With the New OS 1.1 Update..

Discussion in 'Supercard' started by ambitous21, Dec 30, 2006.

Dec 30, 2006
  1. ambitous21
    OP

    Member ambitous21 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2006
    Messages:
    692
    Country:
    United States
    Lets have a thread for new results- including game compatibility and new changes.

    well since i dont have it yet
    could someone list the changes in bulletpoint form?

    also what problems are left after updating this OS? any games still lagging, not running fine?

    and does animal crossing still lag [​IMG]
     


  2. Hanafuda

    Member Hanafuda GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,586
    Country:
    United States
    It's ok I wanna know about Animal Crossing too, ambitious.

    Unfortunately I was only able to test it briefly with my plain vanilla Sandisk 1GB. It came up with only a "5" score! Needless to say, when I tried the auto SD speed detect, it was not rated fast enough. We have an UltraII in the house, but its in my kid's DS and he was very budy with his DS tonight. I'll try to give it a shot tomorrow.

    My problem with the SCDS1 at this point is that, like every other Slot1 AFAIK besides the DS-X (which I am NOT tempted to buy), it falls short of the last-gen Slot2 cards. At least, so far that seems to be the case. My SCLite takes that same plain old Sandisk 1GB and plays anything and everything I'd ever care to play at 99.999% real speed, without all the hassles. I just hope SCteam keeps supporting it, just like I hope they figure out how to squeeze some proper performance out of the SCDS1.

    One more thing ... this is being called a firmware update, but isn't the real firmware unaffected by this update? The moonshell based GUI is the OS, but surely there's a "BIOS" on the card itself ... hopefully there's a procedure in place for flashing it, cuz I suspect that's where the real improvements are hiding.
     
  3. Katalyst

    Member Katalyst Johnald Everyperson

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2002
    Messages:
    753
    Location:
    From H-Town, Residing in ATL.
    Country:
    United States
    Another vote for wanting to know how AC runs with this update.
     
  4. sarah99

    Newcomer sarah99 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2006
    Messages:
    32
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Who's calling it a firmware update then?

    Talking about firmware
    Just a random thought but nearly all the slot 1 cards are designed around the Actel ProAsic 3 FPGA chip, it should be dead easy to flash this chip and a little trojan put in the front of a .nds file could brick the lot of them in one go. A very tempting idea for some, I can't be the first to think of it.
     
  5. Aerquos

    Newcomer Aerquos Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Albania
    The EZ Flash V, Supercard DS, Ninjapass X9, and N-Card all use that same Actel chip. Hey has anyone found out what the battery in the Supercard DS does? It seems like the only major difference the Supercard has with the X9. Also can anyone confirm that ACWW works flawlessly now?
     
  6. lezombi

    Newcomer lezombi Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    I figured this would be an appropriate place to post these questions. I haven't recieved my Supercard DS yet, but I wanted to be all prepared when it comes in the mail. Is it basically safe to use the 1.1 OS. I don't want to get this SC and end up destroying my DS Lite in the process. And also, how does organizing the microSD card go. Can I just put a folder called "games" or "roms in the root of the card and add stuff in there or do I need to put the folder in the "scshell" folder or do I not need a folder at all. I just want to keep everything organized. I would imagine putting a folder in the root would be perfectly fine, but I just want to double check
     
  7. Aerquos

    Newcomer Aerquos Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Albania
    If everything is similar to the slot 2 Supercards you can create folders in the root on the flash media to organize everything. I usually have a Games folder and then individual game folders that hold the .nds and .sav files together. Updating the firmware should be a .bin file that you put on the microsd and then run to update and then delete it once it finishes. The only thing you would need to drag into the shell folder is your skins and the updated Save Size database. And I’m pretty sure if there is something wrong that happens during the updating it would only brick the Supercard on the DS Lite unless the firmware update had some code that would purposely rewrite the DS’s firmware. So, it is recommended that people run files on their flashcard that are from “trusted” sites. Funny, most rom sites are pretty shady.
     
  8. phoood

    Member phoood taking it to a whole new level.

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,001
    Location:
    Jewgoslavia
    Country:
    United States
    You'll need the rom files and the sav files in the same folder.
     
  9. Mystic-Homer

    Member Mystic-Homer GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    148
    Country:
    Canada
    Even with the 1.1 update, I'm still getting some random glitches/crashes in games...

    Castlevania: Portrait of Ruin, and FIFA 07, among a few others.
     
  10. 5uck3rpunch

    Member 5uck3rpunch Surf Monster!

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2004
    Messages:
    679
    Location:
    Texas - USA
    Country:
    United States
    Can someone please reshare or post a working link to the 1.1 update?
     
  11. coroner4

    Newcomer coroner4 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Canada
    What he/she said.
    Thanks.
     
  12. 5uck3rpunch

    Member 5uck3rpunch Surf Monster!

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2004
    Messages:
    679
    Location:
    Texas - USA
    Country:
    United States
    I'm a he......lol

    EDIT: Nevermind. The link is now working.
     
  13. Tokas

    Member Tokas GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2006
    Messages:
    111
    Country:
    Sweden
    Here you go. [​IMG]
    1.1 update
     
  14. coroner4

    Newcomer coroner4 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Canada
    Thanks!
    Noob question: can I use this one from the start, or do I need 1.0 and then update to 1.1?
     
  15. Tokas

    Member Tokas GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2006
    Messages:
    111
    Country:
    Sweden
    You dont have any use for any of the old files in the 1.0.
    Delete the 1.0 and copy the 1.1 to the MicroSD. [​IMG]
     
  16. akura

    Newcomer akura Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2006
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    Australia
    I just got my SCDS today. Using a Kingston 1gb Japan microsd.

    I admit I'm completely new to all this stuff but I just can't seem to get anything to run. I put the v1.1 loader on the sd card and have been trying various games with little sucess.

    Auto detect puts my card at 30x speed.

    BrainAge was working for a little until it tried to save after a training exercise. MPH played the movie before the single player mode and then froze. And a bunch of other games just won't load. All this makes me sad.

    [​IMG]
     
  17. skfields01

    Member skfields01 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2003
    Messages:
    396
    Country:
    United States
    I am still not convinced that the 1.1 is an official release. It is almost a week old and the Supercard site still doesn't have it up. That seems a bit weird... don't you think?
     
  18. ssgg

    Newcomer ssgg Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    I haven't had any problems with v1.1, personally I think it is an improvement.

    I use both toshiba and kingston (japan) 1GB cards.


    If there r any games I could test for you. Just let me know here.
     
  19. Hanafuda

    Member Hanafuda GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,586
    Country:
    United States

    the auto detect is not accurate IMHO. It rated the speed of my Sandisk Ultra II as "5" on a scale of 1 to 32 !!! Now, I'm aware that the SCDS is not getting along too well with Sandisk cards, but 5?? Anyway, I copied the 1.1 firmware over fresh, and then went into global.ini and changed the speed value to 25, which is a midpoint between 3x and 4x. This added a new line item to the list under the speed selector in the SD Speed menu. (Actually, it might have been there as "other" even before I edited global.ini. I didn't check first.) It said "other -26" or something like that, and when I selected it I could go up and down the speed scale from 1 to 32. If I went too high (in my case, 30) most games stopped running. Some games stopped running even before that. The sweet spot was 26.

    Then I reformatted my card with 64k clusters (use Run -> diskmgmt.msc) and I was able to go up to 4x for all games (this is equivalent to a manual setting of 28)

    Once you find the right setting, don't forget to save the menu setting.
     
  20. SynGamer

    Member SynGamer GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2006
    Messages:
    254
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    Not to get off topic, but doesn't the R4 auto detect the game speed as well? I don't have mine yet, but i have a regular Kingston 1 GB microSD...
     

Share This Page