Wondering about Chinese version R4

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by emmsmama, Jun 25, 2007.

Jun 25, 2007
  1. emmsmama
    OP

    Newcomer emmsmama Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Messages:
    50
    Country:
    Canada
    It's really cheap and apparently can be patched to English, but there was this review on there:

    "Cons: dont try the mod in the new batch of R4
    busted my r4 and ds doing this [​IMG] "

    I'm a noob as some would say and I'm not getting it. Does this mean if you try to patch it it could mess up your R4 and your DS or is the "mod" they are talking about something different than the patch?

    Here is the link.

    Has anybody ordered from DX before? Is the R4 quality good? Anybody in Canada that has ordered can you speak to the speed of delivery and customs issues?
     
  2. Sinkhead

    Former Staff Sinkhead yay p1ngpong.

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Messages:
    3,692
    Location:
    Across the pond
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    There's now a patcher you can use to convert R4 firmware to M3DS Simply so you don't have to worry about hardware modification! It's somewhere in the homebrew news I think... Oh, here it is.

    - Sam
     
  3. superrob

    Member superrob H4X H4X H4X!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,465
    Location:
    GBATemp factory.
    Country:
    Denmark
    If you mod it you could make a error at shorting the points.
    But dont use that.
    Use the patcher by iq_132 http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=53463 to make english and even M3 Simply firmware work on your R4 without any need to mod your R4 and then you dont void your warrenty [​IMG]

    And the R4 is wonderfull so good and cheap!
    And DX is a good seller. Got my R4 in 6 days and my EZFlash 3-in-1 in 11 days (Ok im lucky)
    But its okey to buy from them [​IMG]
     
  4. Sinkhead

    Former Staff Sinkhead yay p1ngpong.

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Messages:
    3,692
    Location:
    Across the pond
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I agree. I did a seller review of DealExtreme, take a look!

    - Sam
     
  5. 4saken

    Member 4saken Retired Ace Attorney

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,358
    Country:
    Australia
    The mod they are talking about is bridging and un-bridging contacts on the board which can determine which language/card it is.

    You can go to whichever site you want, the above hosted locally on gbatemp, or this site (probably easier..):

    http://ehsia.com/nintendo-ds/howto/r4-chinese-english
     
  6. emmsmama
    OP

    Newcomer emmsmama Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Messages:
    50
    Country:
    Canada
    Thanks all. I'm actually considering just getting the English version even though it is $7 more. Is it super easy to do the patch? The directions on the links given look super easy, just don't want to totally screw up anything.
     
  7. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    You could just get the Chinese version and leave it Chinese. The R4 doesn't have any text that you absolutely need to be able to read. You just pick a game and go.

    iq_132's patcher is easy enough to use if you want to go that route.
     
  8. emmsmama
    OP

    Newcomer emmsmama Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Messages:
    50
    Country:
    Canada
    Maybe I will get the Chinese version after all then [​IMG]
     
  9. cheapassdave

    Member cheapassdave GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Messages:
    220
    Country:
    United States
    for me, id just get the us version. ill pay that extra ~15 bucks, for a no hassle deal
     
  10. Darkforce

    Former Staff Darkforce DERP!

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,911
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hmm I just saw this article about patching the R4DS and wondered after you've patched the firmware does the Chinese R4 become the English version - i.e. in the future I can just just use the English firmware without patching. Or will I need to patch future chinese firmware updates also?

    [​IMG]
     
  11. Sinkhead

    Former Staff Sinkhead yay p1ngpong.

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Messages:
    3,692
    Location:
    Across the pond
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You'll have to keep using and patching the English firmware to work on your Chinese R4. I think that's what you're asking...

    - Sam
     
  12. iq_132

    Member iq_132 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2006
    Messages:
    149
    Location:
    Kalamazoo, Michigan
    Country:
    United States
    Nope. Not permanent. You will have to patch every version.
     
  13. nycwii

    Newcomer nycwii Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    81
    Country:
    United States
    if you dont want to go thru all that trouble with the chineese r4 pm me b/c ican get you an english 1 for cheaper
     
  14. nycwii

    Newcomer nycwii Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    81
    Country:
    United States
    hey sorry for the double post but i have some pictures i took of an r4 when i got them. sorry for the image quality


    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  15. emmsmama
    OP

    Newcomer emmsmama Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Messages:
    50
    Country:
    Canada
    Well I sat with both in the cart for a while a couple of days ago but finally opted to get the English version to be on the safe side. I figured it was still $8+ cheaper than on other sites and with free shipping it's still a good deal. I'm patient so I can handle the 2-4 week wait to get it to save the $$ too.
     
  16. nycwii

    Newcomer nycwii Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    81
    Country:
    United States
    well im glad that you are getting 1, bt if things dont work out pm me and ill get u 1
     
  17. emmsmama
    OP

    Newcomer emmsmama Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Messages:
    50
    Country:
    Canada
    Thanks [​IMG]
     

Share This Page