WODE WiFi Dongle

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by nilum, Aug 30, 2010.

Aug 30, 2010

WODE WiFi Dongle by nilum at 1:03 AM (1,562 Views / 0 Likes) 2 replies

  1. nilum
    OP

    Newcomer nilum Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Country:
    United States
    Currently my Wii is softmodded, but so far there haven't been any loaders that allow you to load games over a network.

    I just recently found out that WODE has a WiFi dongle that does just that. Has anyone tried this out? Does it work?

    It's over $100 for the modchip/stand plus the dongle, so I need to know if it's worth the investment.

    WODE Standard

    WODE WiFi Dongle

    Edit: Added links to products.
     
  2. boondoklife

    Member boondoklife GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    187
    Location:
    Jah's Pocket
    Country:
    United States
    If it is reading slower than 3x I would think movie scenes would suck!
     
  3. nilum
    OP

    Newcomer nilum Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, I would think so too. I also read that WODE can use the Ethernet port of the Wii, which is a plus. Though it seems to have some issues.

    Getting a wireless bridge might actually be a better solution. I know I get much better than 30Mbps on my home wireless network, but I would imagine the Wii's onboard wireless adapter gets some pretty poor reception. That's probably why the guys at WODE are using a separate dongle.

    I could have a set up like:

    [PC with Games] [Wireless Router] -)) ((-[Wireless Bridge] [Wii Ethernet]

    Wish there was a cheaper solution to WODE though.
     

Share This Page