World of Warcraft screenshots contain account details

Discussion in 'User Submitted News' started by Guild McCommunist, Sep 12, 2012.

  1. Guild McCommunist
    OP

    Member Guild McCommunist (not on boat)

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,151
    Location:
    The Danger Zone
    Country:
    United States

    MMO giant World of Warcraft's screenshot function may be showing off more than your sick gear or your massive raids, according to a discovery by a group of gamers at OwnedCore.

    Posters at gaming forum OwnedCore have found that each screenshot from the game contains your account name, timestamp, and IP address of the server the image was taken on. This technique, known as steganography, hides a secret watermark into each image which contains all this info. It's not physically visible, but digitally, it's there.

    The data doesn't include your password, credit card number, or mother's maiden name by any means, but can still lead to the compromising of some accounts and servers. The function however is presumably to catch pirates using private or illegitimate servers who decided to post their screenshots up.

    Screenshots containing this info date all the way back to 2008, around the time of the Activision-Blizzard merge. Fortunately players can now use a few tricks to make sure their information isn't compromised. High quality screenshots, performed by using the '/console SET screenshotQuality "10"' command, or using a third party screenshot tool, will make sure this information doesn't float around the web.

    Blizzard hasn't commented on the matter yet, but surely they are to get an icy reception when they do.



    :arrow: Source
     


  2. Hyro-Sama

    Member Hyro-Sama I'm from the fucking future.

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    4,255
    Location:
    After Earth
    Country:
    Japan
    I guess giving WoW the cold shoulder was a good decision.
     
    2 people like this.
  3. Clarky

    Member Clarky Don't you know who I think I am?

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,960
    Country:
    United States
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yJxCdh1Ps48

    Says a lot about Blizzard nowadays.
     
  4. Ammako

    Member Ammako GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,372
    Country:
    Canada
    Why anyone would choose not to use PrntScrn, I have no idea.
     
    1 person likes this.
  5. lokomelo

    Member lokomelo Edson Arantes do Nascimento

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    964
    Location:
    São Paulo
    Country:
    Brazil
    Is nintendo blizzard doomed?
     
  6. shakirmoledina

    Member shakirmoledina Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    6,611
    Location:
    Dar es Salaam
    Country:
    Tanzania
    What is someone going to do with your ip address and account name? Don't people share that when they play on lan or similar?
     
  7. Zarcon

    Former Staff Zarcon .:~Enigmatic Wanderer~:.

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,907
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    Most "hacked accounts" cases aren't from people hacking the game, but from people lifting account/email/passwords from other places such as forums and fansites.
    A vast majority of people use the same account/email/password combination everywhere they go.

    Simply knowing an account name is enough to search through such a lifted list of information and checking if it works.
     
  8. Sicklyboy

    Global Moderator Sicklyboy Resident Mechanical Keyboard Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    5,620
    Location:
    [̲̅$̲̅(̲̅ ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°̲̅)̲̅$̲̅]
    Country:
    United States
    To avoid the hassle of alt-tabbing out every time you want to take a screen shot. When I would raid, I would occasionally take screen shots during it; alt tabbing out to paste each one into Paint would be a major pain in the ass, whereas the built in function writes it directly to disk.

    In other words - convenience.
     
    1 person likes this.
  9. Ammako

    Member Ammako GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,372
    Country:
    Canada
    And that's why I played in windowed mode.
     
  10. MasterPenguin

    Member MasterPenguin GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Messages:
    424
    Country:
    Canada
    Playing windowed mode you'll still need to minimize...LOL
     
  11. shakirmoledina

    Member shakirmoledina Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    6,611
    Location:
    Dar es Salaam
    Country:
    Tanzania
    Then again, it is not a mistake from blizzard but lack of taking security measures (i.e. having different passwords) from the player's side. Then again, don't share what you don't need to.
     
  12. Gahars

    Member Gahars Bakayaro Banzai

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2011
    Messages:
    10,254
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Country:
    United States
    It's like a flurry of puns in here. Jeez, guys, just chill.
     
    1 person likes this.
  13. Janthran

    Member Janthran Solarian

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011
    Messages:
    3,777
    Location:
    The Pacific Northwet
    Country:
    United States
    Stop trying. Just go back to your legit science stuff k?
     
  14. Ammako

    Member Ammako GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,372
    Country:
    Canada
    If you minimize, you're doing it wrong.
    Horribly wrong.
     
  15. Heran Bago

    Member Heran Bago Where do puyo come from?

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,846
    Location:
    Foggy California
    Country:
    United States
    You really don't see why anyone should press F12 when they could press PrntScrn, Alt+Tab, WinKey, P, A, I, Enter, Ctrl+V, Ctrl+S, Enter, Alt+Tab?

    Really?
     
  16. MasterPenguin

    Member MasterPenguin GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Messages:
    424
    Country:
    Canada
    Have fun with your mouse going off the screen then.
     
  17. Ammako

    Member Ammako GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,372
    Country:
    Canada
    I still fail to see the problem with keeping a mspaint instance opened alongside WoW and clicking on its icon on the taskbar whenever you need to copy a screenshot.
     
  18. Gahars

    Member Gahars Bakayaro Banzai

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2011
    Messages:
    10,254
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Country:
    United States
    Ouch. I wasn't expecting such an icy reception.
     
    3 people like this.
  19. Vampire Lied

    Member Vampire Lied Resident sociopath

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Messages:
    628
    Location:
    somewhere
    Country:
    United States
    Inb4blizzardupdatesuseragreement
    All they would really have to do is put it in their user agreement that said info will be attached to any screenshot taken with their built in screenshot ability/button/thingy.
    Just another reason I'm glad to have never gotten into this game. So much bullshit and drama over one game. I'll stick to my non massively multiplayer games thank you.
     
  20. Forstride

    Member Forstride The rudder moves when I turn the wheel

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,763
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Country:
    United States
    Did any of you even read the article? (Yeah, right. GBAtemp members using their brains? HAH!)

    The info contains your user name, the time the screenshot was taken, and the IP of the SERVER you are on. Not YOUR IP address.

    This is really, really clever actually, as it can help with taking down hackers and other rule breakers who take screenshots of whatever they did. Say someone has hacked items, and takes a screenshot to brag about it. Blizzard can check what their username is, what server they play on, etc. It also helps to find private servers so Blizzard can get them taken down.

    Oh who am I kidding? Feel free to resume the anti-Blizzard circlejerk!
     

Share This Page