Windows XP... Windows Formatter

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by Nero, Nov 25, 2007.

Nov 25, 2007

Windows XP... Windows Formatter by Nero at 8:45 AM (1,205 Views / 0 Likes) 14 replies

  1. Nero
    OP

    Member Nero GBAtemp RPG Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,919
    Country:
    United States
    Yep... I don't get how to do it in XP since it doesn't show an option for that, while my Vista Laptop does.

    Is there anyway to format with the cluster size of my choice? I want to get the best performance out of my 2GB MicroSDs.

    ~Nero
     
  2. kellyan95

    Banned kellyan95 Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,464
    Country:
    United States
    Try
    format /?
    in CMD for all the options. It's in there.
     
  3. Nero
    OP

    Member Nero GBAtemp RPG Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,919
    Country:
    United States
    Ah... I forgot ALL about Command Prompt!

    Thanks man, it works fine. [​IMG]

    ~Nero
     
  4. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    If you don't want to use the command prompt, you can set the allocation unit size when you format via Disk Management.

    Start -> Run -> diskmgmt.msc
    or
    Start -> Settings -> Control Panel -> Administrative Tools -> Computer Management -> Storage -> Disk Management
     
  5. Nero
    OP

    Member Nero GBAtemp RPG Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,919
    Country:
    United States
    NOOO!! I've been up for a couple hours now and I CANNOT get it to format in the cluster size I want. Because I don't know how to. [​IMG]

    That won't work.. It says the Logistic Drive has been disabled..

    ~Nero
     
  6. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    What file system are you trying to format it in, and what size allocation units are you trying to use?
     
  7. Nero
    OP

    Member Nero GBAtemp RPG Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,919
    Country:
    United States
    I'm trying to format my 2GB Sandisk into FAT32 + 64KB clusters to squeeze the best performance out of it.

    But no luck. [​IMG] I have no idea how to format it's cluster size... I had a link to Microsoft where it showed all the parameters for it, but I lost it. [​IMG]

    ~Nero
     
  8. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    You can't use 64K allocation units with FAT32. I just tried, and it wouldn't let me.

    If you want to have the fastest, least efficient (space-wise) file system, you want FAT with 64K allocation units.
     
  9. Nero
    OP

    Member Nero GBAtemp RPG Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,919
    Country:
    United States
    Odd... Other people have always recommended 64K + FAT32 for 2GB MicroSDs..

    ~Nero
     
  10. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    No, people recommend FAT with 64K allocation units. I think FAT32 only goes up to 16K or 32K.

    Anyway, FAT with 64K supports volumes up to 4GB, so it should work just fine for your purposes.
     
  11. Nero
    OP

    Member Nero GBAtemp RPG Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,919
    Country:
    United States
    Well.. Do you know any format parameters for CMD?

    ~Nero
     
  12. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    FORMAT x: /FS:FAT /A:64K should do it. Obviously you'll need to change x: to the drive letter for the microSD card.

    Or you could follow the instructions I posted earlier, right click the microSD card, click 'format', and choose the appropriate options.
     
  13. Nero
    OP

    Member Nero GBAtemp RPG Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,919
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks so much for the parameter! [​IMG]
    I forget these little things all the time.

    Hey, when I did (Format h: /FS:fat32 /A:32K) it said that the Specified Cluster size is too big for FAT32...

    I think I'll stick to FAT now.. I thought at least 32K clusters was allowed on Fat32...

    Oh and that Disk Management thing, It said it wouldn't connect with the logistic drive or something...

    ~Nero

    EDIT-ADD: When I used FORMAT h: /FS:FAT /A:64K
    It said something about making programs/applications would have compatibility problems... I should ignore this, right?
     
  14. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    FAT32 is slower than FAT for the same reason that smaller allocation units are slower than larger ones: more data has to be dealt with in order to perform any given operation. Even if FAT32 supported 64K allocation units, FAT would still be faster.

    As for the Disk Management problem, I've never seen that before so I don't know what's going on there.


    Yes, ignore it. It just means that 64K allocation units were not supported in previous versions of Windows.
     
  15. Nero
    OP

    Member Nero GBAtemp RPG Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,919
    Country:
    United States
    Alright.. Thanks so much!

    [​IMG] You helped me through an hour or two of hell.

    [​IMG] for Destructobot

    ~Nero
     

Share This Page