Will Wii dumps always be over 4 GB?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by sabinraijin, Mar 27, 2007.

Mar 27, 2007
  1. sabinraijin
    OP

    Member sabinraijin GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    127
    Country:
    United States
    So has anyone found a way to decrypt the ISO so that the file is only the data needed for the game? Or are we always going to be stuck with 4+ GB files, no matter how much data the game actually uses? Maybe there already is and I'm just missing something, but I've yet to see a Wii game under 4 gigs, so it got me wondering.
     
  2. Athlon-pv

    Member Athlon-pv GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2005
    Messages:
    621
    Country:
    United States
    Early GameCube had the same problems until people ripped garbage from dumps , some dumps were smaller in size after being ripped...
     
  3. jaxxster

    Member jaxxster The Heretic

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Messages:
    2,423
    Location:
    South East London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Untill we can run unsigned code they'll always be over 4gig, If we rip stuff from the wii games im pretty sure we'll break the encryption and the wii wont reconigize the disk, Gamecube games wernt encrypted is why we can rip the garbage data from them.
     
  4. kristijan08

    Member kristijan08 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Messages:
    373
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    yep jaxxster is right, if you alter the current images in anyway they wont play on current modchips!

    maybe one day that will change, but yeah its annoying when you think garbage data could realistically be 3+ gigs
     
  5. pandas0nic

    Member pandas0nic GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Messages:
    106
    Location:
    Nowhere
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well not necasarily, being able to run unsigned code will allow booting of shrunken isos sure, but that doesent stop the distrubtion of smaller sized isos which will be possible once the actual disc fomat of a wii disk is broken and understood, taking out the padding from these images will result in the smaller sizes which can be distributed and then rebuilt with an appropiate tool which would result from the understanding of the disc structure and then just burnt back to disk. Hopefuly this will happen sometime soon.
     
  6. sabinraijin
    OP

    Member sabinraijin GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    127
    Country:
    United States
    Ah, I see, so the Wii looks for all the data to be there, even garbage data that's just there to fill the DVD. Weak.

    Well, as long as there's even a small chance it will be amended in the future, I'm happy. Pain in the ass to do this stuff with 768k DSL >_
     
  7. drz

    Newcomer drz Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Messages:
    37
    Location:
    SA, Austalia
    Country:
    Australia
    Here are my ignorant thoughts:

    If ripping out data really doesn't work, the Wii must be looking in a few places and expecting a certain bit of data. So the size of the game must be written somewhere. To get around this, I guess you could:[*] Find out how much game data there is, rip out the padding, then write a program to recreate the padding before burning.[*] Change the size field to take up nearly the whole disc, pad the ISO with zeros (or something easily compressible), and leave the last 512KB of original padding at the end. Then you'd have a modified game disc, but you wouldn't have to break the padding encoding. Maybe.Anyone want to try either of these? [​IMG]
     
  8. ssj4android

    Member ssj4android GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    Messages:
    180
    Country:
    So, even if you change one bit in the ISO, say at 3.5 GB, the game won't work? That doesn't make any sense.
     
  9. ozzyzak

    Member ozzyzak GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2006
    Messages:
    524
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Country:
    United States
    Funny...makes sense to me.
     
  10. rkenshin

    Member rkenshin GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2005
    Messages:
    448
    Country:
    United States
    Hey at least it's not bad when compared to downloading 360 isos..

    DVD9 sized FTW!
     
  11. ssj4android

    Member ssj4android GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    Messages:
    180
    Country:
    The Wii can't be reading the whole disc all the time, can it? That would take forever.
     
  12. ozzyzak

    Member ozzyzak GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2006
    Messages:
    524
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Country:
    United States

    My best guess would be that changing something in the game image (ISO) would change a checksum, and if it isn't what it should be, then it won't work.
     
  13. Pikachu025

    Member Pikachu025 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    960
    Location:
    Austria
    Country:
    Austria
    It would still need to actually read the whole disk to check the checksum, if you're following me.
     

Share This Page