:
    700
    Location:
    Texas
    Country:
    United States
    nah, i'm pretty sure he's right... the percentages arent always the same, but a 2 gig memory stick wont hold really hold 2 gigs. but 10 megs is a lot for only 64 megs
     
  6. Kelli

    Newcomer Kelli Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    Messages:
    48
    Country:
    Finland
    Yeah, mcp2 is definetly right. I have the memory unit too and there is same amount free space that you have. But don't worry, if you don't manage to download live arcade games to memory unit, 64 Mb is maybe even too much space to fill.
     
  7. legendofphil

    Member legendofphil Phil no Densetsu

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,214
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    A 64MB card should be about 61MB, due to the MB MiB confusion.
    8MB is reasonable if thats what "settings" take up.
    Its about 5-6GB on the hard drive, but that is for all the Xbox BC stuff.
     
  8. jimmy j
    OP

    Member jimmy j Awesome for hire.

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    894
    Location:
    the congo
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So its not corrupt? I just got a 10% refund off the guy who sold it to me [​IMG]
     
  9. iza

    Member iza gbatemp, the new crack

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Messages:
    700
    Location:
    Texas
    Country:
    United States
    sneaky ninja smiles... always trying to rob the working man [​IMG]
     

Share This Page