1. kakashiles

    OP kakashiles Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2017
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    France
    Hi guys,

    I have a question that might sound stupid, but will the PSVITA run at 500mhz if not needed ?
    Let me explain, imagine I am playing persona 4 which got actually a constant 30FPS at the default 444mhz. If my Lolicon options are set to 500mhz to the game, and I still have the exact same locked framerate. Will the PSVITA still be running at 500mhz, and then I might consider letting it at 444mhz to prevent battery usage ?
    Or, can I safely use 500mhz in any game because due to framerate limitation the 500mhz wont be reached ? Or is it locked at 500mhz ?

    I dont know if you see what I mean, but it seems to be an important point. Since the 500mhz could be active only when it offers an improvement in framerate, I wouldnt understand why I am not forcing it in every game.

    Any idea ?

    Thank you in advance
     
  2. lamvuong

    lamvuong Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Messages:
    64
    Country:
    It will run at the speed you set it at in lolicon.
     
  3. kakashiles

    OP kakashiles Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2017
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    France
    Well, so how come a game will run at a stable 30 fps at 333mhz and still have the same stable 30 fps at 500mhz. Where are those extra 167mhz going ?

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    In PC If you lock your framerate. Both your GPU and CPU clock speeds would be lower, if you lock 30fps in minecraft with a 2080ti your GPU isnt going to run at his normal speeds but much lower ones. why that logic wouldnt apply on PSVITA system ? and then the 500mhz be really activated when needed ?

    So you're telling me that if I play a visual novel like stein gates, that already run at 30 fps on 333mhz and I deciede to run it at still 30 fps on 500mhz, I am wasting 167mhz here and my battery life would be drastically diminuted for nothing ?
     
    Last edited by kakashiles, Apr 1, 2020
  4. teakhanirons

    teakhanirons Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    LOLITA500 by Team CBPS is what you're looking for.
     
  5. HRudyPlayZ

    HRudyPlayZ The panda god that does everything
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2016
    Messages:
    323
    Country:
    France
    You set the speed you want in Lolicon, it is per game.
    If you don't need a 500Mhz to achieve 30fps in one game, you can lower it for that game, mainly to get more battery.
    If you overclock on games that don't need it, you will reach the framerate lock and use more battery for nothing.
     
  6. The Real Jdbye

    The Real Jdbye Always Remember 30/07/08
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    20,803
    Country:
    Norway
    The rest of the CPU time isn't used, but the higher clock speed still increases battery drain by a little, though not as much as 100% CPU usage would. Same thing on a PC if you disable SpeedStep in BIOS or use ThrottleStop or similar.
     
  7. shano

    shano GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012
    Messages:
    164
    Country:
    Australia
    It's going to waste is where it's going alongside the battery if your 30 fps game is already always hitting it's 30 fps lock at default clocks.
     
  8. kakashiles

    OP kakashiles Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2017
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    France
    Thanks for your responses guys,

    I guess I wasnt thinking in the right way, I just thought of still using 500mhz in any game since it wouldnt be used when not needed.
    I guess I will adapt a profile for each game depending on the performance for now on

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    My 3.1ghz desktop CPU oc to 4ghz is currently running between 3.7 and 3.8 right now, and is not locked at 4ghz since no activity is pushing it to 4ghz. I thought like the same logic would apply everywhere, but you dont seems all to perfectly agree
     
  9. teakhanirons

    teakhanirons Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    Running at 500MHz, your CPU utilization will be reduced which will increase the time the CPU is asleep. That's where the extra 167MHz goes to. Like I mentioned in my previous post, you can use LOLITA500 to run at 500MHz at all times.
     
  10. The Real Jdbye

    The Real Jdbye Always Remember 30/07/08
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    20,803
    Country:
    Norway
    PCs clock down by default unless you specifically disable it. Something you might do to get a couple extra % of performance, but usually it's not worth the extra power draw and heat.
     
    slaphappygamer likes this.
  11. kakashiles

    OP kakashiles Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2017
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    France

    Alright, much thanks guys :)
     
  12. TartanSpartan

    TartanSpartan Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2020
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Isn't it safest to run a PSTV this way rather than a Vita?
     
  13. teakhanirons

    teakhanirons Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    No, ARM Cortex-A9 is designed to run at 0.8-2GHz. Even with so called "overclock", it's still very much underclocked.
     
  14. duwen

    duwen Old Man Yoshi
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2013
    Messages:
    2,278
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    "Safest" isn't really applicable, but from a power consumption point of view, the PSTV can definitely benefit from permanent increased clocks without the concern of battery life to worry about. Mine is set to 444 as default with a few games set to max everything. Whereas my PSV1000 isn't overclocked at all.
     
    Last edited by duwen, Apr 22, 2020
  15. eighthdayregret

    eighthdayregret fnerrrrrrrrrr!
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2017
    Messages:
    459
    Country:
    United States
    The settings for the overclocking plugins lock the speed of the processor, the games lock the frame rate. It takes away the processor's ability to change speeds dynamically and is just always going full throttle, doing nothing.
    The reason your PC is different is because a significant portion of the time, games don't have a locked frame rate, and you're also not telling your processor to go all out all the time, so it's use changes.
    The extra mhz that gets wasted on the Vita is because of programming in the game. Like that Zelda game that came out for 3DS and would only work on the newer hardware revisions, the software tells the processor what the programmers either think it needs or what Sony allows. You can see it prevalently in PSP games, if you check clock speeds. Some use the full 333/166, but a lot don't because Sony had that extra headroom mostly locked down until the 2000 model PSPs were released and had way more RAM than the 1000 models.
     
    slaphappygamer likes this.
  16. Rabisco
    This message by Rabisco has been removed from public view by DinohScene, Apr 27, 2020, Reason: Postcount spam.
    Apr 27, 2020
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - PSVITA, 500mhz, needed