windows live messenger not working

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by Prime, Jul 13, 2008.

Jul 13, 2008
  1. Prime
    OP

    Member Prime GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,664
    Location:
    Under your bed
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    When i try to sign in to windows live messenger it won't sign in, i get this error:

    [attachment=352:error.png]

    When i click "Troubleshoot", it goes through all the tests and i pass on everyone of them (there is no tick beside "Wireless" tho)

    [attachment=353:error.png]

    I could sign in last night (after trying 3 times) i can sign in perfectly to msn on my xbox 360. I checked the server status and it is up and running fine. This seems to be happening when i got my new wireless router, with my old netgear one windows live messenger worked fine.
     
  2. Sinkhead

    Former Staff Sinkhead yay p1ngpong.

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Messages:
    3,692
    Location:
    Across the pond
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Try flushing your DNS, it's what I always do when I have internet problems.

    Start > Run
    'ipconfig /flushdns'

    in XP, not sure about Vista.
     
  3. Prime
    OP

    Member Prime GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,664
    Location:
    Under your bed
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I did that but no success
     
  4. Cheater388

    Newcomer Cheater388 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    84
    Country:
    United States
    Make sure that the wireless router firewall is not blocking any ports that make MSN connection successful.
     
  5. notnarb

    Member notnarb Not narbing it up

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,086
    Country:
  6. xcalibur

    Member xcalibur Gbatemp's Chocolate Bear

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3,166
    Location:
    Sacred Heart
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Miranda and trillian are also good alternatives.
     
  7. Prime
    OP

    Member Prime GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,664
    Location:
    Under your bed
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thats strange I can login fine right now :/

    I want to use windows live messenger, not some copy-cat
     
  8. xcalibur

    Member xcalibur Gbatemp's Chocolate Bear

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3,166
    Location:
    Sacred Heart
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just wait a little bit. I've had something like this before.

    Also, pidgin/trillian/miranda are not copy-cats. I find them hundred times better than the bloated piece of adware WLM could ever be. And tons more customizable too. And lets not forget they're multimessengers so you can use more than MSN with them.
    Rather than having seperate windows for AIM/IRQ/MSN/Yahoo you could have it all in one.
     
  9. Trolly

    Member Trolly GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,720
    Location:
    Behind you! I know you looked!
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I tried to use Trillian a while back, but it wouldn't accept my IRQ address. Seeing as I only ever use MSN (apart from IRQ), it seemed pointless to have it.
    But I agree, it's a commercial program from a big, rich company. Why the HELL do they need adverts all over it? The amount of people who have smiley bars or some kind of adware installed because of the stupid thing is unbelievable.
    Not to mention I get errors like that all the time, that are seemingly random.
     
  10. Mewgia

    Member Mewgia drifter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,161
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Country:
    United States
    use pidgin
     
  11. Prime
    OP

    Member Prime GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,664
    Location:
    Under your bed
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    FFS read what i said in post #7.
    Don't just post useless crap without reading my replies.
     
  12. DarkRey

    Member DarkRey still transfoooorming.... with sum lags!

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2007
    Messages:
    983
    Location:
    Rotating around Toni
    Country:
    Croatia
    try unistalling live messenger and download the latest version and install it
     
  13. Prime
    OP

    Member Prime GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,664
    Location:
    Under your bed
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have the latest version.

    It seems to be working now, I've successfully signed in 4 times.
     
  14. Mewgia

    Member Mewgia drifter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,161
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Country:
    United States
    I did read your reply.

    I did not see any valid points.
     

Share This Page