Would in theory be possible to use a Wii U Controller Pro in the vWii menu?

Discussion in 'Wii U - Hacking & Backup Loaders' started by pustal, Jun 22, 2016.

1. pustal
    OP

pustal Koalafied member.

Jul 19, 2011
    Portugal
    The Matrix
    I ask this because it emulates a Wiimote both in the Wii U menu and USBLoaderGX.

Would it be possible to patch the vWii system menu to use it as well?

2. IAmLeggings

IAmLeggings Member

Newcomer
    Oct 20, 2015
    United States
    Tampa, Florida
    I'm no expert on the wiiu, but I do know that we never patched in gamecube controller support to the main wii menu because it was too complex. So based on what I do know about the vwii, I'd say chances are slim at best.

pustal likes this.
  3. CreeperMario

CreeperMario GBAtemp Advanced Fan

Jun 18, 2016
    Australia
    Adelaide, South Australia
    We could, theoretically, with CFW that mods the Wii Menu launcher. :P
    That, however, would require @smealum's iosuhax along with an exploit.

4. pustal
    OP

pustal Koalafied member.

Jul 19, 2011
    Portugal
    The Matrix
    I think you are confusing things. The vWii system menu is perfectly accessible and overwritable. Ou don't need a iOSU exploit to access it. It's installed as a vWii iOS. Tye question is, how hardcoded is the Wiimote to it.

CreeperMario likes this.
  5. pedro702

pedro702 GBAtemp Guru

Mar 3, 2014
    Portugal
    first someone would need to even do a small push to add it to the wii games and homebrew since even on homebrew there is like 4 or 5 emulator mods that support it but thats about it.

Last edited by pedro702, Jun 22, 2016
  6. pustal
    OP

pustal Koalafied member.

Jul 19, 2011
    Portugal
    The Matrix
    ยด
    I'd be happy with just system menu support, that way at least I could get to USBLoaderGX without changing remotes. If I'd play a GameCube game, all the merrier.

7. CJB100

CJB100 Programmer, Media Producer, Hardware Repair

May 8, 2016
    United States
    USA