Wiikey's DRE :o

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by DiNo29, Mar 14, 2007.

Mar 14, 2007

Wiikey's DRE :o by DiNo29 at 12:28 AM (2,729 Views / 0 Likes) 17 replies

  1. DiNo29
    OP

    Member DiNo29 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    Messages:
    288
    Country:
    France
    Hey

    I just installed my Wiikey and all went almost perfect, I have put back all the screws but ended with a small nut, which apparently goes with the wii battery things as I can't screw it anymore...

    Anyways, the only media I have tested for now is some old Memorex 1x-4x DVD+RW, burned at 4X, and I am experiencing a lot of DRE with it. I suposse the problem is the media. Must the media be a least burnable at 6X ? Is Memorex DVD+RW bad, or more generally any DVD+RW ?


    DiNo29
     
  2. CamaroShifter88

    Newcomer CamaroShifter88 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    United States
    I can't say I've done anything yet, but from what I've learned swimming around these posts, the most important thing (besides the type of media) is to burn at the absolute slowest speed possible. It's not NECESSARY, however it can make a better disc out of a bad disc anyways.. You can never argue w/ a deeper burn as is. Just spend the extra few minutes it'll take you to burn it on a game of Wii Tennis or something. If you need a modchip to play Wii sports then... that's kinda sad, I'm not going to lie xD

    As for media, I'm sorry I can't be a help because, I haven't looked in to specific medias that are good and bad yet :x
     
  3. instigator

    Newcomer instigator Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    83
    Country:
    Canada
    I'd stay away from RW's of any kind as they may not be as reliable as non-RW media. Go with high quality (Taiyo Yuden, Verbatim etc) -R's.

    I burn my TY03's at 8x with IMGBurn and have yet to see a single DRE in the 20 + backups I own.
     
  4. FuManChuu

    Member FuManChuu GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2006
    Messages:
    204
    Country:
    United States
    Come to think of it... you are actually the first person i've heard try to use RWs [​IMG] But yeah, stick with some Rs, even cheaper ones like ritek, and youll have more success
     
  5. Warm Woolly Shee

    Member Warm Woolly Shee GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    713
    Location:
    Butt City, FA rt
    Country:
    United States
    My problem with DRE's turned out to be a 40-pin IDE cable, which slowed down my hard drive, and made my iso's burn poorly.

    An 80 pin ide cable solved the problem, and I can now burn at 16x with no problems, whereas before I could only do 4x.

    If your hard drive / dvd burner are running in PIO, or even Ultra DMA Mode 2, you have a good chance of getting DRE's - even at 4x.

    Let us know if your HDD or DVD burner are running in PIO or Ultra DMA 2. If you don't know how to check, look here:
    http://www.onthegosoft.com/dma_setting_nt.htm
     
  6. Rocco Savadgie

    Member Rocco Savadgie GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Messages:
    149
    Country:
    Memorex were garbage for GameCube. They never even booted on my GC with Qoob chip. I would guess it's the same for the Wii.
     
  7. Tomobobo

    Member Tomobobo Champion.

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Messages:
    985
    Country:
    United States
    My memorex are rocking at 16x burn speed with wiifree.
     
  8. ginjaninja

    Newcomer ginjaninja Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Ireland
    Hi,

    it depends on the media. Basically you need to burn the media at the medias sweet spot. If a media i rated @ 16x then more than likely 16x is it's sweet spot. This all comes down to your burners firmware and the settings it has for different media.

    For instance I've got 4x -R's and I burn then fine and the ply fin no DRE's
    I've also got 16X +R's, If i burn them at 4x,6x,8x i get loads of DRE's. If I burn them @ 16X then the play perfectly.
    I've also got 16x -R's, no matter what speed i burn these bad bhoys at there perfect.

    find the sweet spot for your media, update for dvd's firmware helps alot.
     
  9. pipesfranco

    Member pipesfranco GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2006
    Messages:
    371
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I bought some maxell dvd+rw's from argos...they work fine do DRE's

    I use RW for testing purposes like misc gamecube games or testing ntsc to pal conversions...not had one dre

    Also handy to use RW's when testing a new dump

    If a release is worthy or the conversion works it goes onto a verbatim...without doubt.
     
  10. moloko23

    Member moloko23 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Messages:
    102
    Country:
    Switzerland
    Can you run DMA Mode on a USB drive?

    I go for Verbatim, haven't had the chance to test them in my Wii yet though since I'm bringing the Wii to the shop today to get modded...
     
  11. ciama81

    Member ciama81 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Messages:
    157
    Country:
    United States
    I use Verbatim DVD-Rs and burn at 4x. I have not had one DRE.
     
  12. st90

    Newcomer st90 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2006
    Messages:
    57
    Country:
    United States
    I've burned 37 games with tdk 16x at 16 with no dre's with wiinja v1 so it is the media
     
  13. varunb007

    Newcomer varunb007 Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States

    I've had no DRE's and I've used TDK DVD+R's and Verbatim DVD-R's. I even tried one Ritek DVD+R and it worked fine. I mostly burned at 4x but recently I've switched to 8x and haven't experienced any problems.
     
  14. Dazimus

    Member Dazimus GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Messages:
    140
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Strangely I've just turned on my Wii to try Tiger Woods 07, after inserting the DVD at the main Wii menu, it tried to read the DVD, then said the Wii has encountered an error, eject the disc and turn off the Wii. So I did that, turned the Wii back on and the game played fine then, not too sure what happened there. Using Verbatim 16x too.
     
  15. instigator

    Newcomer instigator Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    83
    Country:
    Canada
    USB drives are well known to be more troublesome than internal IDE connected drives because it is a slower way of sending/receiving data. If you have to use this I would suggest burning at the lowest possible speed allowed by your media/burner. I would also make sure all background apps are closed and that you are not doing anything other than burning.

    It would be preferable to connect the drive to the IDE channel on your motherboard. From what I remember each external USB drive can be disassembled and the drive removed from its housing. You can then connect it normally to the IDE connnector. Perhaps someone else can clarify this.
     
  16. noomeng

    Newcomer noomeng Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    [​IMG] my burner is running in Ultra DMA 2...and yes i am getting lots of DREs.... how do i modify this?
     
  17. DiNo29
    OP

    Member DiNo29 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    Messages:
    288
    Country:
    France
    My burner is running in ultraDMA mode 4 , so this must be the media.
    And my DVD burner lens is dead now, so maybe the previous burning buggued because it was dying ... [​IMG]
     
  18. Dirtie

    Former Staff Dirtie :'D

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2003
    Messages:
    3,705
    Location:
    Zealer
    Country:
    New Zealand
    Hold on a second, Ultra DMA Mode 2 is just fine, and is pretty much the standard for DVD drives. I think Windows actually often limits it to this because anything faster is not needed.

    Edit: Actually it seems some manufacturers limit it on the drive itself (not the OS), because UDMA2 is all that is needed for 16x writing, which is the fastest atm. If you get an 80-wire cable and your drive supports it, that's when you can get higher DMA speeds.

    The one thing you must make sure of though, is that it's not running in PIO mode - that's very bad. I've had previous burners that were working like a charm, then all of a sudden giving me lots of coasters, all because it had switched into PIO mode somehow.
     

Share This Page