Windows XP problems

Westside

Sogdiana
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 18, 2004
Messages
2,904
Trophies
0
Age
32
Location
Guantanamo bay
Website
Visit site
XP
910
Country
Uzbekistan
Sorry tempers, I know I've been posting alot about computer problems lately. Anyway, after turning it on for a while and leaving for a bit and then coming back to the PC, I try to turn off the PC using start menu, it does not work. I try logging off or user switch, they don't work. I try CTRL+ALT+DEL, that does not work. The problem fixes once I restart the computer using hardware (the button on the PC case) instead of the software.
 

Westside

Sogdiana
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 18, 2004
Messages
2,904
Trophies
0
Age
32
Location
Guantanamo bay
Website
Visit site
XP
910
Country
Uzbekistan
Urza said:
I'd bet on malware.

Clean install.
Trust me, I have seen waaay too many malware to not able to pick up on this one (registry hacks; startup malwares; malware processes even certain threads under processes which I use process manager to detect them; browser hijacks; asian porn links on my favorites, and so many more). Besides, I haven't used my Desktop computer for Internet browsing yet.
 

Sephi

fool
Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2008
Messages
1,851
Trophies
0
Age
29
Location
Rhode Island
Website
nov.us.to
XP
509
Country
United States
fresh install is a pain, maybe a repair from XP disk will work? but if the service pack your running doesn't match the SP on the disk, your totally screwed (I found that out the hard way) (yes I can be an idiot with computers sometimes)
I don't remember if a SP can be uninstalled.
 

Urza

hi
Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2007
Messages
6,493
Trophies
0
XP
672
Country
United States
Westside said:
Trust me, I have seen waaay too many malware to not able to pick up on this one (registry hacks; startup malwares; malware processes even certain threads under processes which I use process manager to detect them; browser hijacks; asian porn links on my favorites, and so many more).
Rootkit.

QUOTEfresh install is a pain, maybe a repair from XP disk will work?
Windows Repair is half-assed, can leave alot of problems, and has a good chance of not actually fixing anything.

Windows users should do a clean install at least twice a year anyways.
 

Elrinth

:Master beyond your imagination:
Member
Joined
Nov 6, 2002
Messages
2,955
Trophies
0
Age
37
Website
www.elrinth.com
XP
1,069
Country
I suggest, install winxp with service pack 2 instantly, then do all the winxp upgrades, and then make sure u have some antivirii proggie which notices malware and shit cause u never know when u start downloading fishy things. also stay away from the fishy sites and don't download strange files. keep to mp3s (and all music formats), avi (and all "standard" movie formats), pdf (textformats, txt and such) , zip (and other pack formats). I'm sure you have some virii och simply corrupt hardware. but nr 1. is virii.
 

Urza

hi
Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2007
Messages
6,493
Trophies
0
XP
672
Country
United States
Elrinth said:
I suggest, install winxp with service pack 2 instantly, then do all the winxp upgrades, and then make sure u have some antivirii proggie which notices malware and shit cause u never know when u start downloading fishy things. also stay away from the fishy sites. I'm sure you have some virii och simply corrupt hardware. but nr 1. is virii
"Virii" is not a real word. Your repeated use of it makes your post painful to read.

The plural of "virus" is "viruses".
 

chaotic_geo

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 19, 2008
Messages
202
Trophies
0
Age
36
Website
thegamingforum.org
XP
102
Country
Westside said:
Sorry tempers, I know I've been posting alot about computer problems lately. Anyway, after turning it on for a while and leaving for a bit and then coming back to the PC, I try to turn off the PC using start menu, it does not work. I try logging off or user switch, they don't work. I try CTRL+ALT+DEL, that does not work. The problem fixes once I restart the computer using hardware (the button on the PC case) instead of the software.

How many porn sites do you visit?

Lol.
 

Westside

Sogdiana
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 18, 2004
Messages
2,904
Trophies
0
Age
32
Location
Guantanamo bay
Website
Visit site
XP
910
Country
Uzbekistan
Urza said:
Westside said:
Trust me, I have seen waaay too many malware to not able to pick up on this one (registry hacks; startup malwares; malware processes even certain threads under processes which I use process manager to detect them; browser hijacks; asian porn links on my favorites, and so many more).
Rootkit.
I have seen those too.
*holds up a shield to defend himself from Urza's flames*


Chaotic Geo, I never used the Desktop for porn yet. However, on my laptop...
rolleyes.gif
rolleyes.gif
rolleyes.gif
Let's just say I call it Lapdance instead.

BTW I already have SP2.
 

Urza

hi
Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2007
Messages
6,493
Trophies
0
XP
672
Country
United States
Westside said:
Urza said:
Westside said:
Trust me, I have seen waaay too many malware to not able to pick up on this one (registry hacks; startup malwares; malware processes even certain threads under processes which I use process manager to detect them; browser hijacks; asian porn links on my favorites, and so many more).
Rootkit.

I have seen those too.
Have you run a rootkit scanner?

Many rootkits are undetectable by conventional means.

QUOTE
*holds up a shield to defend himself from Urza's flames*
If you don't want to listen, then so be it. I'm just trying to help you with your problem.
 

Westside

Sogdiana
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 18, 2004
Messages
2,904
Trophies
0
Age
32
Location
Guantanamo bay
Website
Visit site
XP
910
Country
Uzbekistan
Urza said:
Westside said:
Urza said:
Westside said:
Trust me, I have seen waaay too many malware to not able to pick up on this one (registry hacks; startup malwares; malware processes even certain threads under processes which I use process manager to detect them; browser hijacks; asian porn links on my favorites, and so many more).
Rootkit.

I have seen those too.
Have you run a rootkit scanner?

Many rootkits are undetectable by conventional means.

QUOTE
*holds up a shield to defend himself from Urza's flames*
If you don't want to listen, then so be it. I'm just trying to help you with your problem.
Rootkits never gave me any performance related issues. However, I know that they are harmful because they are SPYware after all, and even though I never seen them causing problems, it is a possibility. Microsoft has Rootkit revealer which helped abit.

Urza, I was trying to be cute and funny, I thought you would take it easy...
frown.gif
 

juggernaut911

GBAtemp Slut!
Member
Joined
Jul 13, 2006
Messages
4,164
Trophies
0
Age
10
Website
google.com
XP
937
Country
United States
Westside said:
Urza said:
Westside said:
Trust me, I have seen waaay too many malware to not able to pick up on this one (registry hacks; startup malwares; malware processes even certain threads under processes which I use process manager to detect them; browser hijacks; asian porn links on my favorites, and so many more).
Rootkit.
I have seen those too.
*holds up a shield to defend himself from Urza's flames*


Chaotic Geo, I never used the Desktop for porn yet. However, on my laptop...
rolleyes.gif
rolleyes.gif
rolleyes.gif
Let's just say I call it Lapdance instead.

BTW I already have SP2.


...explain


safe mode?
 

Westside

Sogdiana
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 18, 2004
Messages
2,904
Trophies
0
Age
32
Location
Guantanamo bay
Website
Visit site
XP
910
Country
Uzbekistan
juggernaut911 said:
Westside said:
Urza said:
Westside said:
Trust me, I have seen waaay too many malware to not able to pick up on this one (registry hacks; startup malwares; malware processes even certain threads under processes which I use process manager to detect them; browser hijacks; asian porn links on my favorites, and so many more).
Rootkit.
I have seen those too.
*holds up a shield to defend himself from Urza's flames*


Chaotic Geo, I never used the Desktop for porn yet. However, on my laptop...
rolleyes.gif
rolleyes.gif
rolleyes.gif
Let's just say I call it Lapdance instead.

BTW I already have SP2.


...explain


safe mode?
Actually, thanks for reminding me. It is not under safe mode, however, I modified the windows so that it thinks that it is always under safe mode so that it won't ask me to activate it.
 

gizmo_gal

QWEEN of the RadioActive Force!!!
Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2008
Messages
1,171
Trophies
0
Age
31
Location
1st dimension, Earth
Website
Visit site
XP
259
Country
United States
You've got some really good advice here, but I suggest you go to a more Tech Savvy, PC oreintated forum and get some help. You're more likely to get a really good assistance there
smile.gif


No offense to my fellow Tempers of course.
 

juggernaut911

GBAtemp Slut!
Member
Joined
Jul 13, 2006
Messages
4,164
Trophies
0
Age
10
Website
google.com
XP
937
Country
United States
Westside said:
juggernaut911 said:
Westside said:
Urza said:
Westside said:
Trust me, I have seen waaay too many malware to not able to pick up on this one (registry hacks; startup malwares; malware processes even certain threads under processes which I use process manager to detect them; browser hijacks; asian porn links on my favorites, and so many more).
Rootkit.
I have seen those too.
*holds up a shield to defend himself from Urza's flames*


Chaotic Geo, I never used the Desktop for porn yet. However, on my laptop...
rolleyes.gif
rolleyes.gif
rolleyes.gif
Let's just say I call it Lapdance instead.

BTW I already have SP2.


...explain


safe mode?
Actually, thanks for reminding me. It is not under safe mode, however, I modified the windows so that it thinks that it is always under safe mode so that it won't ask me to activate it.

ur welcome, but u still need to explani the whole laptop jig.
 

Fun_Zephyr

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 19, 2008
Messages
324
Trophies
0
Location
Victoria
XP
226
Country
Do you get any errors in your System or Appliocation log after trying to shutdown? Generally a failed shutdown will place a USER32 Event ID 1073 in you system event log.

The attempt to power of failed.....

However this does not generally help to tell you what is happening - it more so lets you know the actual shutdown / log off attempt you tried was recognised by the system instead of not executing / being ignored.

Another command you could try and see if it helps is:

Click Start - Run
type "shutdown -s -f -t 05" wihtout the ""
Click OK

A box should appear telling you that it is going to shutdown in 5 seconds. -s = shutdown -f = force all programs to close -t = time. You could use -r for restart instead of -s.

If a screen flashes and disappears you have either typed the line incorrectly or you have issues because shutdown.exe is not being found.

To troubleshoot should this happen:

Click Start - Run
type "cmd" wihtout the ""
Click OK
type "shutdown -s -f -t 05" wihtout the ""
press key

It will then tell you whetehr shutdown was a recognised command or not. If it is not a recognised command eitehr shutdown.exe is missing, not in the path allowing exectution from anywheer on the PC or something is blocking its execution.

Anyway, give that a try and see if it works.
smile.gif
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye: because it's a waste of money