1. Ahmedz

    OP Ahmedz Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    74
    Country:
    Bosnia and Herzegovina
    today i got my free copy of windows vista ultimate from that windows feedback program thing.
    when i unwrapped it i found 2 discs!
    one is 32-bit and the other is 64-bit and each has different product keys [​IMG]

    now I'm not sure which one to install [​IMG]

    here's my pc specs:
    Processor: Intel Pentium D 3.4 GHZ
    Mobo: Intel D945GCNL (something shit i got for ddr2 ram)
    RAM: Kingston 2 GB DDR2 667 Mhz stick
    Graphics: Geforce 7300 GS (gonna buy 8800 GTS 512 MB in June)
    HDD: 160 GB split into 2 partitions
    Sound Card: Creative Sound Blaster Audigy


    please let me know asap
     
  2. porchemasi

    porchemasi GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    174
    Country:
    Canada
    I love Vista Ultimate X64!
    Its super fast and has only crashed 2x within 2 years now!

    I found all my drivers (incl sb audigy) and driver issues are no longer a problem nowadays with x64

    .... overall try x64

    if its slow, its because of ULTIMATE i recommend 4gb of ram ....Ultimate alone eats up 500 MB with its useless trash! [​IMG]
     
  3. Hit

    Hit GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    813
    Country:
    Netherlands
    32-Bit
    If I'm right you can't even use 64-Bit, and it sucks bad some programs and drivers won't work with 64-Bit
     
  4. Ahmedz

    OP Ahmedz Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    74
    Country:
    Bosnia and Herzegovina
    hmm my pc is gonna be mostly for games when i get a new graphic card but now all i play is WoW [​IMG]
     
  5. kallekall

    kallekall GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    Messages:
    119
    Country:
    United States
    Most computer use the 32 bit. I think it will tell you if you are about to install 64bit on a 32 and the other way around.
     
  6. bluebright

    bluebright GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2006
    Messages:
    643
    Country:
    Your CPU is 64bit so you can try it out. I've never used vista 64 before but i know XP 64 is heaps faster.
     
  7. Ahmedz

    OP Ahmedz Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    74
    Country:
    Bosnia and Herzegovina
    well i would like to but i dont want to risk using the product key or having to reformat my pc just to reinstall vista 32 bit [​IMG]
    bah screw it im gonna install 32-bit [​IMG]
    thnx for the help anyway everyone [​IMG]
     
  8. coolbho3000

    coolbho3000 GBATemp Kikkoman Naturally Brewed SoySauce Fanatic
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,095
    Country:
    I have it too. Did you know they give you two licenses, one on each disc, that are both true retail licenses? If you don't believe me try installing the 64 bit key on the 32 bit version... it works. So really they sent us two copies. [​IMG]
     
  9. science

    science science rules
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,699
    Country:
    Canada
    If you're not using the 64bit key, I'll take it! ;D
     
  10. lewjay

    lewjay GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    108
    Country:
    Think you want to go x64 when you have more than 4GB ram. Regardless, I'd stick with XP, vista's too bloated. [​IMG]
     
  11. Renegade_R

    Renegade_R Audio/Video Expert
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,655
    Country:
    Canada
    Vista x64 is awesome as long as you are speced for it. Meaning you probably need a gaming machine to run Vista x64 properly. I'm using it...I love it...aside from the fact Hotspot Shield doesn't work on it.

    Oh and mind you, if you have a video card, it'll deduct from your RAM if you have more than 4GB...I got 3GB even though I had 4GB installed on Vista 32-bit because the video card deducted from the 4GB limit.
     
  12. superrob

    superrob H4X H4X H4X!
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,464
    Country:
    32Bit.
    64Bit Sux.
     
  13. Trolly

    Trolly GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,716
    Country:
    Easy option:
    64-bit is very slightly faster (not a huge difference I don't think).
    32-bit you won't have as many driver problems (But you'll still have some because it's Vista [​IMG] )

    Of course, the obvious being if you decide to install more RAM (4GB upwards I think) you'll need x64 version.
     
  14. arctic_flame

    arctic_flame GBAtemp ATMEGA8 Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,840
    Country:
    Wrong, 32-bit PCs can't use 4GB of RAM, regardless.
     
  15. fenthwick

    fenthwick GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Messages:
    153
    Country:
    There is no real reason to use 64-bit...yet.
    But if you want to have 64-bit OS then you can have 4GB+ RAM unline 32-bit that can have a max of ~3,2GB. Then some applications are used so you can use the 64-bit arcitecture and it has advantages in speed/loading times etc.

    The down side of x64 is that you won't be able to run 16bit apps/games. But this shouldn't affect you if you're not into older games.

    I have Vista Ulmtimate x64 on my desktop and I like it but when I bought my laptop I chose to get 32 XP as I that the x64 environment needs a little more time.
     
  16. Venko

    Venko GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Messages:
    159
    Country:
    Neither.

    Your copy of Vista is not free. Sure, they're not charging you money for it now but you are selling your freedom. What's more is you're responsible for others feeling the need to pay Microsoft money for their OS.

    Do the right thing and use Free Software. Once you've got used to it you'll love the freedom that you have. You can change any part of it to be exactly how you want it to be. What's more is the game you play at the moment, World of Warcraft, runs perfectly in Wine (a Windows API layer for GNU/Linux).

    Trust me, free software is the way to go. Take back your freedom [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  17. TaMs

    TaMs Randomizer
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,127
    Country:
    Finland
    If you'd have like 8gb ram then x64 would be usefull. x64 is not really used yet afaik. I've had my 64 bit processor for years and i tried windows xp x64 and nothing worked on it etc.
     
  18. fischju

    fischju Rehabilitated Jaywalker
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,940
    Country:
    United States
    Vista x64 has much better support than XP x64, I haven't had any problems
     
  19. Venko

    Venko GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Messages:
    159
    Country:
    Can you not use something along the lines of chroot inside Windows to run 32 bit applications inside a 64bit OS? That's what people using GNU/Linux tend to use to run applications that are only available in 32bit.

    If you can't then I guess it's something that the next version of Windows is bound to include. It would be difficult to persuade people to use a 64bit version otherwise.
     
  20. Tripp

    Tripp GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Messages:
    288
    Country:
    United States
    Vista x64 runs 32bit apps with no problems that I have seen it just will not run 16bit apps.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - windows, vista,