WPA for DS WiFi!

Discussion in 'NDS - Nintendo Wi-Fi Connection' started by arman68, Mar 1, 2007.

Mar 1, 2007

WPA for DS WiFi! by arman68 at 9:17 PM (3,716 Views / 0 Likes) 16 replies

  1. arman68
    OP

    Newcomer arman68 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2007
    Messages:
    57
    Country:
    Armenia
    It looks like somebody has developed a firmware patch to make the DS work with WPA!
    http://geekboy.ca/wifi/?cat=2

    As anybody tested it? When I download it, I seem to always get the version 0.01 instead of the latest 0.24. Also how can I apply it if I have not got an EZ-Loader?
     
  2. saturnin

    Newcomer saturnin Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    Is that working with supercard ds one?
     
  3. bobrules

    Member bobrules GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,942
    Location:
    Toronto
    Country:
    Canada
    Looks VERY unsafe.
     
  4. stupidkrazykarl

    Newcomer stupidkrazykarl Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2007
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United States
    agreed, I wouldn't mess with this at all.

    It's not that hard to switch away from WPA if it's your home network....and probably something you won't really care about having done.
     
  5. Xeijin

    Member Xeijin GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Messages:
    495
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've been v. interested in this for a while now, but seems as if the guys lost interest. Also, although he posts about updated versions (e.g. 0.21) all the versions in the downloads section are exactly the same as the first (v 0.1). Plus the fact that he hasnt updated the instructions for newer flash cards, I'd love to see if this actually works.
     
  6. shaunj66

    Administrator shaunj66 Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    9,830
    Location:
    South England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I find it very hard to believe that this is real. But hey, I'd LOVE to be proved wrong.
     
  7. beoba

    Newcomer beoba Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    Considering that WEP is now cracked in a matter of seconds, it'd be great if a WPA patch came out.
     
  8. bombflame

    Newcomer bombflame Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    55
    Location:
    NYC Brooklyn
    Country:
    United States
    sounds good can't waitr til it's done
     
  9. Tikker

    Member Tikker GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2007
    Messages:
    653
    Country:
    Canada
    spoken like the truly clueless
     
  10. stupidkrazykarl

    Newcomer stupidkrazykarl Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2007
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United States
    hey man back off.

    It's a cake switch done by pulling up your router's IP address.

    and if you've got anything worth protecting on your computer you should know better than using WiFi in the first place--even the Army is back to just trusting hard wiring now a days.
     
  11. jeklnoo

    Member jeklnoo GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    335
    Country:
    United States
    this 'WPA' thing is a complete fake

    open the file in a hexeditor...99% of it is 0000
     
  12. ilovengage

    Member ilovengage GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    Messages:
    427
    Country:
    Austria
    Doesn't the hardware have to support WPA? So software that supports it would be impossible.
    However - isn't the information for the DS to connect to WFC included in the GAME and not in the firmware (except the configs)
     
  13. darksavior

    Member darksavior GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Messages:
    231
    Country:
    United States
    homebrew has enough problems with WEP so i doubt itll work with WPA. Regarding the protection issues...just enable MAC filtering at least. I'm doing both MAC and IP.
     
  14. Saturnplanet5

    Member Saturnplanet5 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Messages:
    652
    Country:
    Australia
    I talked to someone about hacking a WEP network. They said it was fairly easy to do but you needed two computers to do it. He said something about using one computer to send the packets and another computer to monitor something. I can't remember but he said it wasn't that hard. It would be nice to be able to use WPA on the DS.
     
  15. CrEsPo

    Member CrEsPo GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Messages:
    190
    Country:
    Canada
    It doesn't take two computers to hack WEP. You can use the same computer to inject to the router you're hacking and you can use the same computer to monitor the router.

    As for MAC filtering, it's as useless as WEP. You can easily spoof a MAC address with the same utilities you would use for cracking WEP. WEP simply isn't secure, no matter how you try to secure it.

    WPA would be nice, but it wont ever happen. The safest thing would be to get a Nintendo WiFi USB dongle. They only allow Nintendo devices to connect so your network is safe.
     
  16. ik777

    Newcomer ik777 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    Netherlands
    its fake they doesnt have screenshots
     
  17. ViRGE

    Member ViRGE GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2004
    Messages:
    363
    Country:
    WPA-TKIP was designed to run on the original WEP hardware. It uses the same basic cypher, but in a different implementation that's harder to crack. In theory the DS could be programmed to support WPA-TKIP in spite of the hardware limitations.
     

Share This Page