Hacking Will this guide help for every softbrick Switch to restore to stock?

switchModBrick

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 23, 2021
Messages
60
Trophies
0
Age
20
XP
79
Country
Germany
It shows also in my system settings that the console is connected.
But it shows a driver error (Treiberfehler=driver error).
Unbenannt.PNG
 

Attachments

  • Unbenannt.PNG
    Unbenannt.PNG
    4.4 KB · Views: 9

The Real Jdbye

*is birb*
Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2010
Messages
21,332
Trophies
3
Location
Space
XP
10,201
Country
Norway
It shows also in my system settings that the console is connected.
But it shows a driver error (Treiberfehler=driver error).
View attachment 280050
This information might be helpful (found in another thread)
Get your Switch into RCM mode, send the memloader.bin payload to it
On the switch's screen, navigate to ums_boot0.ini using the volume buttons, then launch it with the Power Button.
The screen should stay illuminated but black. Open your Device manager, check if you see "LINUX UMS DISK 0" under the "Disks" tree branch
If not, you should uninstall any devices that have a yellow warning icon (when uninstalling devices, make sure to check the "Delete driver software for this device" box too)
Also uninstall the device the same way if it's showing up as a "USB Download Gadget
".
After device uninstallation (which you perform by right clicking in Device manager and choosing Uninstall), rescan the device manager list by clicking on the last icon in the toolbar.
The "LINUX UMS DISK 0" Disk should now be there.
If it still has a yellow warning, uninstall it again, or shut down the switch (by holding the power button for 12 seconds), and try RCM->memloader again
Open Etcher. Click Select image and browse to the BOOT0.BIN inside the GENERATED NX-X.X.X folder from ChoiDujour (not your original BOOT0.bin backup you might still have somewhere)
If this dialog shows up, simply click Continue (what does Etcher know, anyway?)
 

switchModBrick

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 23, 2021
Messages
60
Trophies
0
Age
20
XP
79
Country
Germany
FOLLOW THIS

IF your prodinfo is borked, used prodinfogen or wait for me to finish updating my pikafix guide in a day or two
Thank you,
Few questions about this guide:

“Your own prod.keys file (This needs to be yours specifically (Unless you are trying to just generate the BIS files)! If you don't have them, try to dump them via Lockpick_RCM)”

-can I use the prod.keys which I generated as the Switch worked?

“Your switch firmware (Try to dump them via Tegraexplorer if you don't have them)”

-can I use the firmware folder from the internet because I can’t dunmp them?

If I start TegraExplorer.bin I get following Error:


Err: 21
Line: 303
File: source/Main.c
Desc : Keydump failed


-Can your guide fix this prod.keys dump error, is this because of the prodInfo issue?
 

laramie

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 15, 2014
Messages
868
Trophies
0
XP
1,225
Country
United States
Thank you,
Few questions about this guide:

“Your own prod.keys file (This needs to be yours specifically (Unless you are trying to just generate the BIS files)! If you don't have them, try to dump them via Lockpick_RCM)”

-can I use the prod.keys which I generated as the Switch worked?

“Your switch firmware (Try to dump them via Tegraexplorer if you don't have them)”

-can I use the firmware folder from the internet because I can’t dunmp them?

If I start TegraExplorer.bin I get following Error:


Err: 21
Line: 303
File: source/Main.c
Desc : Keydump failed


-Can your guide fix this prod.keys dump error, is this because of the prodInfo issue?
Are you using the newest release of Lockpick_RCM? You should still be able to dump them.
 

switchModBrick

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 23, 2021
Messages
60
Trophies
0
Age
20
XP
79
Country
Germany
Are you using the newest release of Lockpick_RCM? You should still be able to dump them.
Now I generated a prod.keys file with Lockpick_RCM.bin that solved the error a the begin.
I launched the script and selected “Restore Both”, during this I get the error “Failed backing up BIS” and “Failed to mount System”.
 

laramie

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 15, 2014
Messages
868
Trophies
0
XP
1,225
Country
United States
Now I generated a prod.keys file with Lockpick_RCM.bin that solved the error a the begin.
I launched the script and selected “Restore Both”, during this I get the error “Failed backing up BIS” and “Failed to mount System”.
You need to put your prod.keys in the right place. Check where the keys are being looked for.
 

switchModBrick

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 23, 2021
Messages
60
Trophies
0
Age
20
XP
79
Country
Germany
FOLLOW THIS

IF your prodinfo is borked, used prodinfogen or wait for me to finish updating my pikafix guide in a day or two
Require this guide any kind of Nand or BOOT1/2 because my are completly f******?
Need it any sources like a half functioning BOOT1/2 and Nand or install the script the system independent from the Files in the console? Which input resources are needed?
 

laramie

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 15, 2014
Messages
868
Trophies
0
XP
1,225
Country
United States
  • Like
Reactions: switchModBrick

Adran_Marit

Walküre's Hacker
Member
Joined
Oct 3, 2015
Messages
3,144
Trophies
1
Location
42*South
XP
3,123
Country
Australia
Require this guide any kind of Nand or BOOT1/2 because my are completly f******?
Need it any sources like a half functioning BOOT1/2 and Nand or install the script the system independent from the Files in the console? Which input resources are needed?
It should generate the boot files as well from memory
 
  • Like
Reactions: switchModBrick

The Real Jdbye

*is birb*
Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2010
Messages
21,332
Trophies
3
Location
Space
XP
10,201
Country
Norway
Thank you, I can see the device now with the name in the Devicemanager but BalenaEtcher don’t show it.
View attachment 280059
My FileExplorer shows it also as drive but brighter than my other drives.
View attachment 280057
Maybe because the NAND is completely wiped it's not able to mount.
This is the guide I mentioned before, it's designed to fix cases with no backup/destroyed NAND: https://gbatemp.net/threads/guide-nand-rebuilding-for-no-backup-broken-emmc.593995/
It assumes you have a second Switch to use as a donor to get the needed dumps from, but you can use the PikaFix Pack files instead and you already have a prod.keys backup so you can skip the part that asks you to swap the eMMC chip I think (steps 5 and 6)
 
  • Like
Reactions: switchModBrick

switchModBrick

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 23, 2021
Messages
60
Trophies
0
Age
20
XP
79
Country
Germany
Maybe because the NAND is completely wiped it's not able to mount.
This is the guide I mentioned before, it's designed to fix cases with no backup/destroyed NAND: https://gbatemp.net/threads/guide-nand-rebuilding-for-no-backup-broken-emmc.593995/
It assumes you have a second Switch to use as a donor to get the needed dumps from, but you can use the PikaFix Pack files instead and you already have a prod.keys backup so you can skip the part that asks you to swap the eMMC chip I think (steps 5 and 6)
Thank you,
are the PikaFix Pack files that I generate by my one or can I download them?

Should I use my old prod.keys backup or these I made yesterday because they are a bit different, is this normal?
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: https://imgur.com/gallery/nxobmxD