Would an Animal Crossing: City Folk save/map editor be possible?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by CptTenalp, Nov 19, 2008.

  1. CptTenalp
    OP

    Newcomer CptTenalp Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    United States
    Obviously not right away, but sometime eventually. Mainly, I'd love a way to custom design my town layout without having to start over or risk mucking something up with a broken code.
     
  2. Linuks

    Member Linuks GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Messages:
    299
    Location:
    France
    Country:
    France
  3. Zeek03

    Member Zeek03 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Messages:
    336
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    You can do it.... Its built in to the game. Wjen Rover talks to you at the start go to other things, then select BUILD new town. Simple.
     
  4. Brian117

    Member Brian117 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    3,249
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    Country:
    United States
    Wow, how weird, I was just playing it earlier, and was thinking the same thing, you can copy the save file onto your SD, upload it on your PC etc.

    I'll check out that "Build new town" thing,


    EDIT: There is no, "Build new town" option from Rover...

    His options are,

    "Set Time/Date
    Tear down house
    Rebuild town"

    And rebuild town means it erases everything and you restart...
     
  5. CptTenalp
    OP

    Newcomer CptTenalp Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, that's exactly how I figured it would work. I started my town with a not TERRIBLE layout, and figured it'd be usable once I was able to build a new bridge, but the two choices I got sucked. Hard. Thanks, I'll keep an eye on that site.
     
  6. Lacius

    Member Lacius GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    3,911
    Location:
    St. Louis, Missouri
    Country:
    United States
    It will be possible, most likely through the use of the Savegame Extractor. Keep watching aibohack.com for it.
     
  7. macmel

    Member macmel GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    166
    Country:
    Philippines
    My daughter was playing this, and she wanted to do the same (rebuild the town) but was hesitant. I told her to go ahead, after I backed up her game save. I went to Wii setting then data management and tried copying the game save but is doesn't let me??? [​IMG] It says it cannot be copied.


    It this normal??? What I wanted is to make a backup copy of the save to my SD card. So if she wanted to go back with the old save, I can just put it back for her.

    Regards,
    MaCMeL
     
  8. nanika

    Member nanika 文鎮じゃダメ!まぁ、こんな文字小さしすぎてどうせ読めないっしょ。

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Messages:
    249
    Country:
    United States
    It exists, iirc, and has been linked about earlier. It requires you to use the savegame extractor.
     
  9. hetoan2

    Newcomer hetoan2 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Messages:
    64
    Country:
    United States
    you have to use gecko os and rebooter to copy protected saves
     
  10. Zeek03

    Member Zeek03 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Messages:
    336
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States

    It justs destroys your Town. Don't do it. And no you can NOT Copy its save. That's cheating!
     
  11. fiveighteen

    Member fiveighteen High Hopes and Low Expectations

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,750
    Country:
    United States
    [ACToolKit v1.0 Final]

    @macmel,
    Do what hetoan2 said, and use GeckoOS to enable copying savefiles with the rebooter.

    @Zeek03,
    Stop giving suggestions that are untrue and unhelpful.

    You can do it.... Its built in to the game. Wjen Rover talks to you at the start go to other things, then select BUILD new town. Simple.
    This doesn't help you custom design your town layout, like the OP asked for.

    And no you can NOT Copy its save. That's cheating!
    You CAN copy it's save with GeckoOS, and it's NOT cheating. It's backing up your save in case it gets corrupted. There's nothing wrong with it.
     
  12. partylikeaturtle

    Newcomer partylikeaturtle Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    "
    This is very simple. It will not copy to the SD card because it is not allowed to. You see, with the nintendo wii, any games that are wi-fi compatible may not be copied to an sd card. Only non wi-fi games may be copied to an SD card.
     
  13. afif95

    Member afif95 I own a bungalow on Mars, and booked 4 corner lots

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,805
    Location:
    Malaysia!
    Country:
    Malaysia
    good job bumping up an old old old old thread.
     
  14. fiveighteen

    Member fiveighteen High Hopes and Low Expectations

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,750
    Country:
    United States
    This thread was over 3 months old... don't bump old topics.

    Also, like I said directly before your post, you CAN copy WiFi games to the SD card by using GeckoOS to enable copying savefiles with the rebooter, or now you can activate it with Preloader codes.

    Learn before you bump old topics with false replies.
     

Share This Page