Hacking Worth making Pandora battery for brick protection on a PSP phat?

pelago

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
I am new to the PSP scene I've just picked up a PSP phat (1000) that the previous owner had installed 5.00 M33-6 CFW onto. This is working fine but I'm looking into upgrading the firmware.

I realise that we no longer use Pandora batteries to mod PSPs, but one can be useful to recover a bricked console, which is a nice safety blanket.

So I was wondering whether I could or should convert my current normal battery to a Pandora one? I would rather do a software mod (flash the ID) than a hardware one (cut a trace).

I only have the one battery and the one PSP, so to be useful when needed (i.e. at unpredictable times) I would want to keep it as a Pandora battery permanently.

If I did so would it still work as a normal battery, i.e. charge up and power the PSP normally?

Would I have any problems booting? I would want the console to boot normally if no buttons are held down, so as to be playable by non-technical folk.

I've searched quite a lot but have come across contradictory info in old guides.

esmjanus

Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
Mexico
If you convert your battery to pandora, you still will be able to use it like a normal battery, the only downside is that you are going to need to install a custom IPL in all your memory sticks in order to turn on your PSP normally. Without a custom IPL your PSP will stay on black screen and It will not boot.
To install a custom IPL on your memory stick you can use PSP Grader and select Inject IPL Only.

Reactions: pelago

pelago

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
you are going to need to install a custom IPL in all your memory sticks in order to turn on your PSP normally. Without a custom IPL your PSP will stay on black screen and It will not boot.
Ah thanks, I hadn't realised that.