Homebrew [WIP] ButtonSwap3DS - Remap buttons on your 3DS

passarbye

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 14, 2013
Messages
17
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
148
Country
United States
Hey there,
was wondering if this works with GBA VC?
If so, can someone create one that allows X to be used as Start, and Y to be used as Select?
I'm playing Pokemon GBA VC on an o3DS, and I hate using the large Start and Select buttons. Plus, this makes it more like the DS games (HG/SS) as they use these buttons this way.
 

danger229

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 1, 2017
Messages
56
Trophies
0
Age
24
XP
699
Country
United States
Hey there,
was wondering if this works with GBA VC?
If so, can someone create one that allows X to be used as Start, and Y to be used as Select?
I'm playing Pokemon GBA VC on an o3DS, and I hate using the large Start and Select buttons. Plus, this makes it more like the DS games (HG/SS) as they use these buttons this way.
I have no idea if this works on GBA VC or not, never really looked into VC stuff, but i will build that and everyone else's version when i can find the proper version of my program that has everything i need
 
  • Like
Reactions: passarbye

passarbye

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 14, 2013
Messages
17
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
148
Country
United States
I have no idea if this works on GBA VC or not, never really looked into VC stuff, but i will build that and everyone else's version when i can find the proper version of my program that has everything i need
Thanks dude :grog: (didn't know you were backed up a bit, sorry)
I tried the one you made for the user panoschuvardas (at the bottom of page 8, this thread), but it didn't exactly work.

EDIT: My mistake, X works as B within the GBA VC without the program being ran first. sorry for the confusion.
 
Last edited by passarbye,

cesarpk

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Nov 13, 2017
Messages
1
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
31
Country
Brazil
Hi guys, not a programing guys here. Tried to set up the building environment but it looks like I need linux for that.
Could someone please make an old 3ds cia that would swap L=Left_DPAD and R=Right_DPAD? It's for games like monster hunter and FFEX, I do not own an circle pad pro so it's very difficult to move the camera
Thanks in advance
 

danger229

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 1, 2017
Messages
56
Trophies
0
Age
24
XP
699
Country
United States
@kathy @cesarpk @passarbye @slashstarex I have attached all of you versions, in each i included a Mode3 and a Non Mode3 version, both should be able to be installed onto the system at the same time unless i messed up on changing the unique id values, you only need the Mode 3 version if you are on O3DS and running a game that uses extended memory mode. this might also be the case for GBA VC but i have done nothing with GBA VC so i dont have much to go off of. let me know if there are problems through GBATemp or my discord

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

double post cause i forgot to upload files
 

Attachments

  • passarbye.zip
    739.9 KB · Views: 149
  • Kathy.zip
    739.7 KB · Views: 149
  • slashstarex.zip
    739 KB · Views: 196
  • cesarpk.zip
    739.9 KB · Views: 151
  • Like
Reactions: BORTZ

passarbye

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 14, 2013
Messages
17
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
148
Country
United States
@passarbye This might also be the case for GBA VC but I have done nothing with GBA VC so i dont have much to go off of. let me know if there are problems through GBATemp or my discord
Tested both the Mode 3 and regular versions you posted for me (intended for the GBA VC) and sadly, neither of them work with GBA VC.
I appreciate the effort though because I'm not sure this hack is even compatible with GBA VC, considering the 3DS switches hardware modes to play that stuff anyway. (AFAIK)
If you come up with a solution please PM me, Thanks.
 

onedementedsmurf

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 12, 2010
Messages
19
Trophies
0
Age
36
Location
Phoenix, AZ
XP
559
Country
United States
I'd love this if it could swap my power and home buttons, I find it annoying as hell where they placed the power button on N3DS and even more annoying that if you accidentally press it it closes everything down. Oh the countless hours of gameplay I've lost due to accidentally pressing that damned button.:cry:
 

danger229

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 1, 2017
Messages
56
Trophies
0
Age
24
XP
699
Country
United States
My o3ds r broke can someone make R>Select please?
Ps: Does the button swap work with Ultra moon?
This would work with ultra moom, you would just need to run the Mode3 version of the app and launch ultra moon while the app is suspended on home menu, i cant build versions of buttonswap for a few weeks cause my hard drive died and i am waiting for a new one to shove into my laptop, once it comes in and i get everything set up i can build a version for you if someone else did not already
 

UIShaggy

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 10, 2017
Messages
7
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
57
Country
United States
This would work with ultra moom, you would just need to run the Mode3 version of the app and launch ultra moon while the app is suspended on home menu, i cant build versions of buttonswap for a few weeks cause my hard drive died and i am waiting for a new one to shove into my laptop, once it comes in and i get everything set up i can build a version for you if someone else did not already
ok:yay:, thanks man
 

Alpha_GX

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 11, 2016
Messages
43
Trophies
0
Age
26
XP
343
Country
France
Can it be used to do some turbo tricks ?
If is it can someone create something that mash B about ten time a second with the Y buttons ?
 

danger229

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 1, 2017
Messages
56
Trophies
0
Age
24
XP
699
Country
United States
Can i get a build that swaps the ABXY for CPP and place the unused ABXY on the d-pad?
Binding to the Circle Pad Pro / C-Stick is not possible with this app, OP would need to add some code in order to make that happen, sorry.

in other news, new 1tb hard drive is installed, just got to get around to resetting up devkitarm and all that to make my program build versions again,
anyone still in need of a version should probably send me a DM on discord
 

Kråkemannen

Member
Newcomer
Joined
May 25, 2016
Messages
13
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
218
Country
Norway
If it's not too much trouble, could I have a build that makes select+x act like the R button and select+y act like the L button?
Or, if that has already been made, could I have a link to it?
You'd have my eternal gratitude.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Next gen will probably be all portable
    Gift
  • T @ trimesh:
    Some things (like Super Famicom games) just feel right when you play them using the original hardware and a CRT
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    The PS tablet
    Gift
  • mthrnite tempBOT: @ mthrnite
    switches the box from tv to game
    Gift
  • T @ trimesh:
    Not so sure about that - the tendency for "graphics uber alles" tends to lead to very high power consumption
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    If you look at what's now portability graphics are catching up to console quality
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Nintendy is a huge example of not everyone caring about powerful specs most that do will be hardcore PC players anyway
    Gift
  • T @ trimesh:
    The thing is that the IATA rules impose a pretty hard limit of 100Wh on battery sizes for lithium batteries - and it doesn't look like Li is going away soon
    Gift
  • T @ trimesh:
    So if you want (say) 4 hours of runtime you need a maximum system-level power consumption of 25W
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Yeah but we already have AAA titles looking fine on tablet form 1080p displays
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Human eye can only tell so much of a difference
    Gift
  • T @ trimesh:
    For reference, the PS5 is rated at 350W and the Xbox series X at 275W - and that's console only, without any display
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    But the future always holds performance never know what the aliens will donate from their left over tech
    Gift
  • T @ trimesh:
    Maybe :) - but batteries have turned out to be a pretty hard problem
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Like I said most that will truly care will already be hard core gaming pcers
    Gift
  • T @ trimesh:
    And DF subscribers :)
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    I bet you could find a neighbor with a ps5 and they'd have no idea what the word spec means
    Gift
  • T @ trimesh:
    Yeah probably - people on forums seem to care a lot, but they are heavily self-selected
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Most on forums try to get a good learning of actual tech
    Gift
  • Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras:
    Papaya, so good
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Only 13 more titles to go on ps3 yay
    Gift
  • Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras:
    I still have a remnant of the taste of the papaya
    Gift
  • Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras:
    @KenniesNewName June will come sooner than the end of that process
    Gift
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    PS3 had horrible speeds off the drive
    Gift
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    I always wondered why, but I am pretty sure it was trying to reduce costs
    Gift
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: I always wondered why, but I am pretty sure it was trying to reduce costs