will a new wii remote plus work on my old fw version wii?

Discussion in 'Wii - Console and Game Discussions' started by stickybit, Nov 10, 2011.

  1. stickybit
    OP

    Member stickybit GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    192
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i have a modded wii and iv not updated since version 3.2 and i want to know if the new-er wii remote plus will work on my wii?
    im gonna need one for zelda so i need to know if it works i have a 3rd party add on wii motion plus but it stinks and isnt too accurate
    so im just gonna get a proper wii remote with it built in.......

    thanks fellas
     


  2. Dter ic

    Member Dter ic ~

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,757
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    the wii remote plus should work on 3.2 but if it doesn't then you can use Modmii to update your wii to 4.x

    EDIT: does the pointing issue occur on another wii remote? if it doesn't then it's most likley the 3rd pary Wii remote plus, I suggest getting an officual Nintendo Wiimote with motion plus since it isn't likley to have any issues.
     
  3. stickybit
    OP

    Member stickybit GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    192
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    thanks
    i hope i dont need to do anything to my wii its working 100% perfect with ALL my many games
    can anyone who has a wii remote plus on a 3.2 wii confirm if it works or not?
    the 3rd party add on motion plus i have does work but i find it doesnt make the remote more accurate when i point the remote at the screen it works but it doesnt follow the remote very well i have to aim the remote way over to the left or right for the cursor to follow it, its not 1 to 1 accurate like it should be....
    but i dont know if its cos its a 3rd parts add on or its the wii being on 3.2

    any help would be great.....
     
  4. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    I suggest you update to 4.1 though, since it gets you the latest features and bug fixes without all the anti-homebrew stuff of 4.2+.
     
  5. tueidj

    Member tueidj I R Expert

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,569
    Country:
    Motion Plus has nothing to do with the accuracy of the pointer.
     
  6. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    Not directly, but it can still work together with IR to track your movements and increase accuracy.
     
  7. tueidj

    Member tueidj I R Expert

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,569
    Country:
    But it does not affect the accuracy of the pointer. When the motion plus is being used to track the wiimote's orientation, the IR sensor is used to know if the wiimote is pointed at or away from the TV. In other words, the IR sensor helps the motion plus but the motion plus does not help the IR sensor. Only the IR sensor and the basic gforce data from the wiimote (used for determining the current wiimote rotation) is used for the pointer position.
     
  8. TerraPhantm

    Member TerraPhantm GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    275
    Country:
    United States
    Only if the software is designed to use the motionplus - everything else will work just as a normal wiimote does. There's no evidence of the Wiimote+ having a better IR sensor than the standard wiimote
     
  9. koji2009

    Member koji2009 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,193
    Country:
    United States
    The drivers for the wiimotion plus (and wiimote +) are stored in IOS, system menu version means absolutely nothing. As long as you have the appropriate IOS installed to play the games it'll work.
     
  10. stickybit
    OP

    Member stickybit GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    192
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    might i just add its the zelda demo that its a bit bad with most of my other games it works pretty good like red steel 2 and wii sports resort
    but on zelda skyward sword demo its a bit off especially on the menu

    when i point away from the screen then point it back again the center is sometimes waaay of
     
  11. koji2009

    Member koji2009 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,193
    Country:
    United States
    This is a known issue. The demo is based entirely on the E3 demo for the game, the E3 demo was compiled way back in August of 2010. Many of the previews from e3 mention this recalibration bug. As a stop-gap fix for the demo, you can press D-pad down to recenter it. The bug has been confirmed fix for the final version of the game.
     
  12. Lucif3r

    Member Lucif3r GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,464
    Country:
    Sweden

    That would be because it aint using IR to determine the cursor position. (and also theres a bug)
     
  13. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    Other games use both the WMP and IR sensor. For some stupid reason Nintendo thought it would be a good idea to only use the WMP so pointing at your target doesn't help.
     
  14. stickybit
    OP

    Member stickybit GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    192
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    cool thanks for the info...
    however id still like to get a wii motion plus....... hope it works with my 3.2e wii
     
  15. koji2009

    Member koji2009 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,193
    Country:
    United States
    As I already said, it will. System menu means absolutely nothing, it's just a graphic shell... When you load up a game, the system menu is completely unloaded and even the IOS the system menu runs is unloaded. The IOS contains the drivers to work the motion plus, so as long as you have the proper IOS to play the game installed (hint, there are many programs that automatically install/update IOS without touching system menu versions) what menu you have doesn't matter.
     
  16. tueidj

    Member tueidj I R Expert

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,569
    Country:
    IOS has nothing to do with it, the code to handle the motion plus is in the games that use it.
    It's a dodgy tech demo that other people have reported problems with, don't use it to make any assumptions about your hardware being faulty. Supposedly this demo doesn't use IR at all, probably because there were issues getting the demo units to use it (problems setting up sensor bars for them or reflected IR sources interfering with the real ones).
    This isn't true, there are other files on the disc that indicate otherwise. What is true is that it was built using an SDK from August 2010, which is what has people confused.
     
  17. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    A single tear of joy slides down Joostin's cheek.

    You have given me hope.
     
  18. tueidj

    Member tueidj I R Expert

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,569
    Country:
    Assuming IR really is disabled in the demo, that's what makes sense to me. If you stick a bunch of wiis together each with their own sensor bar, surround them with shiny plastic walls, halogen lighting and then throw in a bunch of flash photography for good measure - those wiimotes would have a hell of a time working out what they're looking at.
     
  19. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    I went ahead and tested it for you since I was doing a temp downgrade anyway. It works fine on 3.2.
     
  20. Lucif3r

    Member Lucif3r GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,464
    Country:
    Sweden

    It really is.
    You can try it yourself by disconnecting the IR bar or put your hand so it covers the IR lens on the Wiimote. It will work just as good (bad?) as before.
     

Share This Page