Windows 64-bit may be a requirement for some future EA games

Discussion in 'GBAtemp & Scene News' started by Costello, May 23, 2012.

  1. Costello

    Administrator Costello Headmaster

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    11,580

    [​IMG]






    Electronic Arts, recently voted America's worst company, has recently announced that some of the future PC games they publish will make use of the Frostbite Engine 2, a new graphics engine by DICE... and may require a 64-bit version of Windows to run. According to recent Steam statistics, only 54% of the players are running a 64-bit version of Windows. An employee of DICE recently posted on Twitter that "[...] it will be a great opportunity to upgrade to Windows 8!"

    How do you feel about this? Do you already run a 64-bit version of Windows on your computer? If you aren't, are you planning to upgrade? Before you get angry, remember that only 64-bit versions of Windows can make full use of 4 gigabytes of RAM and above.



    [​IMG] Source
    [​IMG] Source 2
     


  2. Quincy

    Member Quincy Your own personal guitarist :3

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,416
    Location:
    Your house, robbing your stuff
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Bullshit from EA... Not that games from EA run good anyways but still...

    Oh well, it was supposed to happen, with games requiring more and more RAM.
     
  3. Urza

    Podcast Crew Urza hi

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    6,493
    Country:
    United States
    EA has said nothing. The source of this is a tweet from a Frostbite Engine dev stating that they (DICE) will have some games requiring 64-bit processing.

    In addition, Frostbite Engine 2 itself does not inherently require 64-bit processing. A lot of misreporting going on.
     
    8 people like this.
  4. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,414
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    haha windows 8. not after what i've read and heard about it.

    -another world
     
    4 people like this.
  5. Sicklyboy

    Global Moderator Sicklyboy Resident Mechanical Keyboard Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    5,068
    Location:
    Nowhere, Middle OF
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, and your CPU, which likely also means your mobo and RAM.

    You know, the same things you would need to replace if you were moving from an x86 windows 7 build to an x64 one.
     
    1 person likes this.
  6. Alaude

    Member Alaude GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    197
    Location:
    Utopia
    Country:
    India
    How do you feel about this?
    haha...about time :P. because games nowadays are more demanding on CPUs most of the time.

    Do you already run a 64-bit version of Windows on your computer?
    fortunately yes as i have 8gigs of ram.

    EA produces some good games but i will only acknowledge them until they scrape off Origins policies.
     
  7. iceissocold

    Newcomer iceissocold Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Messages:
    88
    Country:
    United States
    Most computers from the last 6 or 7 years are x64 compatible. Maybe even further.

    64-bit Operating Systems and applications generally run a lot better when they're optimizing for it. I don't understand the fuss you all are giving on this topic.
     
  8. ShadowSoldier

    Member ShadowSoldier GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    9,390
    Country:
    Canada
    I've bought and played a lot of EA games on the PC, and they run perfectly smooth and have no problems. Your computer just sucks.

    Anyways, the main question here is, why aren't people already running 64-Bit?
     
  9. Sicklyboy

    Global Moderator Sicklyboy Resident Mechanical Keyboard Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    5,068
    Location:
    Nowhere, Middle OF
    Country:
    United States
    Not if you only have a 32 bit CPU though.
     
  10. Costello

    Administrator Costello Headmaster

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    11,580
    quoted from kotaku's article:

    so I guess kotaku got it all wrong eh? someone needs to tell them :P
     
  11. DiscostewSM

    Member DiscostewSM GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,124
    Location:
    Sacramento, California
    Country:
    United States
    The only real increase in RAM requirements from 32-bit to 64-bit will come in the form of the space the program will occupy, which is only in the range of MBs and not GBs.
     
  12. Alaude

    Member Alaude GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    197
    Location:
    Utopia
    Country:
    India
    x86 only processing CPUs are really old and if anyone thinks on gaming with that with games these days is a dreamer.

    what do you mean? unlike CPUs Ram sticks do not come in x86 or x64 architecture.
     
  13. DiscostewSM

    Member DiscostewSM GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,124
    Location:
    Sacramento, California
    Country:
    United States
    I mean that the amount of space to hold the executable code of the program in RAM is the only real change. Program assets like 3D models, textures, etc are all independent of the platform, so the space they take up in RAM when the program allocates space for them remains the same. x64 opcodes take up double of what x86 opcodes occupy (but the program itself won't necessarily be double in size due to factors like optimization in compiling to take advantage of what x64 offers, and other things of that nature).
     
  14. Sicklyboy

    Global Moderator Sicklyboy Resident Mechanical Keyboard Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    5,068
    Location:
    Nowhere, Middle OF
    Country:
    United States
    I started my computer gaming habits on one, and have passed it off to my little brother (same rig). It surely isn't the absolute best out there, but it can still handle a lot of modern stuff just fine.
     
  15. Urza

    Podcast Crew Urza hi

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    6,493
    Country:
    United States
    Kotaku's source is the Eurogamer article, where Robert Purchese postulates on a number of DICE titles which might be affected. Eurogamer's source is the tweet I mentioned.

    Because it was posted on a blog, it must be true, right? Probably should check your sources next time.
     
  16. Alaude

    Member Alaude GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    197
    Location:
    Utopia
    Country:
    India
    oh...i get it thanks for elaborating your point.
     
  17. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Well then, to comment theoretically.. I wouldn't be surprised. The only processors currently being sold that are 32-bit only are less-efficient (in terms of instructions per clock, not power use) in-order models like the Atom and such, which are often paired with motherboards that can't support a dedicated video card anyways such as mobile devices and pico/fuckingtiny-ITX/ATX boards for HTPCs (given the shift towards integrated GPUs that can do hardware decoding of common video formats). Even for edge cases where you do find Atoms and such in desktops, they're usually bottom-of-the-barrel things that wouldn't be able to run modern games regardless of the register/bus/penis size.
     
    1 person likes this.
  18. Shadow#1

    Member Shadow#1 Wii Softmod Expert

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    934
    Country:
    United States
    another reason added to the pile of reason's to quit buying EA titles
     
  19. Costello

    Administrator Costello Headmaster

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    11,580
    blah blah blah.. what you said, in a nutshell, is really what I posted. end of conversation lol
     
  20. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Chill a little? You're coming across as pretty harsh.
     
    1 person likes this.

Share This Page