WPA vs WEP

Discussion in 'NDS - Nintendo Wi-Fi Connection' started by lebkin, Mar 24, 2007.

Mar 24, 2007

WPA vs WEP by lebkin at 2:19 PM (3,538 Views / 0 Likes) 27 replies

  1. lebkin
    OP

    Newcomer lebkin Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    I am no internet security expert; my knowledge is pretty limited. But it was my understanding that WPA/WPA2 is far more secure than WEP. Thus I was told that given the choice, you should always use WPA. So that is what I set my home network up as.

    But the Nintendo DS doesn't like WPA. It won't even talk to it; using the WiFi on the DS requires WEP. Does anyone know the reason for this? It seems to a layman's viewpoint a very poor choice. There seems to be no good reason not to support both WEP and WPA/WPA2. I'd love to hear a good explanation.
     


  2. Hitto

    Member Hitto MKDS Tournament Winner

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,450
    Location:
    Nice, France
    Country:
    France
    The DS is a pretty weak machine.

    Even weaker is the fact that people still are scared about their home wifi network being hacked. If you live on the MIT campus, sure, that might happen, but in the suburbs, I can assure you that my three different wifi routers and access points are ALL named "useme", are on WEP and with either 5-character or no password at all, and for the last year and a half, still haven't seen ONE connection from strangers.

    tl;dr : stop the fucking paranoia, guys. It's just unhealthy. [​IMG]
     
  3. iisdev

    Newcomer iisdev Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Messages:
    88
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    post deleted by author.
    reason: CNET affiliation
     
  4. ik777

    Newcomer ik777 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    Netherlands
    oh that wpa project was just what i needed
     
  5. Flyfishing

    Newcomer Flyfishing Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Messages:
    53
    Location:
    Miami, FL - USA
    Country:
    United States
    That was proven fake. DS doesn't and will most likely never support WPA.
     
  6. Xandros

    Newcomer Xandros Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    Sorry for bumping this topic back from the dead but I just wondered where/how it was determined the project was a fake? I'm not questioning if it is or not, I'd just like to know who found out and how.

    I had my suspicions it was fake. First of all there was the fact no one had ever commented on if they'd got it to work or not (most comments revolved around "What's EZ Loader" and "Has anyone got this to work". There were no screenshots showing it working either. Plus, the latest release of the firmware appeared to be broken or something, the zip file that was downloaded was labelled as the lates version but the file inside was really small and appaently corrupt and was labelled as the first release version. Lastly the site also had no updates since january, until it got taken offline a while back - for quite some weeks the wifi section of the geekboy site kept throwing out not found errors, but I noticed this morning its come back online, but with a new note saying he got a cease and desist note from Nintendo so he's conveniently had to remov the firmware.

    ... I haven't seen anyone anywhere say this was fake except here, but as I've just pointed out I had suspicions before. I'm still kind of hoping I guess the DS would one day support WPA...
     
  7. recover

    Member recover GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Messages:
    161
    Country:
    Sweden
    Nintendo has stated that they only support WEP since "it's the most widely used standard".
    Is this correct or is it only because the DS wouldn't have the processing power required?
     
  8. Lumstar

    Member Lumstar Princess

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    3,531
    Location:
    Darling
    Country:
    United States
    Making homebrew support WPA shouldn't be difficult. But, commercial games are unlikely since WEP isn't in Nintendo's wi-fi setup menu.
     
  9. notnarb

    Member notnarb Not narbing it up

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,086
    Country:
    I'm fairly sure that the wifi menu is integrated into each game instead of the ds, I'm basing this off of the fact that the wifi menu goes off the cart's region instead of the ds's language. If that's true, then nintendo allowing wpa access would be pretty pointless as just about every good wifi game that is going to ever have been made, has already been made.
     
  10. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,410
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    sorry, I will speak about the starter subject only, even if it's outdated now.

    what security risk do you speak ?

    I'm thinking the same as Hitto, I have an opened Wi-Fi called "DS Wii-fi". I even once named the SSID "Wifi of *myname* just ask me to get access for free". Nobody used it ever.
    And if it were the case, what could happen ? they will use my bandwidth ? great for them.

    They will access my private folders ? great for them, they will find roms to play with, anime to watch, US TV series to see before everyone, good for them I'm willing to share [​IMG]
    I'm not sharing all my computer, and sensible folders are password protected or not shared.


    If it's only a risk for data transmitted over the wifi (like credit card while paying on a secure website ? to bad it's secured), I think as Hitto, I'm not on a Campus. My Wi-Fi is not expanding very far, if I go outside my home there is no signal, only very near neighbors may receive it.
    In all my neighborhood I may be the only one geek enough to know what a WEP is, or to know how to use computer for something else than ebay and IE. If they really want to crack, they will need a very specific computer/router/WiFi chipset, and with that pro materials they don't need to crack a computer to use internet, they have their own access and their own better programs than anyone else. I don't think they are attracted by poor neighbors data near them. someone willing to crack a computer have far better data than poor user, and it doesn't need anything form them.
    Now if you fear your data to be deleted, you lack chance if you found a villain hacker.


    Now tell me you are a very important company with sensible data, bank, school, army, NOW i understand the need of a security protocol.


    Edit :
    Now I'm under mac address filtering, even if I know Linux can spoof mac address easily.
    Like you said Phil, you need to know computer very well before that ^^
     
  11. legendofphil

    Member legendofphil Phil no Densetsu

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,214
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You don't need any WEP or WPA if your router can limit connections by MAC addresses.
    Granted you can spoof a MAC address but you would need to know it in the first place.
     
  12. notnarb

    Member notnarb Not narbing it up

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,086
    Country:
    Disable ssid broadcasting? Then no one (should) even know that there is a wifi connection there for them to hack into
     
  13. Hitto

    Member Hitto MKDS Tournament Winner

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,450
    Location:
    Nice, France
    Country:
    France
    His name is iisdev, for fuck's sake! If his name was apachedev, I would have listened to him [​IMG]
     
  14. Modrak

    Member Modrak GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    158
    Country:
    Czech Republic
    How do I set up a WEP with no password at all may I ask ?
     
  15. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,410
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    no, he said either
    - wep with 5 digit
    - no password

    edit :
    His "either" is not well placed.
     
  16. jpxdude

    Member jpxdude GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    Messages:
    768
    Location:
    London UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    google aircrack

    both WEP and WPA are relatively easy to crack for people that want to do it, there are linux CD distributions available just for that purpose. Also, even disabling SSID isn't safe with the right tools...

    Of course, that being said like mentioned above, unless you're running a business of some sort it doesn't really matter, you'd only be targetted in this instance for bandwidth as a home user (likeliest) *shurgs*

    Probably the safest method if youre reaaally concerned is certificates authenticating a certificate server.
     
  17. jelbo

    Member jelbo Ōkami!

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2003
    Messages:
    807
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    In addition to a long WEP key I added the MAC addresses of our 3 DS Lites to the whitelist of MAC addresses. Is that easily hackable as well?
     
  18. Hitto

    Member Hitto MKDS Tournament Winner

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,450
    Location:
    Nice, France
    Country:
    France
    I use the nintendo usb key with the hacked drivers; in the config utility, there's an option to say "data encryption diasbled" and "network authentication open"; Works fine with the DS and PSP.

    I *did* misplace the word "either" now that you mention it! My bad!
     
  19. Dylaan

    Member Dylaan GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    384
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    I went war-driving with my DS today just to see how many routers I could pick up... Maybe one of them had WPA, all the rest were either open or using WEP... I don't use MAC-Filtering, I figure most of the houses near-by would be the first target... Should I be?

    I really wish the DS would support WPA, I've got a USB connector but I don't leave my PC on. I think the settings are stored on the DS, reason being when you run some homebrew you have to run a WiFi enabled game first. I'd really like to see some way to utilise WPA, even if it was only homebrew!
     
  20. kwerdenker

    Newcomer kwerdenker Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    38
    Location:
    Multiverse
    Country:
    Germany
    yes. see my answer above.

    @cyan
    i don't know how it's handled in france but in germany you have to secure your network or else you are responsible for everything that happens through it. if someone i.e. uses your network to go online and surf for child pornography, downloads music/films/games, starts an attack on another network, etc. you'll have a hell of a time explaining that to the police. in the end you as the "admin" of your internet connection are responsible for it.

    so yes, security for your homenetwork is important!
     

Share This Page