1. Westside

    OP Westside Sogdiana
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2004
    Messages:
    2,905
    Country:
    Uzbekistan
    Sorry tempers, I know I've been posting alot about computer problems lately. Anyway, after turning it on for a while and leaving for a bit and then coming back to the PC, I try to turn off the PC using start menu, it does not work. I try logging off or user switch, they don't work. I try CTRL+ALT+DEL, that does not work. The problem fixes once I restart the computer using hardware (the button on the PC case) instead of the software.
     
  2. Urza

    Urza hi
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    6,493
    Country:
    United States
    I'd bet on malware.

    Clean install.
     
  3. Westside

    OP Westside Sogdiana
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2004
    Messages:
    2,905
    Country:
    Uzbekistan
    Trust me, I have seen waaay too many malware to not able to pick up on this one (registry hacks; startup malwares; malware processes even certain threads under processes which I use process manager to detect them; browser hijacks; asian porn links on my favorites, and so many more). Besides, I haven't used my Desktop computer for Internet browsing yet.
     
  4. Sephi

    Sephi fool
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,850
    Country:
    United States
    fresh install is a pain, maybe a repair from XP disk will work? but if the service pack your running doesn't match the SP on the disk, your totally screwed (I found that out the hard way) (yes I can be an idiot with computers sometimes)
    I don't remember if a SP can be uninstalled.
     
  5. Urza

    Urza hi
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    6,493
    Country:
    United States
    Windows Repair is half-assed, can leave alot of problems, and has a good chance of not actually fixing anything.

    Windows users should do a clean install at least twice a year anyways.
     
  6. Elrinth

    Elrinth :Master beyond your imagination:
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,940
    Country:
    I suggest, install winxp with service pack 2 instantly, then do all the winxp upgrades, and then make sure u have some antivirii proggie which notices malware and shit cause u never know when u start downloading fishy things. also stay away from the fishy sites and don't download strange files. keep to mp3s (and all music formats), avi (and all "standard" movie formats), pdf (textformats, txt and such) , zip (and other pack formats). I'm sure you have some virii och simply corrupt hardware. but nr 1. is virii.
     
  7. Urza

    Urza hi
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    6,493
    Country:
    United States
    "Virii" is not a real word. Your repeated use of it makes your post painful to read.

    The plural of "virus" is "viruses".
     
  8. chaotic_geo

    chaotic_geo GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    202
    Country:
    How many porn sites do you visit?

    Lol.
     
  9. Westside

    OP Westside Sogdiana
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2004
    Messages:
    2,905
    Country:
    Uzbekistan
    I have seen those too.
    *holds up a shield to defend himself from Urza's flames*


    Chaotic Geo, I never used the Desktop for porn yet. However, on my laptop... [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] Let's just say I call it Lapdance instead.

    BTW I already have SP2.
     
  10. Urza

    Urza hi
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    6,493
    Country:
    United States
    If you don't want to listen, then so be it. I'm just trying to help you with your problem.
     
  11. Westside

    OP Westside Sogdiana
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2004
    Messages:
    2,905
    Country:
    Uzbekistan
    Rootkits never gave me any performance related issues. However, I know that they are harmful because they are SPYware after all, and even though I never seen them causing problems, it is a possibility. Microsoft has Rootkit revealer which helped abit.

    Urza, I was trying to be cute and funny, I thought you would take it easy... [​IMG]
     
  12. juggernaut911

    juggernaut911 GBAtemp Slut!
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    4,165
    Country:
    United States

    ...explain


    safe mode?
     
  13. Westside

    OP Westside Sogdiana
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2004
    Messages:
    2,905
    Country:
    Uzbekistan
    Actually, thanks for reminding me. It is not under safe mode, however, I modified the windows so that it thinks that it is always under safe mode so that it won't ask me to activate it.
     
  14. gizmo_gal

    gizmo_gal QWEEN of the RadioActive Force!!!
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,171
    Country:
    United States
    You've got some really good advice here, but I suggest you go to a more Tech Savvy, PC oreintated forum and get some help. You're more likely to get a really good assistance there [​IMG]

    No offense to my fellow Tempers of course.
     
  15. juggernaut911

    juggernaut911 GBAtemp Slut!
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    4,165
    Country:
    United States
    ur welcome, but u still need to explani the whole laptop jig.
     
  16. Fun_Zephyr

    Fun_Zephyr GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    324
    Country:
    Do you get any errors in your System or Appliocation log after trying to shutdown? Generally a failed shutdown will place a USER32 Event ID 1073 in you system event log.

    The attempt to power of failed.....

    However this does not generally help to tell you what is happening - it more so lets you know the actual shutdown / log off attempt you tried was recognised by the system instead of not executing / being ignored.

    Another command you could try and see if it helps is:

    Click Start - Run
    type "shutdown -s -f -t 05" wihtout the ""
    Click OK

    A box should appear telling you that it is going to shutdown in 5 seconds. -s = shutdown -f = force all programs to close -t = time. You could use -r for restart instead of -s.

    If a screen flashes and disappears you have either typed the line incorrectly or you have issues because shutdown.exe is not being found.

    To troubleshoot should this happen:

    Click Start - Run
    type "cmd" wihtout the ""
    Click OK
    type "shutdown -s -f -t 05" wihtout the ""
    press key

    It will then tell you whetehr shutdown was a recognised command or not. If it is not a recognised command eitehr shutdown.exe is missing, not in the path allowing exectution from anywheer on the PC or something is blocking its execution.

    Anyway, give that a try and see if it works. [​IMG]
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - problems, Windows,