Windows XP and upgrading PC.

Discussion in 'Computer Software and Operating Systems' started by Westside, Mar 26, 2008.

Mar 26, 2008

Windows XP and upgrading PC. by Westside at 4:18 AM (1,310 Views / 0 Likes) 8 replies

  1. Westside
    OP

    Member Westside Sogdiana

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2004
    Messages:
    2,905
    Location:
    Guantanamo bay
    Country:
    Uzbekistan
    Apparently Windows XP when it's activated, it takes on the unique value of the Motherboard and sends it, so that when the XP is installed on a different computer, activation will fail. Does anyone see a problem here?... What if my old motherboard fries and I need a new one? So I need to pay about $100 to buy a new legit XP?
    [​IMG]
     
  2. fischju

    Member fischju Rehabilitated Jaywalker

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,940
    Country:
    United States
    Just if you have an OEM copy I think. If you get another mobo, you have to call Microsoft.
     
  3. Jiggah

    Member Jiggah GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Messages:
    1,223
    Country:
    United States
    Unless I'm mistaken, you can call up MS and have them activate the new computer with the new board.
     
  4. hanman

    Member hanman I'm a pretty lucky guy

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Messages:
    715
    Location:
    Galbadia Garden
    Country:
    United States
    this is correct. if you are adept enough at social engineering, you can talk them into reactivating several times. they used to limit it to 5 times, but after much bitching by pissed off computer enthusiasts, they relented.
     
  5. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,743
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If it is legit (OEM machines are normally the exception and ironically usually the biggest pain to activate in a legit manner whenever someone wanted to do it) do you have a problem with bypassing the activation: they are not losing anything (and not even in the tenuous "I would not have paid for it anyway" manner).
     
  6. Gman 101

    Member Gman 101 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Messages:
    438
    Location:
    Karkand & Mashtuur City
    Country:
    Australia
    Thing is, you can always called up M$ and tell them your computer died or something and you need a new CD key. They'll always happily give you one.
     
  7. Jhongerkong

    Member Jhongerkong GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2007
    Messages:
    405
    Country:
    Canada

    You could just dl a torrent
     
  8. superrob

    Member superrob H4X H4X H4X!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,465
    Location:
    GBATemp factory.
    Country:
    Denmark
    We are talking about microsoft here.
     
  9. Gman 101

    Member Gman 101 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Messages:
    438
    Location:
    Karkand & Mashtuur City
    Country:
    Australia
    I know we're talking about Microsoft here. I've tried it before and it works. Or you could just go the cheap way and just get an activation crack.

    Note: M$ = Micro$oft for those who don't know...
     

Share This Page