1. jono_

    OP jono_ GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Messages:
    334
    Country:
    so slot 1 has no GBA support, why not make a GBA emulator for the DS.

    Some featurs may include:
    - A menu for switching between roms etc. on the touch screen.
    - Speed control, for pokemon and stuff.
    - (insert more here)

    so whos gonna be the hero and make one?
     
  2. chillyp

    chillyp Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    62
    Country:
    I'm not 100% with regards to the DS hardware, but from what I've seen it uses the ARM7 processor which is used in the GBA hardware in both NDS mode and GBA mode. I'm not completely sure if the memory addresses and registers are fully backwards compatible, but it may just be a simple case of a loader or file patching to allow saving to the slot. In the GBA it was impossible to use the GB hardware because of a switch in the game slot.

    The main stumbling block will be the relatively slow speed of Slot 1, which is significantly slower than Slot 2. DS software is written to accomodate this slower speed, but GBA games will either crash or just have horrible slowdown.
     
  3. Hanafuda

    Hanafuda GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2,927
    Country:
    United States
    making a gba emulator for the DS makes about as much sense as putting a rubber vagina between a woman's breasts.
     
  4. jono_

    OP jono_ GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Messages:
    334
    Country:
    sure if youve got a slot 2 card, but with the no1s coming.

    makes as much sense as touching urself at night
     
  5. Heinrisch

    Heinrisch GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Messages:
    297
    Country:
    I never heard about such a thing. However, I guess that if you have two breast to put it between its better than playing with it by itself. So a GBA emulator should be made? [​IMG]
     
  6. Hanafuda

    Hanafuda GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2,927
    Country:
    United States

    if you have two breasts to put it between, that means there's a real vagina about 18 inches away. God I can't believe I had to explain that.
     
  7. lurker

    lurker Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    49
    Country:
    Not possible, DS only has 4mb RAM. (GBA uses the GBA cart as RAM, that's why there are no loading times - like the 64).
     
  8. ultrablade

    ultrablade Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2006
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    United States
    ROTFLMAO @ Hanafuda

    But yeah, its pointless in my opinion, i mean not like you're going to be staring into the slot 1 all the time and it'll throw out money or something like that, but slot 2 is better, gba games in all.

    think about it, what's the whole thing about slot-1 cards? espically ds-extreme... no gba... 512mb... high price... honestly the only good thing i can say about the ds-x is the menu... it looks user friendly.

    ultrablade
     
  9. TheVirus

    TheVirus GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    406
    Country:
    Uganda
    Don't knock it till you tried it [​IMG] Good times.
     
  10. Vidikron

    Vidikron Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2005
    Messages:
    76
    Country:
    United States
    I wouldn't say pointless. With slot 1 devices you are free to use the rumble cartridge and RAM expansion. I may pick one up at some point to go with my M3 Lite.
     
  11. ultrablade

    ultrablade Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2006
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    United States
    But then again, the supercard rumble can do that, and it's GBA slot. But it can't play GBA games... lol...

    ultrablade
     
  12. KINGOFNOOBS

    KINGOFNOOBS GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Messages:
    706
    Country:
    United States
    Actually a GBA emulator could be easily made. You wouldnt even have to emulate anything relaly. I mean the ARM 7 Processor is there. You just need to make a program that uses it and plays GBA games [​IMG]
     
  13. kobewan

    kobewan GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Messages:
    161
    Country:
    United States
    But it comes back to the other technical issues, which are that the DS slot is much slower than the GBA slot and that the RAM can be a constraint. I think that it has already been decided that its impossible to make a full speed GBA emulator for Slot-1 --- you will end up with horrible lag.
     
  14. Heran Bago

    Heran Bago Where do puyo come from?
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    3,089
    Country:
    United States
    Just get a GBA flashcard rather than propose other people do tough useless technical work for you.
    Jesus, there weren't anywhere near this many topics like this when I joined GBAtemp. I'm sure it's just a fad though (I hope). [​IMG]
     
  15. Trune

    Trune GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2002
    Messages:
    303
    Country:
    Let's make a NDS emulator for the GBA
     
  16. Foppzter

    Foppzter GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2003
    Messages:
    754
    Country:
    Let´s make a GBC emulator for GBA!
    ...wait a moment, that already exists >_>
     
  17. Trune

    Trune GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2002
    Messages:
    303
    Country:
    cha cha cha ^__^
     
  18. Dwaalspoor98

    Dwaalspoor98 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    203
    Country:
    Netherlands
    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
  19. lurker

    lurker Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    49
    Country:
    See, I named this account lurker since I wasn't expecting to actually post, but guys like these...

    Seriously, as said before, the DS slot is way too slow, and loading into the DS's RAM is impossible since GBA roms can be ~32MB and the DS has a lot less than 4MB usable due to the emulator itself being loaded into the RAM.

    Unless you were some uber coder from the year 3000 who can compress a 32MB file to ~2MB, & decompress it on the fly, as well as optimize it enough so it will work fast enough on the ARM9 chip, then reroute the code to the ARM7, then you can't do it. You won't end up with horrible lag, it just wouldn't work.

    It's much easier to buy a GBA flash cart.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - solutions, coming,