Wireless problem

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by Twiffles, Apr 13, 2008.

Apr 13, 2008

Wireless problem by Twiffles at 10:04 PM (1,008 Views / 0 Likes) 6 replies

  1. Twiffles
    OP

    Member Twiffles танковые победы

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,925
    Country:
    Germany
    My neighbors (who own the wireless I'm using) bought a new computer with Vista, and this adapter dongle to use it wirelessly. It worked fine until recently. They had a virus and asked me to see if I can fix it, so I did a system restore. Now the wireless adapter thing can only detect the router but not connect to the internets. Any solution to this?
     
  2. Agjsdfd

    Member Agjsdfd My title

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,208
    Location:
    Arctica
    Country:
    More details?
    Does it say "Out of Range"? or whats the error?
     
  3. Twiffles
    OP

    Member Twiffles танковые победы

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,925
    Country:
    Germany
    Like it will connect the the router and not the internet. Yet I can connect to the same router with my PSP and it'll connect to the internet.

    They activated Norton and the system restore point was before Norton was installed, is that a factor in this? I dunno.
     
  4. Jiggah

    Member Jiggah GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Messages:
    1,223
    Country:
    United States
    Uninstall the driver and reinstall.
     
  5. tredes

    Member tredes GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    180
    Country:
    Australia
    yeh id probly just try and reinstall the drivers for the wireless dongel!

    any progress yet?
     
  6. superrob

    Member superrob H4X H4X H4X!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,465
    Location:
    GBATemp factory.
    Country:
    Denmark
    Well try first a differnt USB port.

    If thats not working try to uninstall the drivers, reboot and reinstall.
     
  7. GrayFox Cap

    Member GrayFox Cap GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2007
    Messages:
    106
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Depending on the type of virus, it could have damaged some files that are required to transmit internets data. The ol'days of mal-ware targetting the Winsock comes to mind.
     

Share This Page