Will Windows 10 (potentially) improve in any way emulation of gaming hardware?

cloudfe

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2013
Messages
387
Trophies
1
Age
39
XP
2,131
Country
Belgium
I was wondering if the OS has any impact on the quality of emulators.
I apologise in advance if I asked something utterly idiotic :(
 
  • Like
Reactions: Margen67

DinohScene

Gay twink catboy
Global Moderator
Joined
Oct 11, 2011
Messages
22,581
Trophies
4
Location
Восторг
XP
23,017
Country
Antarctica
I've got it on me HTC Shift x9500 UMPC and it's blazing fast.
Even faster then Win 8 (came preinstalled when I got it) and Win 7.

So I'm pretty sure that's better.

I remember reading somewhere that the OS has a more direct access to hardware.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Margen67

FAST6191

Techromancer
Editorial Team
Joined
Nov 21, 2005
Messages
36,796
Trophies
3
XP
28,412
Country
United Kingdom
There are of course theoretical things, probably some more practical things once MS decide to gate off newer versions DirectX from older versions of Windows and the option that it could run even lighter.

In practice the main benefit will probably be from being a new OS install and thus without the cruft of an existing install that has presumably been there and collecting more junk for years at this point.

This might be enough to keep you just above the intended frame rate but you are probably still going to want to get some better hardware.
 

ody81

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 21, 2012
Messages
464
Trophies
0
XP
315
Country
Can't really see it affecting emulators in particular but it is faster than 8 with a smaller footprint.
It is faster enough to be noticeable in something like arma 3 and general usage so you never know, I haven't tried ps2 or gc emulation with it yet.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Margen67

cloudfe

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2013
Messages
387
Trophies
1
Age
39
XP
2,131
Country
Belgium
Since I use Win8 exclusively for playing games (most of them emulated), would it be wise to upgrade to 10 right now? Or should I wait so that things get settled (bugs and stuff)? I only use Windows on a partition on my MBP, so normal usage is not an issue for me.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Margen67

nl255

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 9, 2004
Messages
3,004
Trophies
2
XP
2,817
Country
However apparently Windows 10, in addition to running Metro apps in desktop mode will also support the reverse, running desktop apps in Metro mode. Presumably both of those will come with a performance hit so you will want to force desktop mode when running (non-Metro) emulators.
 

ody81

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 21, 2012
Messages
464
Trophies
0
XP
315
Country
However apparently Windows 10, in addition to running Metro apps in desktop mode will also support the reverse, running desktop apps in Metro mode. Presumably both of those will come with a performance hit so you will want to force desktop mode when running (non-Metro) emulators.


If they do it (and it's not a bad idea) there wouldn't be any performance hit. Logically, it's be similar to throwing a fullscreen app/game into windowed mode.
 
  • Like
Reactions: filfat

nl255

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 9, 2004
Messages
3,004
Trophies
2
XP
2,817
Country
If they do it (and it's not a bad idea) there wouldn't be any performance hit. Logically, it's be similar to throwing a fullscreen app/game into windowed mode.

There would be if they are using API translation or other tricks (converting GDI calls into whatever Metro uses). Apparently with ModernMix which did the reverse (but useless now as running Metro apps in desktop mode is now part of Windows 10) had a performance hit due to all the API interception and other trickery done.
 

Kaynabx

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 26, 2015
Messages
21
Trophies
0
Age
29
Location
France
XP
78
Country
France
Since Microsoft said that W10 is going to be the most gaming oriented OS they released I assume there will be some improvements.
I simply hope for a better AMD support with W10. I actually am satisfied with W8.1 but people told me W10 was a lot faster.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Margen67

filfat

CTO @ Nordcom Group Inc.
Member
Joined
Nov 24, 2012
Messages
1,261
Trophies
1
Location
Gothenburg, Sweden
Website
www.sweetsideofsweden.com
XP
1,749
Country
Sweden
There would be if they are using API translation or other tricks (converting GDI calls into whatever Metro uses). Apparently with ModernMix which did the reverse (but useless now as running Metro apps in desktop mode is now part of Windows 10) had a performance hit due to all the API interception and other trickery done.

Actually according to a few fellow developers over at Microsoft (a few friends of mine so i cant really link to a source) running metro apps in Window has no performance hit, they just render the app like usual but instead of full screen they "emulate" a smaller screen, hence why you have a minimum size of the modern apps. Also this is clearly apparent when developing and debugging apps in Windows 10.

Anyhow kudos to you for know how modernmix did it :)

I would just stick with Win8 because I hate the new Win10 design..

Meh, Windows 10 isn't even in Developer Preview yet; but i have to agree Modern 2.0 with that rounded toggles just feels "off". Anyhow the new icons (or well most of them), the new apps (except the toggle) and Cortana looks great :)
 

nl255

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 9, 2004
Messages
3,004
Trophies
2
XP
2,817
Country
Actually according to a few fellow developers over at Microsoft (a few friends of mine so i cant really link to a source) running metro apps in Window has no performance hit, they just render the app like usual but instead of full screen they "emulate" a smaller screen, hence why you have a minimum size of the modern apps. Also this is clearly apparent when developing and debugging apps in Windows 10.

Anyhow kudos to you for know how modernmix did it :)



Meh, Windows 10 isn't even in Developer Preview yet; but i have to agree Modern 2.0 with that rounded toggles just feels "off". Anyhow the new icons (or well most of them), the new apps (except the toggle) and Cortana looks great :)

Well how else would they do it. They don't have Windows source code so obviously they have to use API hooking and other trickery. Besides, it is pretty obvious that if updates can break it then obviously it is doing naughty things.
 
D

Deleted_413010

Guest
Can't really see it affecting emulators in particular but it is faster than 8 with a smaller footprint.
It is faster enough to be noticeable in something like arma 3 and general usage so you never know, I haven't tried ps2 or gc emulation with it yet.

I have tried GC emulation and let me just say it works great. But...then again its all based on your hardware.
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
    K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2: Not everyone's phone gets taken by the police what are you doing on yours :mellow: +1