Wireless Routers

Discussion in 'Wii - Nintendo Wi-Fi Connection' started by jumpman17, Dec 9, 2006.

Dec 9, 2006

Wireless Routers by jumpman17 at 2:40 PM (1,295 Views / 0 Likes) 4 replies

  1. jumpman17
    OP

    Former Staff jumpman17 He's a semi-aquatic egg laying mammal of action!

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    Messages:
    8,972
    Country:
    United States
    The Wii uses 802.11b/g Wi-Fi. How hard is it to set up a wireless router and hook the Wii up to the internet?
     
  2. greyhound

    Member greyhound GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    504
    Location:
    Oxford
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    my router detected connection settings automatically, where i live the VCI and VPI values are different to the majority of the UK but it found them straight away.

    i suggest this router.

    one firmware update and NDS and Wii are good to go.
     
  3. jumpman17
    OP

    Former Staff jumpman17 He's a semi-aquatic egg laying mammal of action!

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    Messages:
    8,972
    Country:
    United States
    And what would I need if I just wanted to run a cable to it? I hear you need to buy an adapter to plug into the Wii or something.
     
  4. Harsky

    Member Harsky Madmin

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    5,262
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have a Netgear router. Tooko me a while to set it up because I realised it was because of a setting on my PC that made it not work. If the Wii is like the DS then going online with it is a piece of cake.
     
  5. greyhound

    Member greyhound GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    504
    Location:
    Oxford
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    an Ethernet adapter is coming out for the Wii in the new year, again you could use that router.

    i plug my laptop, desktop and xbox into the router and connect my DS and Wii wirelessly
     

Share This Page