Homebrew RELEASE Xash3D (Half-Life) - Custom Goldsrc Engine for Switch

  • Thread starter sj33
  • Start date
  • Views 111,866
  • Replies 362
  • Likes 57

cucholix

Banners guy
Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2017
Messages
2,875
Trophies
1
Age
41
XP
3,808
Country
Chile
That is an engine bug. Don't know how to solve it.
It’s hard to trigger actually, had to enter/exit loading spots many times. Also the software error crash seems to be gone :)

Another bug I noticed is that xash3d/valve/config.cfg doesn’t save changes in controller through the menu, they reset upon reboot, you need to edit it manually.
 

fgsfds

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 28, 2018
Messages
415
Trophies
0
Age
120
XP
2,389
Country
Russia
I think you have to exit out using the Quit Game button instead of the HOME button, unless you're already doing that. I should probably make sure either works.
 
  • Like
Reactions: cucholix

spriteice

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 17, 2020
Messages
61
Trophies
0
XP
589
Country
Australia
I think you have to exit out using the Quit Game button instead of the HOME button, unless you're already doing that. I should probably make sure either works.

Hey, as I'm sure you are aware from me pestering you about build instruction for your projects, but I am a huge fan of your efforts and work. Devs like you keep the scene alive and that cannot be understated. It is truly appreciated by many members of the community myself included.

I have found a bug within the new release, nothing major I just thought I shall make you aware.

I am using a mixture of the xash3d-fix-test.zip you posted earlier and the r2 release from github. I have a 100% clean install with no settings changed.

EDIT: The bug is also present with clean r1 and clean r2 installations.

The bug I am encountering is crashes when initialising certain maps after creating a LAN game within Counter Strike. Some maps load fine. The notable example that crashes without fail is DUST.

I installed the Counter Stike from a clean steam installation (means I never run it on my PC, simply dowloaded it and copied the files across). I have also installed Half Life, Blue Shift, and Opposing force using the same method. No issues to report from them from the little amount of testing I have done.

The game crashes homebrew menu during the initialisaion screen.

I am using HBMenu with full RAM access.

I am running 11.0.1 and AMS mesosphere 0.18.1.

I am also using max overclock via sys-clk with no other sysmodules installed.

Thanks again for everything!
 
Last edited by spriteice,

Respect93

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 1, 2021
Messages
5
Trophies
0
Age
28
XP
24
Country
Russia
I think you have to exit out using the Quit Game button instead of the HOME button, unless you're already doing that. I should probably make sure either works.
Привет, собери порт open Xray stalker для nintendo switch
 

worm28

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 2, 2013
Messages
812
Trophies
0
Age
42
XP
465
Country
United States
I just installed this and everything is working except gearbox when i try to start a game the options for new game are grayed out so i cant choose start a new game i did not overwrite the files in the xash3d-nswitch-r2.zip so im out of ideas does anyone know of a fix?
 

bad361

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 18, 2018
Messages
1,021
Trophies
0
Location
Moscow
XP
1,598
Country
Russia
Not sure why, but I can't get any of these programs to run. It immediately exits when I launch them.
Use title redirection (actually, it boots without it, so i guess its not your problem). Read the installation process again and start fresh.
 
Last edited by bad361,

enderer

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 19, 2015
Messages
355
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
1,150
Country
United States
google returns results for a working counter strike 1.6 with bots (published july 6 2021)

does multiplayer work?

i can't find any information about cs1.6 on switch that's current
 

The_Chaotician

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 9, 2017
Messages
130
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
523
Country
Hi All, I was also having random crashes druring loading but the xash3d-test-fix build uploaded on page 17 seems to have fixed the issue.

Seperately, is it possible to load the They Hunger Trilkogy with this build? I have the files on my SD card and the mod appears in the menu and the main menu loads, but all option to actually start the game are greyed out.

Any ideas on how to get it to run? Or is it simply not compatible with this build?
 

bruteX

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 29, 2021
Messages
29
Trophies
0
Age
38
XP
68
Country
Germany
Im still trying to get gunman chronicles to load in any Form. I think the Mod Support is Not that great atm.
 

fgsfds

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 28, 2018
Messages
415
Trophies
0
Age
120
XP
2,389
Country
Russia
Gunman Chronicles has custom game DLLs and (as far as I'm aware) they're not open source. It's impossible to run on platforms other than x86 unless someone reverse engineers it or gets the DLL source.
They Hunger also has custom game DLLs, but IIRC it can run without them, some small issues aside.
 

The_Chaotician

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 9, 2017
Messages
130
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
523
Country
Gunman Chronicles has custom game DLLs and (as far as I'm aware) they're not open source. It's impossible to run on platforms other than x86 unless someone reverse engineers it or gets the DLL source.
They Hunger also has custom game DLLs, but IIRC it can run without them, some small issues aside.
It loads the menu for They Hunger, but all the options to start new/load game are greyed out - had no problems a few firmwares ago (iirc correctly <12.0).
 

bruteX

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 29, 2021
Messages
29
Trophies
0
Age
38
XP
68
Country
Germany
Gunman Chronicles has custom game DLLs and (as far as I'm aware) they're not open source. It's impossible to run on platforms other than x86 unless someone reverse engineers it or gets the DLL source.
They Hunger also has custom game DLLs, but IIRC it can run without them, some small issues aside.
Okay, my fault. Thanks for your work!
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: Yeah it had no tentacles lol