Will there be a Fix for R4 to run on DSi?

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by Centrix, Mar 21, 2009.

Mar 21, 2009
  1. Centrix
    OP

    Member Centrix Stop Poking the Moogle!

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Messages:
    888
    Location:
    Seattle,WA
    Country:
    United States
    I was wondering what the probability is for a fix that will allow the R4 to run on the DSi? I would think pretty good...but thats just me thinking out side the box, I mean just how different is the firmware between the DSi and DS Lite?...any one have any thoughts on this and what are the chances of a work around!.
     
  2. lolzed

    Member lolzed The GBAtemp Pichu

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,466
    Location:
    There
    Country:
    Philippines
    R4 is dead,there's a clone for R4 that runs on DSi,it's called R4i(woahh no way!!it's called R4i??!)
     
  3. thegame07

    Member thegame07 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,860
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Highly unlikely. It seems flashcards need new hardware for them to work on the dsi and not software updates. The r4 team is dead so the only chance of r4 updates is from clones.
     
  4. Centrix
    OP

    Member Centrix Stop Poking the Moogle!

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Messages:
    888
    Location:
    Seattle,WA
    Country:
    United States
    Wasn't what I wanted to hear...lol, but hey it's only money...guess I'll go and buy me another flash cart...lol, Cyclos DSi here I come...lol

    Thanks for the help guys, what flash cart should I go for when I get my DSi on April 5th...?
     
  5. lolzed

    Member lolzed The GBAtemp Pichu

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,466
    Location:
    There
    Country:
    Philippines
    get AceKard 2i(lol)the most decent right now if i'm not mistaken
     
  6. rommy667

    Member rommy667 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    514
    Location:
    Down the road around the corner
    Country:
    Ireland
    If I were you id go for EZ-FLASH Vi its def the best card atm it has a updateble kernal to combat future updates from te big N and its def less fragile than the acekard.........
     
  7. Centrix
    OP

    Member Centrix Stop Poking the Moogle!

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Messages:
    888
    Location:
    Seattle,WA
    Country:
    United States
    Now if I buy either the AceKard 2i or the EZ-Flash Vi will they work on the USA version of the DSi? and what are the websites for the two flash carts?
     
  8. hacker07

    Banned hacker07 Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    168
    Location:
    1tb harddrive
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Yeah I Recomend the ak2i it is way better and it works for dsi.
     
  9. Centrix
    OP

    Member Centrix Stop Poking the Moogle!

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Messages:
    888
    Location:
    Seattle,WA
    Country:
    United States
    ok sounds good...I'll start pricing one, any ideas where to start?
     
  10. Pendor

    Member Pendor GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    567
    Country:
    United States

Share This Page