1. SlyGuy

    OP SlyGuy GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Messages:
    396
    Country:
    Canada
    Since Opera was released, I've been wondering if Nintendo will do the same thing they did with the N64 when they released the optional RAM expansion pack. That is, use the extra RAM to make their games look better on DS's with the RAM pack installed. I don't see why they wouldn't do something like this, since releasing an addon for ONE application seems rather silly (even Donkey Konga got a sequel! [​IMG]). Thoughts?
     
  2. Heinrisch

    Heinrisch GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Messages:
    297
    Country:
    Improving graphics.. don't think so

    Used for other purposes.. will probably happen
     
  3. KINGOFNOOBS

    KINGOFNOOBS GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Messages:
    706
    Country:
    United States
    No, Opera Ram pack only exist's because they didnt want it to become like the PSP browser. It wont be used for gaming... ever.
     
  4. Heinrisch

    Heinrisch GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Messages:
    297
    Country:
    ..and you know that because..?
     
  5. KINGOFNOOBS

    KINGOFNOOBS GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Messages:
    706
    Country:
    United States
    because the director of DS opera said the only reason it was needed was because DS didnt have enough onboard ram?
     
  6. Heinrisch

    Heinrisch GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Messages:
    297
    Country:
    Sooo, why can't another app or game need more ram?
     
  7. AshuraZro

    AshuraZro Belongs in a museum.
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    2,474
    Country:
    Canada
    Because I doubt that Nintendo wants DS to turn into 64 with a ram expansion becoming required for later games.
     
  8. .TakaM

    .TakaM .II
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    Messages:
    3,525
    Country:
    New Zealand
    i dunno.. I could see it happening, but I think if nintendo did it, no games would absolutely require it.. theyd probably make it just keep the framerate smooth or remove slow down..


    anyway the ram pack could be used with flash carts?
     
  9. FifthE1ement

    FifthE1ement GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2006
    Messages:
    603
    Country:
    United States
    I doubt the RAM pack will be used for anything other than for Opera as the memory on the cart is way to slow for games. They used the cheapest of the cheap memory to keep costs low which is also what attributes to the browser being so slow. You may hear of people complaining that the DSs’ processor can't keep up with the Opera browser but it’s not the processor it’s the RAM.

    FifthE1ement [​IMG]
     
  10. CatScam

    CatScam ScamaRama!
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    588
    Country:
    United States
    I thought of this myself, although like already stated above it’s highly unlikely.
    But if the extra ram would boost the DS graphics keeping the graphic junkies from
    jumping to the PSP, maybe. Plus if new programs required the extra ram to run it
    would kill the GBA slot cartridge copiers & you know Nintendo would like that.
     
  11. Veho

    Veho The man who cried "Ni".
    Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Messages:
    9,625
    Country:
    Croatia
    Announcements say that Mechassault DS (The Phantom War) will also use the RAM expansion cartrige. Or so I've heard.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - gaming, affect, Opera