Wikitemp is back

Discussion in 'GBAtemp & Scene News' started by Costello, Jul 4, 2007.

Jul 4, 2007

Wikitemp is back by Costello at 1:43 PM (2,599 Views / 0 Likes) 20 replies

  1. Costello
    OP

    Administrator Costello Headmaster

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    12,031







    Wikitemp is back

    After a server move








    We've just finished moving the wiki to a new server. Since it is now back up, feel free to update it with the newest information! This page is the most visited (over 200k page views) so we're counting on you to keep it up to date.

    Also, please report in this topic any error or problem you might encounter with the wiki. Thanks, and again we are truly sorry for the inconvenience.

    [​IMG] Visit the wiki!
    Edit: some people might have to wait a few more hours/days (because their isp probably haven't updated their DNS cache yet).

    Edit2: fixed the DNS problems, thanks to King Midas! The wiki will really be back for everyone in a few hours.


     


  2. GeekShadow

    Member GeekShadow GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 13, 2007
    Messages:
    306
    Location:
    France/Vendée (85)
    Country:
    France
    Dedibox powaaa [​IMG]

    It's cool that the wiki came back... now it's time to update Wii compatibility releases...
     
  3. Gaisuto

    Former Staff Gaisuto Lose 2 Levels.

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    5,925
    Location:
    Palm Coast
    Country:
    United States
    It doesn't mention me as a Moderator or mthrnite's promotion. [​IMG]
     
  4. shaunj66

    Administrator shaunj66 Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    9,830
    Location:
    South England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yay! Now you can stop PM'ing and e-mailing us! [​IMG]
     
  5. GeekShadow

    Member GeekShadow GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 13, 2007
    Messages:
    306
    Location:
    France/Vendée (85)
    Country:
    France
    Now Wii Compatibility is up to date [​IMG]
     
  6. Dykam

    Newcomer Dykam Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I don't now what i'am doing wrong, but i get a Burning crusade wiki, and when I look at the Url's, i think it is hacked, or my PC, but I think that is not happend.
     
  7. ih8crouch

    Member ih8crouch GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    141
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Warcraft for me as well [​IMG] sommet has gone on or we are being dence
     
  8. davewii

    Newcomer davewii Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Messages:
    39
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    same here grr
     
  9. Retal

    Member Retal GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    Messages:
    914
    Location:
    England              Sex: Daily
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    DNS defunction, lawl. And FYI, I run my own DNS server bypassing the ISP, so the change still hasn't propagated at a much higher level. Now we know what Costello's side project is anyway.
     
  10. Costello
    OP

    Administrator Costello Headmaster

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    12,031
    just wait a little longer.

    As I said in the main post:
    in other words:
    The wiki is being hosted on a new computer.
    However, some people's ISP think the wiki is still hosted on the old computer.
    However, that old computer has been assigned to someone else and that person is doing whatever they want with it.

    In a few hours hopefully, your ISP will update its cache and realize the wiki is hosted on the new server [​IMG]
     
  11. imgod22222

    Member imgod22222 GBAtemp's Original No-faced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,555
    Country:
    United States
    O.o I never knew it was gone.

    Is the new computer like, rented through a service or is the new computer a computer in your living quarters?
     
  12. Costello
    OP

    Administrator Costello Headmaster

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    12,031
    it's a dedicated server that we've had for a while now [​IMG]
     
  13. ultim

    Member ultim GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 23, 2003
    Messages:
    108
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    what happened to Gamecube Compatibility List?
     
  14. Lumstar

    Member Lumstar Princess

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    3,531
    Location:
    Darling
    Country:
    United States
    I'm getting that WoW page too. But why? I don't think GBAtemp would host a site dedicated to something of little relevance to it's intended audience.

    Come on, we already know they have like 9 million subscribers paying $14.99 every single month. It doesn't need to be rubbed in any further...

    Blizzard + Boatloads of cash = [​IMG]
     
  15. Heran Bago

    Member Heran Bago Where do puyo come from?

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,851
    Location:
    Foggy California
    Country:
    United States
    You could hand out the sever's IP addy for people to get to it untill the DNS props.

    "wahh don't want to give out IP" isn't too much of an excuse since any windows user can see it by using 'ping wiki.gbatemp.net' in a command prompt once the DNS actually is up.
     
  16. dsbomb

    Member dsbomb GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    487
    Location:
    Illinois, USA
    Country:
    United States
    That will only help if the wiki is the only web site hosted on that IP address. These days, 90% of the web is virtual hosted with bunches of other web sites.

    And the Gamecube compat list is still there. I noticed from my bookmark the URL is slightly different. Go to the Wii category from the main page and you'll see it there.
     
  17. imgod22222

    Member imgod22222 GBAtemp's Original No-faced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,555
    Country:
    United States
    Going to the wii category for gamecube compat is... unorganized. That doesn't make much sense to me, but w.e
     
  18. dsbomb

    Member dsbomb GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    487
    Location:
    Illinois, USA
    Country:
    United States
    Probably because it's to check compatibility of playing the Gamecube game on a Wii? A Gamecube compatibilty list for playing on the Gamecube sounds redundanter.
     
  19. baosen

    Newcomer baosen Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2004
    Messages:
    32
    Country:
    Norway
    lol, it seems that the WoW page everyone gets to, is a private WoW server called Rebellion xD.
     
  20. ratx

    Member ratx Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    One of the gbatemp servers is giving out the "old" answer still?

    Code:
    $ dig +short wiki.gbatemp.net
    88.191.48.40
    
    $ dig +short ns gbatemp.net
    ns24006.ovh.net.
    sdns1.ovh.net.
    
    $ dig +short wiki.gbatemp.net @ns24006.ovh.net.
    88.191.13.237
    
    $ dig +short wiki.gbatemp.net @sdns1.ovh.net.
    88.191.48.40
     

Share This Page