Would any external DVD drive work for backup GC games.

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by brandonspikes, Jun 6, 2010.

  1. brandonspikes
    OP

    Member brandonspikes King Erazer

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,509
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    I have a lot of backup Gamecube disks that I want to play on my wii, sadly I have a new disk drive and it wont allow for backup games.

    So I'm curious to know if This would work to let me play them.
     
  2. WitoRIT92

    Member WitoRIT92 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    Messages:
    430
    Country:
    United States
    Sorry i dont believe there is, although that option would be a great addition to the scene.
     
  3. linuxares

    Member linuxares GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,371
    Country:
    Sweden
    No, at the moment its a no. Since the GC part doesn't use the USB ports.
     
  4. brandonspikes
    OP

    Member brandonspikes King Erazer

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,509
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    Shit, I overlooked and forgot about the USB thing with GC games.
    Do you guys know the name of the internal drives I can use for it then?
     
  5. linuxares

    Member linuxares GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,371
    Country:
    Sweden
    Yes [​IMG]

    The good part is that you can replace your Wii drive to a older one that works with softmods or modchips!
     
  6. Zetta_x

    Member Zetta_x The Insane Statistician

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,844
    Country:
    United States
    Or you can purchase a WODE
     
  7. brandonspikes
    OP

    Member brandonspikes King Erazer

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,509
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    I was looking at it, can you ou can use it with all the soft mods you want to aswell ?

    For example if I installed everything from the guide on this forum and install this modchip it will still work?
     
  8. Zetta_x

    Member Zetta_x The Insane Statistician

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,844
    Country:
    United States
    I'm pretty sure everything should work. When installing a wode, you're not really removing any functionality of the wii, you're sort of integrating a new feature to it so I don't see any reason why something won't work. However, don't quote me on that because I have not used a WODE.
     

Share This Page