Xbox 360 100ft away from its display and controllers - how to?

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Console, Accessories and Hardware' started by jceggbert5, Oct 28, 2011.

  1. jceggbert5
    OP

    Member jceggbert5 Check out my hack, New Retro Mario Bros.

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Messages:
    989
    Location:
    USA, Earth, MilkyWay
    Country:
    United States
    I am looking for a way to set up an Xbox 360 in one room, and in a room 75-125ft away, its TV and controllers. The TV will be wall-mounted and there will be a faceplate on the wall with four Breakaway connectors for the controllers, with the USB connectors accessible behind the wall.

    I am looking for an inexpensive solution that is very reliable. If Cat5/5e/6 is the cable of choice, it will be no problem for us to install such cable through the building - it is actually quite expected.

    1080p is a must for the video, and minimal lag would be preferred.
     
  2. Sicklyboy

    Global Moderator Sicklyboy Resident Mechanical Keyboard Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    5,620
    Location:
    [̲̅$̲̅(̲̅ ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°̲̅)̲̅$̲̅]
    Country:
    United States
    Jesus... that's crazy. Crazy to the point where I don't think it's going to be inexpensive. For Live, yeah, you're gonna need an extra CAT5e/6 cable (CAT5e works fine for mine, though its only 20 feet, not 100). I don't have the time ot look it up right now but as long as it is within spec, I think that the longest HDMI cables you can find, couple a few together is going to be your best bet for A/V. Otherwise, get a TON of RCA extensions and do a component setup, though I think you're going to spend more on RCA extensions and couplers than HDMI cables and couplers if you know where to look (check out dinodirect.com for the HDMI crap. I got a 5 foot cable from em not too long ago, thing works great and it was only like 3 bucks. I don't know what dealextreme has in the way of HDMI cables, but in my experience I've gotten much quicker shipping out of dinodirect than dealextreme, and the prices run about the same, give or take a few cents either way. Your call.)

    As far as cable branding goes, it shouldn't matter, as far as I know, for HDMI. HDMI transmits digitally, not analogue; it's sending data, not a signal, and as long as the data gets from A to B it's going to be the same. Component/Composite/anything else is running on an analogue system, and it's transmitting a signal, which is subject to distortion, degradation, and interference.
     
  3. jceggbert5
    OP

    Member jceggbert5 Check out my hack, New Retro Mario Bros.

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Messages:
    989
    Location:
    USA, Earth, MilkyWay
    Country:
    United States
    I once read somewhere that HDMI's maximum distance is ~6.2m - is that correct?

    Also, there is a plan to do around a dozen+ Xboxes this way - with a master control room and then all the 'workstations', if you may.

    Yes, I know this is a weird thread with weird questions, but I am trying to help someone plan something, and we must plan the layout of furniture and stuff soon...

    -Egg
     
  4. Linkiboy

    Member Linkiboy GBAtemp Testing Area

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    4,888
    Country:
    United States
    If you have a good HDMI cable, you can get about 20ft without using a repeater. Repeaters are going to be inconvenient to install since you will also have to run a segmented power cable alongside with it.

    Why do you need to do something crazy like this?
     
  5. jceggbert5
    OP

    Member jceggbert5 Check out my hack, New Retro Mario Bros.

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Messages:
    989
    Location:
    USA, Earth, MilkyWay
    Country:
    United States
    Hard to explain, but the question is: Is this possible? Or must we come up with another solution? Will a single 130ft cable be reliable enough?
     
  6. Sicklyboy

    Global Moderator Sicklyboy Resident Mechanical Keyboard Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    5,620
    Location:
    [̲̅$̲̅(̲̅ ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°̲̅)̲̅$̲̅]
    Country:
    United States
    Some kind of pay-gaming/tournament lounge? We used to have something like that in my town, but they didn't stay in business long. If that's what you're going for, best of luck!! :)

    Possible, absolutely. If there's a will, there's a way. Feasible and practical, however, not nearly so.
     
  7. Linkiboy

    Member Linkiboy GBAtemp Testing Area

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    4,888
    Country:
    United States
    No, an HDMI signal will not go for 130ft, even with a very high quality cable
     
  8. jceggbert5
    OP

    Member jceggbert5 Check out my hack, New Retro Mario Bros.

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Messages:
    989
    Location:
    USA, Earth, MilkyWay
    Country:
    United States
    Thank you for the perfect description of what they are doing. I am doing part of the setup for them, and they want to know their options.

    My main concern is that repeaters will cause lag. Is this true, or am I just paranoid and worrying too much?
     
  9. LeHaM

    Newcomer LeHaM Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Australia
    you an use a usb and hdmi extender they have built in boosters: HDMI into booster -> cat5e cable (through the wall ect) into second box -> second box has female hdmi -> connect to xbox.
    You can get the same thing for usb.
    Hope this helps
     
  10. jceggbert5
    OP

    Member jceggbert5 Check out my hack, New Retro Mario Bros.

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Messages:
    989
    Location:
    USA, Earth, MilkyWay
    Country:
    United States
    Where can I get those? Also, price?
     
  11. sweenish

    Member sweenish GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    704
    Location:
    WA
    Country:
    United States
    Your best bet is a false wall with a hallway behind the monitors for console access. my college campus simply had locked cabinets underneath the tv's.
     
  12. jceggbert5
    OP

    Member jceggbert5 Check out my hack, New Retro Mario Bros.

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Messages:
    989
    Location:
    USA, Earth, MilkyWay
    Country:
    United States
    Administration is somewhat difficult with the locked cabinets, and they're trying not to modify the building too much... although it is something that they can consider. They're looking at having just one smallish room with all the xboxes, networking equipment, etc...

    Also, how reliable are the controllers going through hubs? is there any lag?
     
  13. sweenish

    Member sweenish GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    704
    Location:
    WA
    Country:
    United States
    their style was a bit different, the game you chose determined where you sat. certain consoles had reach, others had madden, some had cod, etc.

    a false wall will be easier to build and cheaper than whatever you come up with for super long distance stuff, unless there are actual commercial pieces of equipment that can perform this job. even then, commercial grade anything is never cheap.
     

Share This Page