Wiinja Install Done - Not Sure If It Is Working?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by ancient_imhotep, Feb 20, 2007.

  1. ancient_imhotep
    OP

    Member ancient_imhotep GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Messages:
    118
    Location:
    Basingstoke
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Guys,

    I have just installed my Wiinja v2 chip today and everything seemed to go fine.

    The chip is installed correctly as per the diagrams on the Wiinja website and the solder joints are good as far as I can tell.

    However the Wii will play original games, but none of my backups.

    When I put a backup in the Wii, it does not spit it out or anything, but when you select the Disc Channel icon it just says that it cannot read the disc.

    Does this mean that the Wiinja is installed correctly and that I just have a problem with my media type/burning method, as I thought that the Wii ejected any discs that it did not like normally?

    I am currently trying a different backup burned at a different speed, but only have one brand of DVD-R discs that I can use.

    Any help would be appreciated.
     
  2. iza

    Member iza gbatemp, the new crack

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Messages:
    700
    Location:
    Texas
    Country:
    United States
    list what brand media, burn speed, the iso your using, and dvd drive to better explain the problem.
     
  3. ancient_imhotep
    OP

    Member ancient_imhotep GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Messages:
    118
    Location:
    Basingstoke
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The media is branded CD-R Media.co.uk (it is a brand name sold by a supplier in the UK). Media Info from ImgBurn is as follows: -

    I 22:45:14 Destination Media Type: DVD-R (Disc ID: CMC MAG. AE1) (Speeds: 4x, 8x)


    I have tried both Zelda and Splinter Cell iso's, both PAL.

    The DVD burner I am using is an LG GSA-H12N.

    At the moment I have tried burning the iso's at 8x.
     
  4. ancient_imhotep
    OP

    Member ancient_imhotep GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Messages:
    118
    Location:
    Basingstoke
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Also I have tried using Nero and ImgBurn to burn the discs.
     
  5. bobrules

    Member bobrules GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,942
    Location:
    Toronto
    Country:
    Canada
    ancient_imhotep do you mean DVd-R?
     
  6. esmith13

    Member esmith13 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Messages:
    124
    Location:
    South Jersey
    Country:
    United States
    He said DVD-R in his description - unless you got confused when he mentioned the company name that manufactures the DVD-R's has "CD-R" in their name...


    Eric
     
  7. ancient_imhotep
    OP

    Member ancient_imhotep GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Messages:
    118
    Location:
    Basingstoke
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sorry about the confusion.

    The company in the UK that is best to buy all blank media from is a website call cd-rmedia.co.uk.

    They sell all kinds of blank media, some of which is branded with their company name - this means that you can buy a DVD-R disc from them and it will be printed on the top with CD-R Media.co.uk as the brand name.

    The disc is a DVD-R, the info returned on the blank disc is "I 22:45:14 Destination Media Type: DVD-R (Disc ID: CMC MAG. AE1) (Speeds: 4x, 8x)".
     
  8. tama_mog

    Member tama_mog Kupo

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,288
    Country:
    United States
    CMCMAG = pretty much a bad generic dye from my experiences from before. Perhaps you're having a media problem.
     
  9. ancient_imhotep
    OP

    Member ancient_imhotep GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Messages:
    118
    Location:
    Basingstoke
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for all your help guys, but I have a confession to make.....

    I just found the problem, it would appear that when I put Wii back together again I knocked the no. 8 wire off the solder pad..

    Sorry to have been a pain in the a*^%.

    Resoldered the wire back on securely and tested the Wii before putting it back together.

    Lessons learnt:

    1) Never assemble something until it has been tested first...

    2) Repeat lesson 1.

    Everything is working fine and from the 3 games I have tried they all appear to work fine, even using my cheap media.

    Well, now it is all systems go I need to go get myself some discs that say Verbatim 16x on them.
     
  10. lookout

    Member lookout GBAtemp Board Room

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,619
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    congratulation...
     
  11. razuraw

    Newcomer razuraw Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    41
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    where and how much did you buy it for also are you getting any dre's. also how can you tell if its v1 or v2?
     
  12. ancient_imhotep
    OP

    Member ancient_imhotep GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Messages:
    118
    Location:
    Basingstoke
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    @razuraw: I got mine from www.cheapmod.net. They are currently listing two versions for sale on their website, a version 1 chip and the version 2 chip. There is a difference in price of about £2.00 more for the v2 chip.

    Not sure how to tell if you receive a v2 chip, only thing I do know is that Cheapmod.net are the cheapest place to buy from in the UK, have super fast delivery (I picked Special Delivery and got mine the very next day), they have great customer service and I am sure that if you purchased a chip and it did not work they swap it over for you without problems (although to be honest I don't think they would ship you a v1 instead of a v2).

    I do not know about DREs at the moment, as I only finished the install at about 11.30pm last night and only had time to test loading of 3 games - not to play them yet.

    The initial response looks good, with the disc being detected first time around and the games loading at the same speed as a normal disc.

    However I need to do some more testing using some Verbatim discs that I am getting towards the end of the week. I will post back my results once I have had a better chance to play with the games.
     
  13. ancient_imhotep
    OP

    Member ancient_imhotep GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Messages:
    118
    Location:
    Basingstoke
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks, hopefully I won't suffer the dreaded DRE issue that some people seem to be having...
     
  14. Dirtie

    Former Staff Dirtie :'D

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2003
    Messages:
    3,705
    Location:
    Zealer
    Country:
    New Zealand
    Just a warning about CMC Magnetics discs - they're some of the lowest quality media [​IMG]
     
  15. thegame07

    Member thegame07 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,860
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    if there working fine for you just now just use them untill you get problems [​IMG] no point in spending extra money untill you need to. enjoy your wii [​IMG]
     

Share This Page