PS1/2 Emulator WIISXRX_2022 Another Fork of WiiSXRX released

0arsoluto

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 17, 2020
Messages
62
Trophies
0
Age
45
XP
331
Country
Spain
https://wiki.gbatemp.net/wiki/WiiSXRX-2022

New compatibility list for this new mod of WiiSXRX_2022, feel free to edit it with updated info about PS1 games compatibility with this WiiSXRX_2022.
hello. I've been looking at the compatibility list above and for example soukaigi (an error in the beginning menu with a graphic failure similar to that of "love and destroy" or "x2" or "ghost in the shell", then the game goes to 100% with music and everything... I seem to remember that in older versions of the emulator this game was running but that error came out of the menu throughout the game) and the "thousand arms" work for me... maybe be why bios do I use? I use the psp bios from game testers I think I remember... could that be the reason? I have to see more games on the list and compare them with my experience playing them. thanks for the compilation work. a greeting
 
  • Like
Reactions: Magus29

rexus_pl

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 26, 2022
Messages
18
Trophies
0
Age
20
Location
Gniezdzewo
XP
137
Country
Poland
@xjsxjs197 do you plan to integrate changes made by @niuus in WiiSXRX 2.6? Especially I mean support for 3rd party controllers. Your version have definitely better compatibility (at least 3 games which work in your version don't work on WiiSXRX 2.6), but don't work properly with my generic Classic Controllers. Having it all in one emulator would be very nice.
 

pedro702

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2014
Messages
11,776
Trophies
1
Age
32
XP
6,961
Country
Portugal
But how do I make the fonts? the true I do not understand, I guess I must download the file and edit it with hex editor or something?
Spanish doesn't use any letters that dont exist in English font afaik so its a matter of replacing the names to Spanish only no?

Fonts are for characters that cant be called upon because they don't exist on the database, English exists and has the entire alphabet for you.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Magus29 and Doux91

Doux91

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2014
Messages
242
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
525
Country
Honduras
Spanish doesn't use any letters that dont exist in English font afaik so its a matter of replacing the names to Spanish only no?

Fonts are for characters that cant be called upon because they don't exist on the database, English exists and has the entire alphabet for you.
There are some things that exist in spanish like Ññ, ¿ ?, ¡ !, á, é, í, ó, ú, ü, I do not remember more things, spanish is more like portuguese and not like english, If I listen to you speaking maybe I could understand some words without know your language, I know what is a font, but I do not know how to create it
 
  • Like
Reactions: Magus29

drag4you

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 27, 2020
Messages
36
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
863
Country
Mexico
@xjsxjs197
Hello xjsxjs197, I am very happy i can now play valkyrie profile without sound issues (they are pretty minor) using the limit fps on Auto and frame skip on OFF settings so the game runs smoothly, some minor graphical stuff when starting a fight the "loading screen of the fight" and sometimes in battle, just started the game so I need to play more to see what happens.

I found a bug in the Settings -> General tab menu. You cannot go below the Select Language block to the Save Settings.cfg blocks but you can go to Save Settings.cfg blocks if you press Up in the General Tab.

Still, you can go to the Select Language block from the Save Settings.cfg but not viceversa.
 
Last edited by drag4you,

DDinghoya

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 2, 2016
Messages
117
Trophies
0
Age
43
XP
1,290
Country
Korea, South
But how do I make the fonts? the true I do not understand, I guess I must download the file and edit it with hex editor or something?

First need translation for form, see the attached file. and then add 2 line for your language abbreviation.
ex) English -> en , Maybe between 545 and 558 lines.

In my case, I registered the language pack on github, but there will be no problem to register your completed language pack here.

After that, ask xjsxjs197 to create a font. He will refer to your language packs and other language packs and start making them.

I made a Korean font, including kr.lang, retroarch msg_ hash_ko and characters in configurable USB loader kr.lang.
Confirm the display effect and correctness of Korean in the new version :)
 

Attachments

  • translation.zip
    1.5 KB · Views: 2
Last edited by DDinghoya,

pedro702

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2014
Messages
11,776
Trophies
1
Age
32
XP
6,961
Country
Portugal
There are some things that exist in spanish like Ññ, ¿ ?, ¡ !, á, é, í, ó, ú, ü, I do not remember more things, spanish is more like portuguese and not like english, If I listen to you speaking maybe I could understand some words without know your language, I know what is a font, but I do not know how to create it
i dont think any of the options on wiisxrx will need any special spanish character lol load iso save state and so on.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Magus29

Deinexim

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 9, 2019
Messages
21
Trophies
0
Age
21
XP
183
Country
Mexico
Finally tried it. The sound is very different in many areas, kinda high pitched.

I don't have all the games on hand right now, so I went and tested those inside my "problematic games" folder, which are the ones I use mostly for compatibility improvements and testing.

It wasn't mentioned but V-Sync is now activated, looks great!

Glad to report that Final Fantasy VII does not crash on battles with Dynarec Core on the Wii, which means full speed (mostly, with some hiccups/framedrops here and there, and some minor graphic glitches on the Battle Cursor, for example). The game was limited to Interpreter Core before to fully work, and couldn't reach full speed due to this, except on the Wii U.

2002 FIFA World Cup (glitched speeches), Alien Resurrection, Ape Escape, Resident Evil - Director's Cut - Dual Shock Ver., Gegege no Kitarou - Gyakushuu! Youkai Daichise, Resident Evil 3 Nemesis, Street Fighter Alpha 2, Fear Effect, Fear Effect 2 - Retro Helix, Powerslave, Street Fighter Collection Disc 1 (no music) & Disc 2, Street Fighter Collection 2, Misadventures of Tron Bonne, Myst, Nightmare Creatures II (controller vibration gets stuck), Star Wars - Episode I - Jedi Power Battles, Star Wars - Episode I - The Phantom Menace (glitchy graphics), Star Wars - Rebel Assault II - The Hidden Empire, Tenchu - Stealth Assassins, Tenchu 2 - Birth of the Stealth Assassins, Tomb Raider - The Last Revelation, Tomb Raider Chronicles, Ultima Underworld - The Stygian Abyss (1.1), Valkyrie Profile, Metal Gear Solid, Evil Dead - Hail to the King, WipEout 3, Fighting Force 2, Rayman 2 - The Great Escape, Fighting Force 2, X-Files, Um Jammer Lammy (sound glitches), Little Big Adventure (PAL) (minor graphic glitches), Gran Turismo 2 (Arcade Mode), Gran Turismo 2 (Simulation Mode) Gekido - Urban Fighters, all work now.


Akuji The Heartless (NTSC-U) works now without removing the FMVs.

Beavis & Butthead In Virtual Stupidity speeches can be heard now.

Biohazard 1.5's specific MartinBiohazard builds work.

Biohazard Sample 31-01-96 (J) inputs works now without much tinkering. Saw some minor graphic glitches.

Bishi Bashi Special (PAL) music doesn't skip anymore.

Blazing Dragons does not skip dialogues anymore.

Castlevania Chronicles does not hang after defeating the 1st boss, and music plays at normal speed.

Crash Bandicoot trilogy already worked fine, so I did not test those.

Dino Crisis & Dino Crisis 2 speeches are not glitched anymore.

You can defeat Spider Web boss now in Mega Man X4. Problematic FMVs are not skipped now.

You can enter any level now in Mega Man X5. Problematic FMVs are not skipped now.

You can enter any level now in Mega Man X6. Problematic FMVs are not skipped now.

Tales of Phantasia works now without turning the Voiceovers off.

Not working: Parasite Eve II, Star Wars - Dark Forces (works in WiiSXRX), Rayman, NBA Hang Time, Doom, Final Doom, Mega Man Legends 2, Suikogaiden Vol.1 - Swordsman of Harmonia, Suikogaiden Vol.2 - Duel at Crystal Valley

Still glitchy/broken: Oddworld - Abe's Exoddus, Oddworld - Abe's Odyssey, Silent Hill (NTSC-U), Tony Hawk's Pro Skater 1-2-3-4, Ghost in the Shell, X2 - No Relief, Rayman 2 - The Great Escape, College Slam, The Need for Speed, NBA Jam (NTSC-J)

These load further, but doesn't work: Broken Sword II - Las Fuerzas del Mal, Nekketsu Oyako, Nightmare Creatures, Tomb Raider (1.0), Tomb Raider II - Starring Lara Croft (1.1).

Some emulator bugs:
The emulator may lose sound after loading a bunch of games in one session,I think between 20-30.

Don't go into "Settings - Saves", it crashes the emulator. [EDIT: corrected in Ver20220701]

Awesome work, @xjsxjs197.
Sorry to bother you, but I tested it out, and I can't get Ape Escape to get past the "Dualshock Controller Required" screen. It just crashes immediately after. I tested it with both Dynarec and Interpreter, but both had the same problem. I used the NTSC version, but have not tried PAL. I am also using a North American Wii.

Also, I tried Crash Warped, and it still has the problem where some enemies in the water are invisible. Maybe I'm doing something wrong, but I thought this was a problem that's been around for a while now.
 

Doux91

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2014
Messages
242
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
525
Country
Honduras
First need translation for form, see the attached file. and then add 2 line for your language abbreviation.
ex) English -> en , Maybe between 545 and 558 lines.

In my case, I registered the language pack on github, but there will be no problem to register your completed language pack here.

After that, ask xjsxjs197 to create a font. He will refer to your language packs and other language packs and start making them.

Can I use more characters or am I limited with the same number of characters of english? some words are longer in spanish
Sin título.png
 
  • Like
Reactions: Magus29

SaulFabre

Wii scene/hacking & Wii VC well-known guy
Member
Joined
Feb 6, 2019
Messages
1,985
Trophies
1
Age
23
Location
Ecuador
Website
saulfabreg-wiivc.blogspot.com
XP
4,105
Country
Ecuador
Sorry to bother you, but I tested it out, and I can't get Ape Escape to get past the "Dualshock Controller Required" screen. It just crashes immediately after. I tested it with both Dynarec and Interpreter, but both had the same problem. I used the NTSC version, but have not tried PAL. I am also using a North American Wii.

Also, I tried Crash Warped, and it still has the problem where some enemies in the water are invisible. Maybe I'm doing something wrong, but I thought this was a problem that's been around for a while now.
@Deinexim

What build of WiiSXRX_2022 are you using?

Also, do you have the correct SCPH1001.BIN file and set up your emulator to make it boot first through the BIOS and then to the game?:

maybe you have an incorrect BIOS file (SCPH1001.BIN), your BIOS is set to load from HLE or anything.
For load Croc: Legend of the Gobbos on WiiSXRX_2022 i put the SCPH1001.BIN on wiisxrx/bios and in the menu i use these options:
View attachment 315575

Choose to load BIOS from your SD card or USB drive.
Make the emulator boot through the BIOS and then the game.

On WiiSXRX_2022 Ape Escape works fine, Crash Bandicoot 3: Warped it has still some missing objects on "Under Pressure" level but i think it's quite playable.
 

DDinghoya

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 2, 2016
Messages
117
Trophies
0
Age
43
XP
1,290
Country
Korea, South
Can I use more characters or am I limited with the same number of characters of english? some words are longer in spanish
View attachment 316876

There is no character length limit, but it goes outside the box.

It's the same in Korean. Long sentences exist. :)

Try to abbreviate as much as possible to fit the context.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Magus29 and Doux91

xjsxjs197

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 24, 2022
Messages
30
Trophies
0
Age
43
Location
China
XP
254
Country
China
Hello. first of all thanks for the .dol you made to solve this vandal hearts problem. I have tried the new .dol and in combat the enemies' turn already works but their turn takes a long time, due to this problem for example the first battle stage that I usually do in 10 minutes has taken me about 45 minutes to complete it due to this delay at the time of the enemy turn. can you speed up that time in reacting the enemy turn?. When an enemy attacks and our character is in the range of hitting back, he does so within the enemy's turn, his own turn as a counterattack is also delayed, but not as long as the enemy's turn. could this be fixed? I have also played the second battle and it happens exactly the same. To say that I have played both the pal version of the game and the use of it and the same thing happens in both. Thank you. a greeting
OK, I'll try to correct it again
 

xjsxjs197

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 24, 2022
Messages
30
Trophies
0
Age
43
Location
China
XP
254
Country
China
@xjsxjs197 do you plan to integrate changes made by @niuus in WiiSXRX 2.6? Especially I mean support for 3rd party controllers. Your version have definitely better compatibility (at least 3 games which work in your version don't work on WiiSXRX 2.6), but don't work properly with my generic Classic Controllers. Having it all in one emulator would be very nice.
@rexus_pl
OK, I'll try in next version
 

Deinexim

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 9, 2019
Messages
21
Trophies
0
Age
21
XP
183
Country
Mexico
@Deinexim

What build of WiiSXRX_2022 are you using?

Also, do you have the correct SCPH1001.BIN file and set up your emulator to make it boot first through the BIOS and then to the game?:



On WiiSXRX_2022 Ape Escape works fine, Crash Bandicoot 3: Warped it has still some missing objects on "Under Pressure" level but i think it's quite playable.

Okay, when checking what version I was using, I realized that I was using an outdated version of WiiSXRX (I think I had just redownloaded the one before the fork). I downloaded the newest one and Ape Escape works now. Thanks for responding to my question, though!

On the subject of Crash Bandicoot 3, I think there are missing objects and enemies on every water stage. It is playable, but it does suck to suddenly die because of an enemy that wasn't visible.
 

niuus

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 4, 2016
Messages
1,677
Trophies
1
XP
3,199
Country
Venezuela
Sorry to bother you, but I tested it out, and I can't get Ape Escape to get past the "Dualshock Controller Required" screen. It just crashes immediately after. I tested it with both Dynarec and Interpreter, but both had the same problem. I used the NTSC version, but have not tried PAL. I am also using a North American Wii.

Also, I tried Crash Warped, and it still has the problem where some enemies in the water are invisible. Maybe I'm doing something wrong, but I thought this was a problem that's been around for a while now.

Okay, when checking what version I was using, I realized that I was using an outdated version of WiiSXRX (I think I had just redownloaded the one before the fork). I downloaded the newest one and Ape Escape works now.
Who said these are the same project?

I am a big fan of 3dfx voodoo until now.

I've always wondered if Lewpy's Glide Plugin or glide wrapper wouldn't apply.

Is the Glide GPU technically impossible? :)
That makes zero sense. Glide API is not something that you can just plug and use with the ATi Hollywood graphics chip.

Can I use more characters or am I limited with the same number of characters of english? some words are longer in spanish
View attachment 316876
You can't expect the same sized boxes to perfectly fit new, longer words like the original language. You must translate and adjust where it makes sense.
 

DDinghoya

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 2, 2016
Messages
117
Trophies
0
Age
43
XP
1,290
Country
Korea, South
That makes zero sense. Glide API is not something that you can just plug and use with the ATi Hollywood graphics chip.

The answer to the Glide API was fully understood through the link below.

https://gbatemp.net/threads/not64-update.333569/page-96

It is unfortunate that it is unclear about the application of the glide wrapper. Of course the answer is set, but I'd like to hear your opinion. :)

Incidentally as I recall, there was a "glide2x Bi-Linear" plugin(?) up to Snes9x v1.39a for PC.

According to your answer, In Snes9xGX, would it be considered pointless to apply? Of course I'm expecting your answer to be pointless. :)
 
Last edited by DDinghoya,

niuus

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 4, 2016
Messages
1,677
Trophies
1
XP
3,199
Country
Venezuela
The answer to the Glide API was fully understood through the link below.

https://gbatemp.net/threads/not64-update.333569/page-96

It is unfortunate that it is unclear about the application of the glide wrapper. Of course the answer is set, but I'd like to hear your opinion. :)

Incidentally as I recall, there was a "glide2x Bi-Linear" plugin(?) up to Snes9x v1.39a for PC.

According to your answer, In Snes9xGX, would it be considered pointless to apply? Of course I'm expecting your answer to be pointless. :)
Did you read the whole page? Lol. You're kind of contradicting yourself. Again, Glide API is not really usable for the Hollywood chip.

What's a bilinear filter have to do with WiiSX just because it exists is anyone's guess. You want 3D acceleration ported to GX from other APIs that make sense, like OpenGL or Direct3D, which is already being ported since years ago by a known developer in his free time. Right now the plugin used is software only, which is one of the reasons 3D heavy games (like Tekken 3) don't get the extra help from the GPU and can't reach the extra mile for full speed on a Wii.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: Lol