Would a dsi xl screen be better than a ds screen for a portable GameCube?

Discussion in 'Nintendo GameCube' started by Coltonamore, Mar 20, 2013.

  1. Coltonamore
    OP

    Member Coltonamore Time to stop Tron Bonne!

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2011
    Messages:
    351
    Location:
    Kattelox Island
    Country:
    United States
    My friend is making a portable GameCube my questan is in the title.
     


  2. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Both are the same resolution, which is smaller than most gamecube things, so small text will likely be hard to read, missing important features. I wouldn't really suggest it, a higher-resolution screen would make a finer product (if more expensive).
     
    tbgtbg likes this.
  3. Chary

    Reporter Chary GBAtemp's #1 Naoto

    pip
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2012
    Messages:
    3,101
    Location:
    Steins Gate World Line
    Country:
    United States
    No. Like rydian said, GameCube games wouldn't look that great on DS screen.
     
    Yepi69 likes this.
  4. Coltonamore
    OP

    Member Coltonamore Time to stop Tron Bonne!

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2011
    Messages:
    351
    Location:
    Kattelox Island
    Country:
    United States
    Ok then then witch screen would you recommend?
     
  5. Coltonamore
    OP

    Member Coltonamore Time to stop Tron Bonne!

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2011
    Messages:
    351
    Location:
    Kattelox Island
    Country:
    United States
    Also my friend thinks there's a n64 emulator built in to the game cube. He said that he saw footage of it on youtube. is that true, or was the person trolling?
     
  6. soulx

    Member soulx GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    10,130
    Country:
    Canada
  7. TyBlood13

    Member TyBlood13 Weeaboo Trash

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,464
    Location:
    Kentucky
    Country:
    United States
    Technically there is, but in involves injecting N64 roms into the Zelda Collection iso, too long of a process if you ask me.
     
  8. Coltonamore
    OP

    Member Coltonamore Time to stop Tron Bonne!

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2011
    Messages:
    351
    Location:
    Kattelox Island
    Country:
    United States
    Would he be better off downloading the wii n64 emulator. Since its going to be using the wiikey instead of the disk drive.
     
  9. Foxi4

    Reporter Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22,731
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    It would be best if you bought one of those "portable" screens for the Gamecube or at least a portable LCD TV and dismembered it - saves you a lot of trouble with connecting the damn thing.

    Example #1
    Example #2


    A DS screen is 256x192 which means you'd have to resize the image to fit it via an FPGA or something, not to mention that it's really, really too small.
     
  10. Coltonamore
    OP

    Member Coltonamore Time to stop Tron Bonne!

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2011
    Messages:
    351
    Location:
    Kattelox Island
    Country:
    United States
    I'm not making it. I even said that my friend is making it.
     
  11. Foxi4

    Reporter Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22,731
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    Well then pass the message to your friend. You can't just "magically" connect an LCD screen to an AV-Out and hope it's going to work - it takes a lot of circuitry and in the case of a resolution discrepancy it also takes some programming so he's better off buying a screen made for the purpose since preparing a setup that'll allow him to connect a DS screen to a Gamecube is likely to be quite costly and with a poor end result wheras portable screens are relatively cheapo and quite accessible.
     
  12. Coltonamore
    OP

    Member Coltonamore Time to stop Tron Bonne!

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2011
    Messages:
    351
    Location:
    Kattelox Island
    Country:
    United States
    He said that he's also making it so that he can connect it to a tv. He even has the thing already taken apart and the shell. He's just waiting on a few more parts plus he knows what he's doing. He said he knows from watching people on YouTube do it.
     
  13. AceWarhead

    Member AceWarhead "Must Construct Additional Pylons"

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,276
    Country:
    United States
    Just wondering, why isn't this "friend" asking these questions, instead of you?
     
  14. Foxi4

    Reporter Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22,731
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    There's no problemo in splitting the AV-Out, the problem here is connecting a compatible screen. :P

    By the way, tell him that it's strongly suggested to modchip the Cube. If he'll use the WiiKey, he'll need a nice, big SDHC card, if the Wode, he can mount a laptop hard drive into the contraption. This will lower battery consumption and allow him to get rid of the optical drive which is not entirely portable-friendly and inflates the overall size of the system.

    ...and of course good luck to him, be sure to snap some photos of his portable once it's ready (or dead, it often takes several Gamecubes to make one that works unless he's not planning on sawing anything. :P ).
     
  15. Coltonamore
    OP

    Member Coltonamore Time to stop Tron Bonne!

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2011
    Messages:
    351
    Location:
    Kattelox Island
    Country:
    United States
    He plans on removing the disk drive. So I don't have to tell him that much. Also I will take a few pics of it when it's done. If he's okay with it.
     
  16. Randamin

    Member Randamin GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    250
    Location:
    Laredo, TX
    Country:
    United States
    Don't ask, don't tell
     
  17. Coltonamore
    OP

    Member Coltonamore Time to stop Tron Bonne!

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2011
    Messages:
    351
    Location:
    Kattelox Island
    Country:
    United States
    That would not make me look like a good friend.
     
  18. master801

    Member master801 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    Messages:
    330
    Country:
    United States
    You cannot use a ds or ANY ds screens at all. Don't even ask about psp screens. Also, your "friend" must be pretty dumb to make a gamecube portable from watching people on youtube.
     
  19. Coltonamore
    OP

    Member Coltonamore Time to stop Tron Bonne!

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2011
    Messages:
    351
    Location:
    Kattelox Island
    Country:
    United States
    This thread is old. Hes going to use ether a ps1 screen, or a screen form a android Phone.
     
  20. The Real Jdbye

    Member The Real Jdbye D:

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    8,580
    Location:
    Doing your mom
    Country:
    Norway
    A PS1 screen was what I was going to suggest, as they seem very popular for portable mods, and it might be the cheapest.

    People have used PSP screens.
     

Share This Page