Wii's GPU overheated...

Discussion in 'Wii - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by st40611, Feb 11, 2008.

Feb 11, 2008

Wii's GPU overheated... by st40611 at 2:28 AM (1,763 Views / 0 Likes) 5 replies

  1. st40611
    OP

    Newcomer st40611 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    Hi, I have a Wii that displays these weird dots during games and channels, and after looking around, I've known it is the GPU overheating problem. Thing is, I have a modded Wii, and I didn't solder it myself; what should I do to get a replacement from Nintendo? I've heard that replacing DVD drives between two Wiis work but I want this to be confirmed, and if it is possible, can someone post me a link to do it step-by-step?
     
  2. paOol

    Member paOol GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Messages:
    274
    Country:
    replacing dvd drives do work.
    it doesnt matter what region, or whether its d2a to d2b, d2a to d2c etc.

    you just open up your wii as you would if you were installing a mod chip (then dvd rom is already detached at this point) then you put in a diff dvd rom.
    put everything back together
    win.
     
  3. st40611
    OP

    Newcomer st40611 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    Should I do something with my non-NSTC save (ie. SSBB) to prevent Nintendo from suspecting me that I have a mod chip installed? Also, so do I send in my old Wii, or the other Wii? (I don't know where the heck the GPU is located at, so ... [​IMG] )
     
  4. superrob

    Member superrob H4X H4X H4X!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,465
    Location:
    GBATemp factory.
    Country:
    Denmark
    Well first.
    Take out the drive with the chip on.
    Then take another drive WHITOUT a chip on it.
    Put it on the Wii which had the one with the modchip.
    Assemble the Wii.
    Send to Nintendo.
    Win [​IMG]

    And maybe delete the SSBB save...
     
  5. quadomatic

    Member quadomatic GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    160
    Country:
    United States
    Ah, I remember when this happened to my Wii. Back then I couldn't find anyone that had the same problem, so I was kinda freaked out by it.
     
  6. danci

    Newcomer danci Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    Philippines
    i had dots before and found out that my third party ac adapter is causing it... sio i nought i new one and it worked fine
     

Share This Page