WOOD R4 1.29 won't save on SD card

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by dinz0122, May 19, 2011.

May 19, 2011
  1. dinz0122
    OP

    Newcomer dinz0122 Newbie

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Hong Kong
    Hi. I have a question about my R4i Gold card. It is one of those discontinued ones (the website on the card says r4ids.com, but now gets support from r4ids.cn). I have been using the 1.35 kernel from r4ids.cn for a long while with no problem, but I've heard a lot about the Wood r4 kernel and how I can play newer games on it, so I've decided to update my kernel.

    I formatted my SD card, put the new 1.51 kernel in it, and updated that with the latest Wood R4 (1.29). The games play on it alright, but it won't save at all. I mean, it will make an automatic save when I start the game, but if I try to actually save the game in game, when I turn off my DS and turn it on again, Wood won't load anymore. Plugging the SD card into my computer would tell me that it needs formatting, meaning it has been corrupted in the saving process. If I soft-reset after saving the game, the game will tell me the save file has been deleted because it is corrupted.

    I've tried to change the save file setting from .sav to .nds.sav, but this happens no matter what I do. I've now formatted my card for over 10 times. I'd like to know, is this a problem with my SD card, with my R4i card, or with something else? Any solution before I give in and go buy an Acekard? Any help will be appreciated. ^^
     
  2. Pong20302000

    Member Pong20302000 making notes on everything

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    8,076
    Location:
    One's inner self
    Country:
    Japan
    update to wood 1.30 and see if it fixes your problem

    if not your SD card might be on its last legs
     
  3. dinz0122
    OP

    Newcomer dinz0122 Newbie

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Hong Kong
    Tried with another SD card. Same problem. Contacted the r4i people and they said it's the first time someone reported this bug...
     
  4. shadowmanwkp

    Member shadowmanwkp Your roms are on another rom site

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    486
    Location:
    Vleuten, The Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    You could try the error correcting option in windows (forgot what it was called in English >.>"). I have had the same problem with a faulty SD card reader built into my laptop. My solution was very simple, just use a USB reader and use the error correcting option in windows let it run and see if it works.
     
  5. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Checkdisk.
     
  6. shadowmanwkp

    Member shadowmanwkp Your roms are on another rom site

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    486
    Location:
    Vleuten, The Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    *headdesk*

    anyways, i remembered how to use checkdisk. You right-click on the drive for your Micro-SD and select properties. Select the tab extra. Now look for check disk and hit the button check now (you will need admin rights to do this). A new window will pop up, check both boxes and hit start. It will take some while, but at least you can rule out, whether or not the card is corrupted
     
  7. NES SNES V.B. N64 G.C. Wii WiiU

    Member NES SNES V.B. N64 G.C. Wii WiiU Now with extra redundancy!

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    859
    Location:
    The EoF
    Country:
    Australia

Share This Page