Will there ever be mod for PS3

Discussion in 'General Gaming Discussion' started by pig098, Dec 18, 2007.

Dec 18, 2007

Will there ever be mod for PS3 by pig098 at 6:03 AM (7,891 Views / 0 Likes) 90 replies

  1. pig098
    OP

    Newcomer pig098 Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    Will there ever be mod for PS3?
     


  2. JPH

    Banned JPH Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Messages:
    6,892
    Country:
    United States
    I'm sure it's quite possible.
    Every system gets modded, cracked, etc eventually.
     
  3. 2cb2ct7

    Member 2cb2ct7 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    Messages:
    574
    Country:
    Australia
    Eventually...
     
  4. ZAFDeltaForce

    Member ZAFDeltaForce Specialist

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,786
    Country:
    Singapore
    Aye, it might be expensive though, buying blank blurays to burn games on to and stuff.
     
  5. JPH

    Banned JPH Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Messages:
    6,892
    Country:
    United States

    Yes, it may not be worth it even if the PS3 could be modded - Blank BluRays are like 20 dollars a piece (at BestBuy)!
     
  6. Alastair

    Member Alastair GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    Messages:
    578
    Country:
    Australia
    They usually come as quickly as there is a desire for a method. So with the PS3? There may never be a method. There was apparently an ISO loader by paradox but they probably didn't think that anyone had a PS3 to use it on.
     
  7. joe_user

    Newcomer joe_user Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2007
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    Germany
    There was a time, when CD-R's were 20USD; even then it was worth for people copying the games.

    And if you can't spend 20 bucks: the PS3 is a little bit more expensive.
     
  8. ZeWarrior

    Member ZeWarrior TheWarrior

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,810
    Country:
    Brazil
    Umm there's a mod... But it can't play PS3 backups, only PS2/PS1 backups and it only works on the 80,60 or 20GB PS3's. And BTW a mod doesn't necessarily mean it will use discs. The PS3 has Hard drives remember, and not all games are as big as sony makes it seem.
     
  9. Duke_Jay

    Member Duke_Jay GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Messages:
    158
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I dont think that it will possible to play games from the Harddrive, look at the 360...
     
  10. amptor

    Banned amptor Banned

    Joined:
    May 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,554
    Country:
    United States
    eventually but blank media are expensive and the games are large, so that kinda outweighs buying media or hard drive space to pirate games for it.

    just stick with xbox360, it has more games than ps3 anyways.
     
  11. Armadillo

    Member Armadillo GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,108
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Discs aint that bad , 25GB verbatim blue ray =£10 , still better than £40 for original. Size of games isn't that bad either , not all of them are massive as some make out , and even a full 25GB wouldn't take that long for a decent connection. I'm only on 8Mb and it would take less than 10 hours (unless I messed up somewhere) and that isn't even a top connection , there is plenty of people here with 10+mb connections and even 20mb connections.

    Maybe couple of years ago size and discs would of been prob , but not now , unless your still stuck on some crap low speed connection.
     
  12. Beware

    Member Beware GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    991
    Country:
    United States
    The Infectus modchip can be installed in a PS3. I'm not totally sure what it can do, but I DO know it does something. XD

    I don't honestly see a dedicated modchip for the PS3 anywhere in the near future. There simply isn't enough need for them yet. The only reason the Infectus can control a PS3 is because it is a universal modchip (it could control your toaster if it really wanted to XD).
     
  13. cory1492

    Member cory1492 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,489
    Location:
    Home, WhereElse?
    Country:
    Canada
    Infectus lets your read back and reflash the NAND chips that stow the firmware. As with PSP and it's firmware I'd expect a soft mod long before any, what is normally and incorrectly termed, mod chip.

    I also recall when dual layer writeable DVD's were in the $20 range and burners that were capable were above $500... times change and as the market starts picking up such products blanks become less costly.

    Probably can thank the 360 drive hacks for DVD-9's coming down from $10 a pop in the last couple years, never mind the simple fact that 360 sales (to both those who'd hack the drive as well as out of warranty replacement units) increased giving developers the illusion that there would be more people buying games for the console... but that' another discussion entirely.
     
  14. ZeWarrior

    Member ZeWarrior TheWarrior

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,810
    Country:
    Brazil
    More =/=Better right? And before someone argues, The better is an opinion so keep this in mind.
     
  15. Beware

    Member Beware GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    991
    Country:
    United States
    More != better, but more games = more options so a wider selection of people can enjoy the console. Plus, it is a fact that there are more hits on the 360 than PS3 for the simple reason that there are more games (based on sales).
     
  16. adgloride

    Member adgloride Its A Wii Wario

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,261
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If the PS3 is ever modded its going to have to be a similar method to the 360 or Wii, a drive flash or chip. If its an illegal bios, Sony will be able to detect it as soon as you go online.
     
  17. ZeWarrior

    Member ZeWarrior TheWarrior

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,810
    Country:
    Brazil

    Obviously it has titles that sold more than PS3 titles. The PS3 has sold half the amount of the Xbox 360... But then again hasn't the Xbox 360 been out for 2 years? It's obvious it would sell more on the console that sold more. Look at the PS2 and the Xbox. Multi platform titles ALWAYS sold more on the PS2 vs the Xbox. Same this gen except it changed position because Microsoft rushed out an unfinished console. It was only finished completely AFTER the PS3/Wii launch since only in around October (November?) that they added the new CPU, Heatsink, etc.. That should of been there in the first place.
     
  18. coolbho3000

    Member coolbho3000 GBATemp Kikkoman Naturally Brewed SoySauce Fanatic

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,095
    Location:
    Kikkoman Factory
    Country:
    ^^^ Want to bet how many posts until they start a full fledged flamewar? [​IMG] I have my money on three.
     
  19. Duke_Jay

    Member Duke_Jay GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Messages:
    158
    Country:
    Netherlands
    A few FACTS from Gamerankings:

    The 360 has 12 games with an average higher than 9
    The 360 has 29 games with an average higher than 8.5

    De PS 3 has (only) 2 games with an average higher than 9 (these are multiplatform, CoD 4 and Oblivion)
    De PS 3 has 11 games with an average higher than 8.5

    De Wii has 3 games with an average higher than 9. (Including SMG with a 9.7, good work Nintendo! [​IMG] )
    De Wii has 7 games with an average higher than 8.5

    So don't ever say that the games library of the PS3 comes even close.
    I agree on you with the failure rate on the Xbox 360, but as i have an Elite it is not realy something i have to worry about.
     
  20. ZeWarrior

    Member ZeWarrior TheWarrior

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,810
    Country:
    Brazil


    Where did I say the PS3 has the same library of games? And considering the PS3 has been out half the Time it's pretty darn good. And you know the Elite still suffers from the RROD problem. Exact same thing as other 360's except it is a black matte and has a 120GB HDD.
     

Share This Page