will ram speed my pc up

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by tomqman, Apr 19, 2008.

Apr 19, 2008

will ram speed my pc up by tomqman at 9:33 AM (2,299 Views / 0 Likes) 27 replies

  1. tomqman
    OP

    Member tomqman This Is Everyone's Fault But Mine.

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    894
    Location:
    Isle Of Wight
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    my pc is running slow and ive formated it and reinstalled windows and its still slowish. i dont want to spend too much money so if i get more ram will that speed it up i have only 1GB of ram at the mo
     


  2. iffy525

    Member iffy525 not famous

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    751
    Country:
    United States
    Do you have XP or Vista? Because on XP 1GB of ram should be fine.
     
  3. tomqman
    OP

    Member tomqman This Is Everyone's Fault But Mine.

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    894
    Location:
    Isle Of Wight
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    win xp and my motherboard can surrport up to 4GB
    would it make my pc run faster thoe if i did have more ram
     
  4. elenar

    Member elenar GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    106
    Country:
    United States
    depends on a lot of things. Most importantly: are you running your 1GB of RAM as 2 seperate 512 sticks in dual channel mode? or as 1 stick. Does your motherboard support more than 1G? Does it support dual channel? Is your RAM better than your CPU already? Do you have a really old, slow hard drive? That would make your OS seem sluggish. Lots of things contribute to overall PC slowdown. Just adding RAM might not really change anything. 1G is plenty for running windows XP (which is ubiquitous, so I assume that's what you're running) at a good speed. If you have 1G of RAM and xp is running slow, then either your processor sucks ass, or your hard-drive read speed is so crappy that reading the pagefile is taking too long, or maybe even some other wierd thing. As long as your 1G of RAM is functioning properly or is just something really really old like PC2000 or something, it shouldn't be what's slowing you down.

    Protip: if your computer is running crappy, determine what the weakest link in your computer is, because that's probably what's bottlenecking you.
     
  5. iffy525

    Member iffy525 not famous

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    751
    Country:
    United States
    What processor do you have?
    Do you run lots of bloatware?

    I don't really know a lot about computer hardware, but I guess more ram could speed it up. But you should post your specs.

    EDIT: What ^ he said.
     
  6. tomqman
    OP

    Member tomqman This Is Everyone's Fault But Mine.

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    894
    Location:
    Isle Of Wight
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    well i do run alot of programs on my pc at one time. i know my hdd is good because it boots up fast.
     
  7. elenar

    Member elenar GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    106
    Country:
    United States
    processor?ram speed? gpu? specs please or specific help isn't possible.
     
  8. tomqman
    OP

    Member tomqman This Is Everyone's Fault But Mine.

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    894
    Location:
    Isle Of Wight
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    mother board 775XFire-eSATA2(i know it sucks)
    corsair 2 x 512mb DR2-666 (333 MHz)ram
    Intel Pentium D CPU 2.66GHz, 2.66GHz
    Radeon X1650 XT (PCIe)
    samsung spinpoint 80GB HDD(windows is installed here)
    samsung spinpoint 500GB HDD
     
  9. elenar

    Member elenar GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    106
    Country:
    United States
    that hard drive you've got your OS on is slower than molasses flowing uphill in january. the 500 one is a good deal faster. The ram is probably not slowing you down, and therefore adding more probably won't help.

    Processor not exactly getting me all hot and bothered either.

    Replacing either one of these is more likely to speed up your system than RAM, i think.
     
  10. tomqman
    OP

    Member tomqman This Is Everyone's Fault But Mine.

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    894
    Location:
    Isle Of Wight
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i want a new processor but i will need a new mother board aswell as my board dont surport the cpu i want
     
  11. Linkiboy

    Member Linkiboy GBAtemp Testing Area

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    4,888
    Country:
    United States
    For XP, the proc is fine, I think the hard drive is at fault here, try defragmenting it first of all before replacing or anything.
     
  12. SavageWaffle

    Member SavageWaffle GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,123
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    RAM adds MEMORY not speed. You should change your HARD DRIVE.
     
  13. tomqman
    OP

    Member tomqman This Is Everyone's Fault But Mine.

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    894
    Location:
    Isle Of Wight
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    thanks i guess i will when i can be bothered
     
  14. Westside

    Member Westside Sogdiana

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2004
    Messages:
    2,905
    Location:
    Guantanamo bay
    Country:
    Uzbekistan
    Depends on what you mean by speed. Having not enough RAM will limit your speed. Most stock computers have very limiting amount of RAM, so adding RAM can greatly increase the speed of which the computer operates at.
     
  15. Bob Loblaw

    Member Bob Loblaw Read the Bob Loblaw Law Blog!

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,260
    Country:
    United States

    Exactly. I would throw in atleast another GB.

    There is also a program out for XP now which mimics vistas readyboost. This allows you to use a compatible USB flashdrive as ram. Because flash drives have a quicker access time than the HD, this can add some quick and cheap speed to your machine.


    edit: Also, get yourself a registry cleaner. CCleaner is good and free. It will clean up your temp files as well. It's a must have that clears junk off your computer quickly and efficiently.
     
  16. Xeronage

    Member Xeronage GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    612
    Country:
    Also your harddrive is slow because it's got low RPM, not because it's only 80GB..so don't go out buying a 200GB 3200RPM HDD and think it's supposed to be faster! (Go for 7200RPM, thats somewhat the usual speed)
     
  17. tomqman
    OP

    Member tomqman This Is Everyone's Fault But Mine.

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    894
    Location:
    Isle Of Wight
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    well my 500gb is 7200rpm but i cant format to install xp on their as i have about 200gb of data i dont want to loose



    might give this ago any1 got more info
     
  18. fischju

    Member fischju Rehabilitated Jaywalker

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,940
    Country:
    United States
    Make a new partition on the 500GB hard drive and install XP on that.
     
  19. xJonny

    Member xJonny ...

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,395
    Country:
    Was just about to say that, it would probably boot up Xp quite a bit faster.
     
  20. tomqman
    OP

    Member tomqman This Is Everyone's Fault But Mine.

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    894
    Location:
    Isle Of Wight
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    can i add partition without whipping the current data
     

Share This Page