working Mortal Combat, Call of Duty 3 and others

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by BlindDude, Jun 11, 2009.

Jun 11, 2009
  1. BlindDude
    OP

    Member BlindDude GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Messages:
    357
    Country:
    United States
    TITLE IS WRONG,,, COD3 DOES NOT WORK! SORRY

    I looked through this forum and the wii hacking forum and didnt find anything about this.. Check it out!
    I got this info from someone off of usbloader gx irc channel.

    thomas83lin

    LIST SO FAR THAT DOES?DOESNT WORK

    Mortal Kombat - Works - extract mk7.dol and rename it main.dol and replace main.dol

    COD3 - Not working - YET

    Redsteel - Not Working - YET

    Medal oh Honor 2 - Not Working - YET

    SSX Blur - Working - Extract ssx.dol and rename it main.dol and replace main.dol

    Indiana Jones Staff - Works - Extract fateatlantis.dol and rename main.dol and replace.
     


  2. icebrg5

    Member icebrg5 GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Messages:
    2,326
    Country:
    United States
    Would it be possible to fix these games with the method above then upload them somewhere?
     
  3. BlindDude
    OP

    Member BlindDude GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Messages:
    357
    Country:
    United States
    Anything is possible. But that would be distributing copyrighted media. Which I don't do.
     
  4. WiiBlaster

    Member WiiBlaster GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,189
    Country:
    United States
    Nice find.lol I posted that on another well know site, I guess info on the net gets around. But i dont think it works on Call of duty 3 which i may be wrong.

    edit: Sorry i think i read your post wrong, did you get Call of duty 3 working using this.
     
  5. dexter222

    Member dexter222 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    336
    Location:
    Land of Fruits and Nuts
    Country:
    United States
    Awesome fix - thanks!
     
  6. BlindDude
    OP

    Member BlindDude GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Messages:
    357
    Country:
    United States
    COD3 works fine for me,, read above how.
     
  7. WiiBlaster

    Member WiiBlaster GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,189
    Country:
    United States
    yea i read your post wrong thanks for the update, I will be trying this later
     
  8. justjack

    Member justjack GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    129
    Country:
    Chile
    Please someone find the fix for Medal of Honor Heroes 2 and SSX Blur [​IMG]
     
  9. dexter222

    Member dexter222 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    336
    Location:
    Land of Fruits and Nuts
    Country:
    United States
    I tried the COD3 fix and it didn't work for me - I must be doing something wrong?

    I extract frontend.dol, rename it main.dol then right click on frontend.dol and replace it with main.dol - when done the file is still called frontend.dol and the game still freezes while loading the campaign..

    I thought perhaps I was supposed to replace main.dol with the one from the desktop... that didn't work, either... it lets you get as far as loading the campaign then freezes.

    Mortal Kombat works great, though!
     
  10. BlindDude
    OP

    Member BlindDude GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Messages:
    357
    Country:
    United States
    Crap,, your right. Mutha%*#$(%.

    First post edited
     
  11. squablo

    Member squablo GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 3, 2007
    Messages:
    143
    Country:
    United States
    Very interesting find mr 'dude. Now, here is a question for you all, and maybe something to try as well. How about using this method with the patched jap version of Metroid Prime NPC. Dont have time to test this myself, as it is bedtime for me, but if anyone has some spare time, this would be awesome.

    Something tells me that when I buy my shiny new copy of the Metroid Prime Trilogy, its not going to play nice with USB Loader, and thats a shame too. I love USB loader because when I go somewhere with my Wii, I dont have to drag all my discs with me. Also, its nice to have access to my Wii library without having to get up and change discs all the time.

    Hopefully I wont have to drag a whole one disc around with me :}
     
  12. jarock

    Member jarock GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    304
    Country:
    Ireland
    Are you not supposed to replace the main.dol in the iso?
    This reads as if your replacing the frontend.dol and not the main.dol?
     
  13. jarock

    Member jarock GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    304
    Country:
    Ireland
    LOL I just tried this with indy and replaced the main.dol with the Fate of atlantis one - Game boots straight into Fate of atlantis game.......cool. Je reminds me of when I was a little nipper. Graphics are amazing [​IMG]
     
  14. swarmster

    Newcomer swarmster Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2006
    Messages:
    95
    Country:
    Canada
    Yeah, I have my doubts that Call of Duty will work properly (it reloads the IOS in a really awkward place), but assuming this is a valid fix you should definitely be replacing the main.dol with one of the other .dol files.

    MK crashes after the various intro screens, as it reloads the IOS to bring up the main menu. This fix, from reading the method in the first post, basically makes the game skip right to the main menu .dol (mk7), by renaming it main. Presumably, then, the game just reloads the right IOS from the beginning and doesn't try to reload.

    I have SSX and Red Steel, and I'd be happy to test them whenever I get the chance (in the next day or two) if no one beats me to it. It seems like they'd have a better chance of working since if I remember right they reload the IOS really early on (before menus).

    If it does work it's a nice fix. Really simple once you see it, lol.
     
  15. mateyo

    Newcomer mateyo Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    Germany
    my specs:
    wii 3.2e
    cios 13b
    tested via usbloader gx

    ssx blur works fine after replacing main.dol with ssx.dol
    metroid prime 1 works

    it would be nice if you could edit your first post in an more organized way to keep up the list thanks [​IMG]
     
  16. swarmster

    Newcomer swarmster Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2006
    Messages:
    95
    Country:
    Canada
    Awesome!
     
  17. NeoNight

    Member NeoNight GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Messages:
    186
    Country:
    United States
    so wait you did it in reverse for ssx you replaced the main.dol with the ssx.dol?
     
  18. natemckn

    Member natemckn GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Messages:
    120
    Location:
    New York (State, not City)
    Country:
    United States
    no, thats the same way the first poster did it. He replaced main.dol with mk7.dol
     
  19. Kingherb

    Newcomer Kingherb Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I just tried this fix with Red Steel Pal and i get a black screen in latest Coverfloader Cios 36 Rev 10, i'll try some other loaders later but i don't think this fix works for it.
     
  20. donni

    Newcomer donni Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    Armenia
    Hi, lets make a list of working games with this method and the file we need!

    Mortal Kombat works! tested!

    someone get redstell to work? i testet with redsteel.dol but don't work. i can't find the .dol in the homebutton 2 part!
     

Share This Page