Wiikey2 + V14 WiiClip2 presoldered

Discussion in 'Wii - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by ZeroH, Nov 19, 2008.

Nov 19, 2008
  1. ZeroH
    OP

    Newcomer ZeroH Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United States
    Hey Guys,

    Question.. I want to order the Wiikey2 + V14 WiiClip2 presoldered but I'm not sure which version to choose:
    Option 1: D2C / D2C2 / D2E
    or
    Option 2: DMS / D2A / D2B

    My Wii serial comes up as either D2C, D2E, or D2B. Is there a difference in configuration between the two options?

    I don't have a triwing screwdriver to open it.
     
  2. OzModChips

    Member OzModChips GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Messages:
    570
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    give me your serial number and i will tell you

    LU, and then the next 5 numbers
     
  3. Slowking

    Member Slowking GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,396
    Country:
    Germany
  4. ZeroH
    OP

    Newcomer ZeroH Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United States
    I'm buying it at modchipcentral and those are the options it gives me.

    My serial is LU60802xxxx. Maybe it's too new?

    I checked the database and it shows i have a chance of one of these: D2C, D2E, or D2B
     
  5. ZeroH
    OP

    Newcomer ZeroH Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United States
    Anyone?
     
  6. mcjones92

    Member mcjones92 Forest Fam

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    406
    Location:
    In the ghetto
    Country:
    United States
    Well if you checked and your drive is either D2C, D2E, or D2B, then I would go with that option. I'm not sure of the difference, but there apparently is.
     
  7. ZeroH
    OP

    Newcomer ZeroH Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United States
    thanks but that's why I posted.. as I said.. I don't have the triwing screwdriver to check. The chip comes with the screwdriver, which would be a bit too late for me to check.

    I've emailed modchipcentral as well as PM'ing the guy here.. no response yet.
     
  8. OmniSlash2o6

    Member OmniSlash2o6 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Messages:
    139
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Country:
    United States
    Well I have D2CV1 and I bought this combo from modchipcentral last week it left Canada today I should get it in about 2-3 days I'll tell u all the details!(Lets hope I dont get horrid eject issues like the D2Pro9..Since I read that D2C2 are the ones with the eject issues not the D2C.)
     
  9. lll

    Member lll GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    132
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That's definitely a D2E. I don't think US models are ending up with epoxy yet but if it does have epoxy then you won't be able to use a clip at all. Can you borrow a tri-wing from a friend to check? Or get a cheap one from somewhere like DX? Only problem with that is that you're probably looking at 2 weeks before it's delivered to you.
     
  10. ModchipCentral

    Member ModchipCentral GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    185
    Country:
    Canada
    Yep, sounds like a D2E. I would choose the D2C/D2C2/D2E option.
     
  11. ZeroH
    OP

    Newcomer ZeroH Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks. I chose that option. But what difference does it make in the chip? Does it affect which connectors to solder or some configuration on the chip?
     
  12. ZeroH
    OP

    Newcomer ZeroH Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United States

    From what I've read so far, it sounds like there was a patch to fix that issue. Am I wrong?
     
  13. Slowking

    Member Slowking GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,396
    Country:
    Germany
    There was supposed to be, but it didn't fix it. [​IMG]
     

Share This Page